We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venhajo-Etterem

Venhajo-Etterem
Vigado Teri Hajoallomas | 2-es Ponton, Budapest 1052 , Hungary
(+36) 1 / 411 0942
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 1,797 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Hungarian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Kitchener
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great view, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went with a fairly large group. The menu was pre arranged for out group so I can't comment on what the rest of the menu was like. Everyone in our group, native Hungarians and visitors, all enjoyed the mean. The view is great. We stayed at the Intercontinental, which is right beside where this boat restaurant is moored, so we were all accustomed to the view from our rooms, but it was still impressive from the restaurant. We had a boat arranged to pick us up for a nighttime river tour and were able to board directly from the Venhajo-Etterem and were dropped off again at the same location. Service was a little slow, but it was otherwise a great visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenHajo, Manager at Venhajo-Etterem, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We hope that you will have a chance to try us a'la carte as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    23
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wow....totally fantastic experience....a little unknown gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

So, been here twice now! Once with friends and then decided to bring my husband here too. It's always pretty quiet - no idea why....advertising is clearly not their strong point, that is all!
Food is delicious! Try one of their set menus where they match the wine. Superb value for money & really delicious!
The view is stunning - floodlight Castle hill & the chain bridge just outside your window!
I really cant't praise this place enough - note my 5 stars (i have only ever rated 4 before at other venues but this place deserves it)!
Thank you for another FABULOUS night!!!
We will return for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VenHajo, Manager at Venhajo-Etterem, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank your for your kind review!

You mentioned that it is pretty quiet - try us at summer, we have a great upper terrace which is usually full at summer nights!

Looking forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great views, average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We visited this floating restaurant after reading the reviews. On approaching the boat, the place looked very nice, in a nice location. The initial impression was favourable on boarding the boat. We were shown to a nice table overlooking the water with a nice view of the Chain Bridge and Royal Palace. Before we could even sit down and gather our senses the waiter was asking for our drinks order. We both ordered a pre dinner cocktail, mine being a Mojito. I must say, it was the worst I've ever had. Having said this, my starter and main course were delicious but my partner ordered the pork with paprika and potato. The meat was very tough and over cooked. Overall, we felt that the service was well below par and from our experience would not return and cannot recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenHajo, Manager at Venhajo-Etterem, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are sorry for the Mojitos - if you change your mind, and come back once again, we are going to offer you two free Mojitos!

In case of pork dish - we think that the problem was that you did not like that kind of hungarian main course - which could easily happen. As you said your starter and main cousre was delicious - so we are happy that we had some good points as well :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, brilliant view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

After spending a couple of very enjoyable hours at the Szchenyi Baths, we took the metro back to the city centre and started looking for a place to stop. We spotted this restaurant and stopped to look at the menu and decided to give it a try and we were so happy we did. We opted for the Gourmet menu which was 4 courses and included wine paired to the courses. The food was delicious and fresh and the service was impeccable. And all this for about 10000 FUT per person(equivalent to about 40 euro) which may sound a bit pricey to some but was really great value when you saw what we had (and the wine was not house plunk but good Hungarian selections matched well to the food). I would eat here again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenHajo, Manager at Venhajo-Etterem, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are very happy that you liked our menu with Hungarian wines.
We hope that you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal here, the waiter was lovely, definitely try the paprika chicken, mushrooms and dumplings - delicious

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenHajo, Manager at Venhajo-Etterem, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for the review!
We are very happy that you liked the traditional hungarian meal: paprika chicken.
Looking forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venhajo-Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Venhajo-Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venhajo-Etterem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.