We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic vegan food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napfenyes Etterem

Napfenyes Etterem
Rozsa utca 39., Budapest 1077, Hungary
06 20 313 5555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 1,867 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries, Vegetarian, Vegan
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegan food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The food in this eatery was superb! We wanted to stay for dessert as well but the restaurant was too warm and there was no air conditioning and no fans so we had to leave quickly after finishing our meal. However, don't let this put you off going there. Whether you are vegan or not (we're only vegetarians), you will thoroughly enjoy their food. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere was cosy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    59
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Vegans and Vegetarians Rejoice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Vegan and vegetarians visitors to Budapest rejoice! Nestled in the very interesting, historical ghetto section of Budapest is Napfényes Étterem, a vegan and vegetarian restaurant specializing in producing traditional Hungarian dishes without meat as well as without animal products. It is located in a basement space with a vaulted brick ceiling giving it the ambience of age (in the sense of culinary maturity) and savor. It also makes the space a good place for conversation. In the front of the restaurant, they offer a number of vegan ingredients and cookbooks for sale.

You can have very authentic versions of Hungarian favorites like gulyás (Eng. Goulash) or stuffed cabbage rolls done without meat. This was my third visit in a year and each time there are new wonders. I always start with the bean gulyás, however. My host in Budapest, a dedicated meat eater who cooks, prefers this gulyás to any he has had anywhere else. It is outstanding, rich and hearty with a wonderful smoky flavor. I liked it so well that I tried to duplicate a version of this at home in the U.S. On one visit, I decided to venture a pizza with soy cheese. As a dedicated “cheese-head,” living very near the state of Wisconsin in the U.S. as well as being a frequent visitor to friends in Tuscany, I was deeply skeptical. But this pizza was superb. The cheese was genuinely as tasty as a dairy version and, interestingly, did not leave me with a heavy stomach afterwards. On my third visit, I began with a mixture of vegetable juices (beet, carrot and apple) and the usual gulyás, with a main entree falafel platter. The falafel was deliciously crisp, served with a soy based tsatsiki that was, unfortunately, quite bland, as well as sesame tahini that made up for it.

The service has always been courteous and prompt with abundant translated menus and English speaking wait staff.

Lest I be misunderstood by the readers, the quality of preparation and the level of skill with vegan ingredients here is such that I would recommend this restaurant to everyone, not just vegans.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amaze-balls!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Only wish we had discovered this place earlier so we could have gone back. Ambiance is relaxed with large booths, light colors and Enya playing. Staff is polite and helpful. Food options are amazing. I've a severe dairy allergy and was ecstatic to have so many options. Ordered the veggie cocktail drink (fresh carrot, beetroot, apple and celery) Greek salad, three cheese pizza and dumpling dessert with a cappuccino. Pizza was amazing! Would go for salad bar option next time as it looked delicious on the way out. Was such a treat to be able to order dessert and a proper coffee and try new things. Best part, whole meal (drinks, starter, main, dessert, coffees) only set us back 16£. This place is a must visit for any trip to Budapest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
serbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vegan abundance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Have been there for a several times.Portions are large, it's tasty, kind service, nice place, central location.Recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bir, India
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fine traditional Hungarian cuisine, in salubrious style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was very impressed with both the food and the service at Napfényes Étterem. What i wasn't prepared for (despite my server's kind warnings) is the extremely generous portions! I ordered a cup of goulash as a starter, which was exquisite. Then, when my main course came, i wished i'd brought a clone of myself along. I had the Ratatouille Seitan Cutlets, which were exceptionally tasty but it was impossible to finish the mountain of food. So, a tip: consider starting with just one dish and then ordering more if you're still hungry. It's a shame to finish a meal here with no room left for dessert, since they have a number of fine desserts.

The fresh carrot juice was much appreciated on a hot day. :-)

The atmosphere was tranquil and pleasant, and the service was gentle and attentive.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napfenyes Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Napfenyes Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napfenyes Etterem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.