We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful chilled days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Margaret Island (Margitsziget)

Margaret Island (Margitsziget)
Margitsziget, Budapest 1138, Hungary (Várkerület)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$25*
and up
Budapest Hop-On Hop-Off Tour by Bus and Boat
Ranked #30 of 230 Attractions in Budapest
Type: Islands, Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Quiet walkways, flower gardens, romantic ruins and century-old trees make up this popular recreation spot located in the heart of Budapest.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful chilled days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Margaret Island is a lovely chilled escape from the city but it's highlight was the fountain working in time with music. We could have watched it all day.
We hired a pedal car for an hour at 10€, our kids loved it but we were a bit nervous of the lack of steering.
We discovered the island water park Platinus, which a must if your there in summer with or without kids.
We will certainly be back

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    369
    118
    36
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
236 attraction reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Locals Fitness Island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This island is situated in the middle of the Danube, we enjoyed looking at it from the high spots, made for nice photos of Budapest, the Danube & middle island but for us the actual island did not have that much of a draw. It seems VERY popular for the locals as a place to run, jog, cycle, swim, etc. get away from the city and enjoy the beautiful serene gardens. As a tourist it depends on what you are looking to do when in Budapest and how much time you have to explore each of those places. There are so many more interesting places in Budapest however if you go be sure to inquire after the story of "Saint Margaret" it is very interesting.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth a walk around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Lovely little island that I accessed after a ferry ride down the Danube. A park setting that was a quiet break from the lovely city.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is a quiet island, where you can get lost, if you so wish. But it's also full of real life, which is what I always like - when an attractive place is not just an attractive place, but is also used for real-life activities. This is like that - it's full of runners on the running line; full of couples and groups sitting by the Danube, strictly observing some unwritten code of conduct, with each group leaving a decent space for all the other groups.

It's lovely, calm, relaxing. You can feel life going on about here. It's a very nice place, with a very calming atmosphere. It's worth visiting anytime - perhaps especially after spending a day in the general rush of the city.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A pleasant walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Although you can walk on to it from Margaret Bridge we travelled to Margaret Island by one of the "hop on hop off" river boats which are well worth taking.Where we got off the boat the island seemed a bit disappointing as all we could see were concrete walls and ugly fences and we were in danger of being trampled to death by all the fitness fanatics running round the shoreline.
But we persevered and once we got beyond that the island turned out to be a very pleasant place to walk. There are lovely gardens there as well as a couple of hotels and a variety of sporting activities including swimming and cycling. There is an interesting water tower and a small pet zoo where children can take pony rides. There are cheap bars at the bridge end.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaret Island (Margitsziget) also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Margaret Island (Margitsziget)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaret Island (Margitsziget), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.