We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best chocolate ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szamos Gourmet Palace

Szamos Gourmet Palace
Vaci utca. 1, Budapest, Hungary
+36 30 570 5973
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 1,780 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Dessert, Hungarian, Café, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“the best chocolate ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

In a central position in Pest, this aold style cafe will pamper you with heavenly cakes and chocolate. What is unusual is that there's an internal window on the laboratory, so you can see how they make chocolate and cakes live. very unusual. There's also a marzipan statues of 78lb!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    64
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent alternative to Gerbaud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you fancy good quality for a decent price and in a great location, then this is your place. Szamos originally operates cafe houses but here you can have proper lunch for reasonable prices (6 euro for lunch menu of 2 courses). If you want to avoid the tourist traps, these cafes are all over the city, even in the outskirts. The building itself is superb, it used to house the first stock exchange in Budapest. If you pass by the counter to the left, you enter a smaller room from where you can watch through the huge window glass the team builders/bd party people preparing marzipan roses. The little girl next to our table was glued to the window, she is right it is fun to watch others. My friend comes here for the goulash soup, it is decent though the colour could show more paprika. I chose somloi galuska, Szamos is the only place where you can never fail this traditional cake. Also, try the cake with the plum in the middle!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing pumpkin soup for 750ft.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a very popular cafe that has beautiful cakes and chocolates. The soup was as good as any I have had in fine dining restaurants. The only complaint would be that the hot chocolate was only luke warm. Lovely cafe where you can watch chocolate being tempered while you eat. Would go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chocolate Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

On a bitterly cold Monday morning Mrs D and I were looking for somewhere to enjoy a coffee and cake. We seemed destined to use the McCafe, but persevered and thankfully found Szamos Gourmet Haz a few steps further along Vaci Utca.

Stepping into the salon was like stepping back in history to a period at once far more refined and elegant. The colourful tiled panels on the wall shone with a pristine shine and it was only after a quick double-take that we realised that they depicted ladies wearing china plates and teapots as clothes, reminiscent of Vivienne Westwood's use of carpets for clothes in the Brinton's Carpet advertisements.

We had only stopped for coffee, but were (all too) easily seduced by the cakes and pastries on offer. The choice was difficult, but in the end we both had a simple cream slice, and whilst Mrs D had coffee, I had hot chocolate.

The cream slices were heavenly - crisp pastry top and bottom with a beautifully light creme patissiere filling. Mary Berry, eat your heart out!

Our drinks came with a small tumbler of water, and my hot chocolate was accompanied with a tiny dish of whipped cream and a jug of hot creamy milk.

To anyone who has not tried real hot chocolate, this place is a must. The chocolate for my drink was prepared using a 70% cocoa butter chocolate, not the ersatz stuff that masquerades as hot chocolate elsewhere, and was almost thick enough for my spoon to stand upright unsupported. Combined with the hot milk and whipped cream, the drink was a chocoholic's heaven, chocolatey and sweet without a hint of bitterness, enough to keep at bay the coldest day.

The staff at Szamos' were unfailing polite and informative about the chocolate they use, clearly appreciating the interest we took in their ingredients and preparation. Had we not already packed our cases for departure later that day, I would have certainly brought home some of their chocolates.

My test for any establishment is would I ever go back there, even to the point of making a special trip? In this case it is the most affirmative yes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Lovely setting for a light meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had soup and salad here after shopping in the Vaci area. It felt like being in a 19 th century cafe. The Goulash soup was nice on a cold and rainy day. My husband and I split a salad which was so big that I am glad that we did share it. We also bought some blackberry jam and some creamy looking spread. The blackberry jam is tart since Hungarians like their desserts this way. The cream is nice but am not so sure what breads to spread it on. Cake perhaps. This is a good place for local color. There was a bridal party that came in for picture taking.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szamos Gourmet Palace also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szamos Gourmet Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szamos Gourmet Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.