We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice indeed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Plaza Restaurant

La Plaza Restaurant
26 Oktober 6 Utca, Budapest 1051, Hungary
00 36 1 354 3050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 1,586 restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $79 - $105
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

the food was lovely, the wine was lovely, the staff were lovely, everything really was lovely, really nice relaxing atmosphere, very good choice on the menu and prices good too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    26
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
589 helpful votes 589 helpful votes
“elBulli is Alive in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Visited the restaurant with colleagues and there wives while in Budapest recently and all I could think as I ate was ....... my gosh elBulli has risen from the ashes like a phoenix and is soaring in Budapest.

I decided on the 8 course tasting menu and all I can say is that the ensuing dining experience can only be described as epic.

My first course: Forest “La Plaza” with green asparagus, parmesan foam, air of thyme and rosemary, boletus mushrooms strewn with pine nuts an absolute delight.

My second course: A salad consisting of fresh seasonal micro cut vegetables with scallops, dried plums, and finished with a strawberry vinegar caviar an incredible combination of contrasting flavors that worked surprising well together another touch than evoked the spirit of eBulli for myself

Being that this was a tasting menu, I felt both could easily have been half their size, but because they were vegetables offerings were both easily consumed with vigor.

My third course: Cream of chestnut soup lightly highlighted with a Perigord sauce, White truffle oil and crowned with a cinnamon foam. This dish perhaps being the only variant of the meal that echoed more of France than the classic Spanish flavors I had enjoyed up till now but still very happily accepted.

My fourth course: Grilled rabbit with rice, sugar snap peas, Iberian ham and finest chanterelles

My fifth course: Sea Bass “Carta Fata” beautifully presented on a base of confite potatoes and tomato with olive tapenade

My sixth course & true highlight: Grilled Loin of venison seasoned with grey sea salt with carbonized vegetables extremely unique and again a true homage to the master Ferran Adrià and his vision

My seventh course: Homemade plum ice cream with fruit brandy and a slight hint of Tokaj sauce

My eighth course: “Café blanc” black Turkish coffee iota with white coffee foam, almond dacquoise and a Scottish whisky ice cream followed by Petit Fours

One of the true highlights of the evening being I am not a huge wine fan and more of a cocktail guy. Was the incredible tableside Gin & Tonic prepared right before your eyes. Ohhh! the scent of the toasted Rosemary and crushed mint melding with fresh citrus I can still smell it. Half show man ship half molecular gastronomy 100% DELICIOUS

Overall the most impressive aspect of the whole restaurant and dining experience would be that the staff all go out of their way to create a quiet and relaxing atmosphere for you to dine in. Unpretentious and unstuffy with a true artistic dining experience as their goal.

All I can say La Plaza is one of the nicest dining experiences you will have in Budapest. Tyr it you will not be disappointed I promise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
1 review
“Ditto: BEST Gin & Tonic ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I have never had a tableside Gin & Tonic, until Peter created a masterpiece in front of my eyes!
He toasted rosemary and captured the aroma in an upside down glass. Hendricks, and slices of line and cucumber completed the ensemble. Extraordinary! Cheers!
Ask for the "Gergo" Gin & Tonic!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
N. Ireland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Best food we have had in any country we have been to! Flavours are out of this world! Quiet and relaxing atmosphere and the staff are very attentive and helpful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Excellent food and service. Tasting menus are a true food experience. We had the best Gin and Tonic I have ever tasted.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plaza Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to La Plaza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plaza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.