We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location, Staff, and Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jimi Hendrix Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jimi Hendrix Guesthouse to your Saves list
Jimi Hendrix Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Mikszath ter 4., Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 172 Budapest B&B and Inns
Colorado, USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location, Staff, and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Jimi Hendrix (156 Euros, including breakfast) and enjoyed everything about it, including the quirky ultra-security of 3 locks for entry! It is important to realize that the staff does not live on site, but they worked hard to help us enjoy our stay in Budapest. "Ava" helped us to get settled and oriented to the city, and she provided a fine breakfast. "Ishtvan" (sp?) actually did our laundry for us and told my wife that her smile was sufficient payment! The owner, "Jurie" (sp?) was very helpful in directing us to good local restaurants. The guesthouse is located on a small, pleasant square with restaurants close by, and it is in a university area with cafes and nearby trams and subways that make it easy to reach anywhere in Budapest. Our room was clean and huge, with a comfortable bed, and we were very pleased by the quiet nights. The staff can sell tickets to the local baths (we visited the Szechenyi) and various shows, such as the folkdance show we attended at the Buda Vigado. We felt very lucky that we booked our stay at the Jimi Hendrix. My only caveat is that it would help to provide guests with a really good map online to make it easier to find the guesthouse when they first arrive. We traveled to Budapest by train and we wanted to avoid taxis at the train station, due to bad reports about them, but we found it confusing at first to use either the trams or the subway to go to the guesthouse. Once found, orientation was easy. We would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    41
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
12
37
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Right next to the center of the city, the apartment we stayed at was on one of the pedestrianised side streets, 2 mins walk from a metro station and one of the hop on hop off bus stops. The apartment needs updating but for what you get for your money we were very happy. The man who was at reception (in a different building 2 streets away) was the most helpful person we had come across on our travels and helped us with the city map, transport, bus tickets, he even walked us to the nearest shop to buy washing powder for the shared machine in the hall. The rooms were fairly clean (I hoovered as soon as I arrived and washed the towels again as they smelled like they had been dried where someone had been cooking, but I am very fussy) The bed was really comfortable and I had the best sleep of the whole trip while I was here. I would probably stay again.

Room Tip: Room No. 1 has a meter (for gas I think) so whenever someone used hot water the wheel would spin rou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

It is hard to reach the location because there are many one way streets. We parked far from it and walked. It is clean, big rooms, there is a lady in charge that speaks good english and it is very kind. So, good price, good breakfast, clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with my boyfriend whilst interrailing around Europe. When we arrived the man who greeted us was very helpful and gave us a map of the city and marked off all the main areas to visit and told us all about the bus and underground routes. The apartment itself was a bit dated and dark but it was huge and comfy and more than enough for a short stay on budapest. We had a view looking onto the courtyard that the apartments were situated in which was great. The breakfast was included in the price and was definitely good enough for what you pay. Its about a 10 to 15 min walk to the main tourist area by the river and you would have to get on the underground to heroes square as its to long a walk but the underground was extremely easy to understand and about 1 pound for a ticket so not an issue at all. Overall I'd recommend jimi Hendrix for a cheap getaway in budapest.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The owners were very welcoming. We had a room with a view of the square which just happened to be the weekend of a beer festival. Great views and atmosphere only drawback was from 1am Monday morning they started tearing down the beer stalls and road works. All I can say is there must be no noise in Budapest as the jackhammer was going all night. We had an attic style room with double bed plus sofa lounge downstairs, plenty of room, fast internet, nice but basic breakfast and close to everything. For the price a bargain, will definitely stay here again but bring ear plugs

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We've stayed in the apartment downstairs for 5 nights. It was very cheap and comfortable. Own apartment, no stairs, big and spacious rooms for even 6 people. Own small patio. Fully independent. Good location, in the centre of Pest. 2 minutes on foot to tram (Harminckettesek tere) or bus station, 2 minutes to blue metro line (Kalvin ter) and 5-7 minutes to red metro line (Astoria). The Mikszath ter and neighborhood contains of pubs and restaurants. There is supermarket (Szupermarket) nearby (2 minutes on foot). The guesthouse hasn't got any parking, but in 200m (next to the National Museum) you can find a big parking called Pollack Garazas (www.pollackgarazs.hu). We will defenitely go back and visit Jimi Hendrix again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novi sad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Last november my boyfriend and i visited Budapest and we stayed in Jimi Hendrix guesthouse. It was easy to find it, room was spacious and clean, nice bathroom, good beds. Breakfast was basic but enough. Manager Peter was verz helpful and kind. I would recommend this place to couples or a group of friends, it really can make your holiday perfect.
Ana&Nikola

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Jimi Hendrix Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jimi Hendrix Guesthouse

Address: Mikszath ter 4., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jimi Hendrix Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jimi Hendrix is a friendly little guesthouse in the heart of Budapest. We are located in a pedestrian area, walking distance to most of Budapest's great attractions. All our rooms are equipped with a private bathroom. If you book directly with us, breakast is included as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Jimi Hendrix Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimi Hendrix Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.