We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gepard es Urhajo

Gepard es Urhajo
Belgrad Rakpart 18, Budapest 1056, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
+36 70 329 7815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 1,989 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
146 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This restaurant was just 5 minutes from our Hotel Bohemart and we could not believe our luck having arrived late to find such a gem on our doorstep!

For me this was the best meal of the week rose duck with pear and pasta was superb and a recommended local dark beer to quench our thirst before enjoying a very quaffable red wine ..unobtrusive yet attentive service beside the Danube whilst taking in the mmonlit vista of the liberty statue on the other side of the river what more could you ask for as an introduction to Budapest? Oh and the price was not bad either!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    63
    25
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
luton
Level Contributor
192 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“great food,lovely setting ,slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

we went here as a family of 4 on personal recommendation
the food was wonderful and well priced and cooked
the wine list seemed a tad expensive for Budapest but I am assured it is owned by a serious wine company
the service although friendly enough was way too slow
, even getting the bill took too long
having said that I would recommend it for the views ,the food and the ambiance

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hungarian contemporary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

They are doing a very good job in modernizing Hungarian cuisine. We had a pasticcio of sausage from the famous mangalitza pork, followed by a chicken paprikas, which was freshly prepared, meaning not stewed, but being a freshly roasted supreme glazed with the paprikas juice. Excellent! Disappointing was the wine list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dining on the Danube doesn't have to be touristy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We needed a place to eat not far from our hotel as it was snowing in Budapest, so the hotel sent us to this charming, little contemprary bistro on the Danube. I am usually skeptical of hotel recommendations, as I always suspect it's usually someone at the hotel doing a favor for someone at the restaurant, but I was pleasantly suprised by this place -- and not just because it was close to the hotel. First, let me say we did not have a bad meal in Budapest. I absolutely love Hungarian cuisine, but unlike some traditional/old world etterem, this place served it up in a modern way. There were 6 of us who ordered six different dishes, and everyone was pleased. While not as good a value as some other places (and you get a lot of food for your money in Budapest) our meals (appetizers, entrees, beers) were still under $30 per person. Not bad for a place with great food an a killer view of the Danube.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food - a hidden treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Looking for somewhere that wasn't too expensive to eat we found this place overlooking the river. It had a cool and modern feel and the menu sounded great.
We were given a table upstairs, but were still able to view the river whilst we ate.
The food was delicious - chicken paprikas and duck are recommended! Excellent beer and good service too!

4 x beers, 2 x mains and a desert came in at under 12000 huf..

Definitely a place to visit if you want a good meal out!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gepard es Urhajo also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Gepard es Urhajo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gepard es Urhajo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.