We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel I've been so far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bazar Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bazar Hostel to your Saves list
Bazar Hostel
Dohany u. 22-24, Budapest 1074 , Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 558 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“Best Hostel I've been so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great place! Very good location, near the center of the city, near metro, near good restaurants, bars and clubs. Great common area, fantastic kitchen, warm and cozy rooms, clean bathrooms with good hot shower, great prices and awesome staff. They were all really friendly and attencious, but the Rasta Man who slept over the reception desk was the best! I've been travelling Europe for almost 30 days until now and this is easily the best hostel i have stayed in. Couldn't recommend it higher!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    31
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
6
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

its an excellent hostel! we loved this place.. it was in a Great location, close to bars, restaurants and clubs, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.. the room was great> a good bed, the heating works very well, good blankets and a wonderful shower!! it was the best hostel that i stayed in my trip in Europe!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We loved this place. It was clean, comfortable and homely. The staff were unbelievably helpful. It was one of the best experiences we had from our 12 country backpacking trip. It was not the place we had initially planned on staying, but I am very happy we heard about it. I highly recommend it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff are great, very laid back - kind of like old friends :) The hostel itself has an awesome vibe: large central common room with heaps of space to relax and meet people, well equipped kitchen, and clean rooms/bathroom. The dorms are spacious with big lockers (which is always a plus in my books!). It may not be the newest looking or most 'beautiful' place on the surface, but it is well worth the money and easily one of the best hostels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed there for 5 nights, with my husband. It was confortable, but do not expect too much. The furniture is really old and simple. Peter is the best, all the atendents are pleasant. In the night we arrived, the hostel was full and the shower was cold. But during in the rest of the week, it was ok. The neighbourhood is fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The friendliest hostel ever! I stayed there for a few days about a year ago with a group of ~10 people, some of which came from another hostel because ours was a lot better! All three employees I've met were superb! Look no further if you are looking for something casual.

Room Tip: If I remember correctly you had a discount in a cafe-restaurant close-by if you stayed at them; you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arezzo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

my opinion? best hostel in the city for backpackers from the world.
5 star hostel.
Absolutely informal but cozy, raw cheap, extremely clean, staff always so helpful and kind and nice, and smiling! it´s not easy to be always smiling when you do such a tough job!
Crowd is mostly very young, nice and funny, but people into thirties and forties are common too and feel comfortable if they can stand young crowd "normal" sound & noise :-).
Wifi available for free, 2 pcs are available for guest.
Kitchen perfectly furnished with all and clean. You can rent towels if you need. Laundry service available. Beds are large and comfortable, the largest i met in any hostel
Remind entrance is from Bike Rental Shop near Art Cafe.

About the area, you can´t find a better area in the city for fun, food, music and whatever.
So hostel location is superlative.
There are 2 money exchange nearby, cheaper then other area and airport, lots of supermarket, some open 24h7days.
Bazar hostel is very easy to reach, just close to Astoria so any bus, metro stop nearby and if you like to walk a little bit even no far away from Kelety railway station.
Lots of students and local guys, very nice people all year around.
Not recommended if you are boring, want to relax only, you are "unsocial" or "asocial" and you are not willing to become a nice person.
Because of Art Cafe just downstairs sometimes can be difficult to sleep till late night so i just suggest you to use earplugs or to join the party and sleep in late morning or afternoon, or even better go to relax to Rudas bath (monday, wed, thu, fri only for males, tuesday only females) in warm waters, it´s very easy to reach just 12 minutes away walk after Elisabeth bridge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
HBC Hostel
HBC Hostel
#57 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Astoria City Hostel
Astoria City Hostel
#41 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Friends Hostel Budapest
#36 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Home Made Hostel
Home Made Hostel
#64 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#100 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bazar Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazar Hostel

Address: Dohany u. 22-24, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 558 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Bazar Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bazar Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.