We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wine, trendy atmosphere, beware of prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Innio Wine Bar

Innio Wine Bar
Oktober 6. street 9, Budapest, Hungary (Formerly Innio)
+36 70 311 1010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #406 of 1,865 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Bar, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Innio is one of the hippest places to sip wine in Budapest. A wide Hungarian selection complemented by a number of international labels make this city center wine bar the best choice for a night out. The wine list is extensive, with up to 300 varieties, accompanied by a bar food list.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Excellent wine, trendy atmosphere, beware of prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is an upscale wine bar in the centre of Budapest. It is new, trendy, and the guests are mostly foreigners and upper class Hungarians in their 30s and 40s. There is a DJ (at least on weekends) playing great music and yes, it gets loud. If you do not like it, there are many quiet places for you in Budapest. We loved the music.

Service is fast and professional. Place gets quite full on evenings. Smoking is prohibited but there is an area with tables outside on the street where guests go for a smoke and chat. Management is very professional. When we email them they responded promptly.

This place would definitely get 5. However, the wine prices are too high. And on the top of that, there are hidden costs that the guests do not know about. They charge 12.5% service charge. We did not eat. We were drinking wine, vodka, and juice and they charged additional 12.5% as service charge. Maybe there is a small print about this in the menu but it is surely not visible. What a shame.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    34
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weehawken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“On the fence - food was good, but overall overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I'm on the fence with this restaurant but suffice it to say I would not go back. The wine is overpriced - it appears to be inexpensive on the menu but you are really only getting a half pour (It's partially my fault as I do need to brush up on my understanding of the metric system). The food is ok. Some of our dishes, like the mushroom gnocchi and spaghetti carbonara, were pretty good. The cheese platter was disappointing. Both my husband's and my stomach hurt after eating here and I was randomly ill in the middle of the night. I'm not 100% this restaurant's food is to blame as my husband was never sick and the only things I ate that he didn't were the mushrooms and the blue cheese. Our server was nice. The ambiance has a clubby feel. I hope I'm not being to biased with my review, but even if I hadn't gotten sick, I would not return given that it felt overpriced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice wine but poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We arrived there late from the street wo/ booking. They did not have table for 4, suggested us to sit down at the bar, so if a table frees up we can take it. In the meanwhile other people came in from the street, and they made them sit down which we found very disappointing, and shortly left.
I found the music too loud to talk over a glass of wine.
On the other hand the wines that the staff recommended was very nice.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not what we had expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The personnel was not polite enough and did not speak english. The menu was in hungarian only so you should have imagination in order to order your drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a cozy warm wine bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

To be fair, I was only here for wine...not food. Warm cozy place with helpful and attentive staff. The place has nooks and crannies that are perfect for groups or intimate get together. And they actually do have a bar with seats which is unique here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Innio Wine Bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Innio Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innio Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.