We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Massolit Books and Cafe in Budapest

Massolit Books and Cafe in Budapest
Nagy Diofa str. 30., Budapest 1072, Hungary
1 788 5292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 1,794 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: American, Hungarian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Let us introduce you the Massolit Books and Cafe Budapest. We’re specialized in popular and academic books, mostly at significantly reduced prices. Our aim is to stock books in subjects that are difficult to find in Eastern Europe, including progressive politics, gender studies, Jewish studies, and others. We also have a café that serves fresh baked quiches, cookies, carrot cake, brownies and different pastries, as well as direct trade coffee from Doubleshot, organic tea, local fruit juices. We’ve a peaceful garden area with fig trees around, which you can enjoy from spring until it doesn’t get too cold.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Recommended before vising the city, went on our last day, had a great cup of coffee, browsed the abundant shelves, lovely atmosphere, wonderfully friendly service, an incredible garden, a real bastion of calm and class in the thriving jewish quarter. If I lived in the city I would be a regular! Forego the generic high st. chains and go here for a cultured coffee ;-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lovely place to hangout with a book and a coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had looked at the description of this cafe/bookstore on TripAdvisor prior to my trip but had not recorded the address on my phone. I was delighted to stumble upon it while wandering through the Jewish Quarter on my first day exploring Budapest. I chose 6 titles from an eclectic selection of used books, all well-priced, and the proprietor served me an excellent latte. There's a beautiful little hidden courtyard in the back which looked like an ideal place to spend a sunny afternoon. Seems to have regulars who enjoy the cozy charm of this place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Massolit Bookstore and Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

One of the best direct trade coffee in Budapest, with "Secret Garden". Nice carrot Cake, and spinach Quiche. Well selected books in english in really low price. Ficton non fiction academic titles.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong & Seattle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great bookstore and cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wonderful English-language bookstore in charming vintage venue. (Gorgeous tile floors, plaster ceiling, outdoor garden area.) I bought some great books at good prices . . . and they will mail them to you.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastchester, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Books in English and coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It is a very cozy coffee shop/ books shop on Nagy Diofa utca in Budapest, very close to the temple in the Pest side of the city.
The coffee was great, the staff is polite and knowledgable : great recommendations for books. The atmoshphere is charming and quiet - we spend an hour there reading books and drinking coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massolit Books and Cafe in Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Massolit Books and Cafe in Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massolit Books and Cafe in Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.