We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, amazing staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bazar Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bazar Hostel to your Saves list
Bazar Hostel
Dohany u. 22-24, Budapest 1074 , Hungary (Erzsébetváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 509 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place, amazing staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We loved this place. It was clean, comfortable and homely. The staff were unbelievably helpful. It was one of the best experiences we had from our 12 country backpacking trip. It was not the place we had initially planned on staying, but I am very happy we heard about it. I highly recommend it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    21
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
6
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff are great, very laid back - kind of like old friends :) The hostel itself has an awesome vibe: large central common room with heaps of space to relax and meet people, well equipped kitchen, and clean rooms/bathroom. The dorms are spacious with big lockers (which is always a plus in my books!). It may not be the newest looking or most 'beautiful' place on the surface, but it is well worth the money and easily one of the best hostels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed there for 5 nights, with my husband. It was confortable, but do not expect too much. The furniture is really old and simple. Peter is the best, all the atendents are pleasant. In the night we arrived, the hostel was full and the shower was cold. But during in the rest of the week, it was ok. The neighbourhood is fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The friendliest hostel ever! I stayed there for a few days about a year ago with a group of ~10 people, some of which came from another hostel because ours was a lot better! All three employees I've met were superb! Look no further if you are looking for something casual.

Room Tip: If I remember correctly you had a discount in a cafe-restaurant close-by if you stayed at them; you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arezzo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

my opinion? best hostel in the city for backpackers from the world.
5 star hostel.
Absolutely informal but cozy, raw cheap, extremely clean, staff always so helpful and kind and nice, and smiling! it´s not easy to be always smiling when you do such a tough job!
Crowd is mostly very young, nice and funny, but people into thirties and forties are common too and feel comfortable if they can stand young crowd "normal" sound & noise :-).
Wifi available for free, 2 pcs are available for guest.
Kitchen perfectly furnished with all and clean. You can rent towels if you need. Laundry service available. Beds are large and comfortable, the largest i met in any hostel
Remind entrance is from Bike Rental Shop near Art Cafe.

About the area, you can´t find a better area in the city for fun, food, music and whatever.
So hostel location is superlative.
There are 2 money exchange nearby, cheaper then other area and airport, lots of supermarket, some open 24h7days.
Bazar hostel is very easy to reach, just close to Astoria so any bus, metro stop nearby and if you like to walk a little bit even no far away from Kelety railway station.
Lots of students and local guys, very nice people all year around.
Not recommended if you are boring, want to relax only, you are "unsocial" or "asocial" and you are not willing to become a nice person.
Because of Art Cafe just downstairs sometimes can be difficult to sleep till late night so i just suggest you to use earplugs or to join the party and sleep in late morning or afternoon, or even better go to relax to Rudas bath (monday, wed, thu, fri only for males, tuesday only females) in warm waters, it´s very easy to reach just 12 minutes away walk after Elisabeth bridge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My stay at the hostel was very confortable. Staff is very kind and help you in any matter you need, they can give you information about where to go for tourism, shooping, party... and they can solve possible problems you have. They are very nice and friendly!!

It's a clean space, with a full equipment at the kitchen. You can also put your own music on the device or wash your clothes there.

It's in the center of the city, so you'll find anything you want very near.

I've enjoyed a lot there, I'd came back if I needed acomodation. You should go if you are looking for a place with good vibes =) !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leça da Palmeira, Porto, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very nice, clean and welcoming hostel. 2 minutes away from bars and pubs, very central. All the people, staff and travelers, were really nice. You can relax at the end of the day drinking something and talking to other people. Spent some really nice days there! You should try it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bazar Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazar Hostel

Address: Dohany u. 22-24, Budapest 1074 , Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 509 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bazar Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bazar Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.