We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as an add-on to baths” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gellert Barsserie Restaurant

Gellert Barsserie Restaurant
Szent Gellert 1., Budapest 1111, Hungary
+36 1 889 5566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #757 of 1,778 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: European, Hungarian, Vegetarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
london
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good as an add-on to baths”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

For an extra six quid or so, get a baths ticket combined with a three course meal and drink here.
Food was more than acceptable (although a very limited choice of standard fare - understandable at that price) as was the beer/wine we had. Historic looking atmospheric interior that seemed not just frequented by tourists.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    24
    13
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, good service, very poor food and value.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I went for lunch, the restaurant and atmosphere were both very nice and the waiter service was also attentive and quite helpful. The good news stops there the food was poor I had a beef stew with a cheesy pasta. The beef stew was so tough most of it had to be left and the cheesy pasta was barely warm and not nice at all. This was the only poor dining experienced we had in Budapest, 'first-class contemporary Hungarian cuisine' this is not, give it a miss.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent & Relaxed Dinning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just had lunch here outside on the terrace. Good food and wine and the staff were excellent. We were even talked into having dessert which was magnificent and my only regret was that we did not have dinner here during our visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a nice and tasteful dinner. Nice waiters and good service. Pleasant atmosphere and music. The menu was rich.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Does not deliver, seem to live off Gellert name.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stopped for a drink. Waiter was very well dressed and was paying good attention. When you pay 600 forint for a small mineral water and 900 for a non-alcoholic beer, you expect to get a clean table cloth, a beer mat and perhaps a napkin or a tissue, but not at this place. The disappointments continued as I was picking up the bill. Not only was 10% service charge added without my consent, but they cut me short of 60 forint when giving my change back. It's really not that I mind tipping but it should be up to me.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gellert Barsserie Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gellert Barsserie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gellert Barsserie Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.