We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jimi Hendrix Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jimi Hendrix Guesthouse to your Saves list
Jimi Hendrix Guesthouse
Mikszath ter 4., Budapest 1088, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 160 Budapest B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Right next to the center of the city, the apartment we stayed at was on one of the pedestrianised side streets, 2 mins walk from a metro station and one of the hop on hop off bus stops. The apartment needs updating but for what you get for your money we were very happy. The man who was at reception (in a different building 2 streets away) was the most helpful person we had come across on our travels and helped us with the city map, transport, bus tickets, he even walked us to the nearest shop to buy washing powder for the shared machine in the hall. The rooms were fairly clean (I hoovered as soon as I arrived and washed the towels again as they smelled like they had been dried where someone had been cooking, but I am very fussy) The bed was really comfortable and I had the best sleep of the whole trip while I was here. I would probably stay again.

Room Tip: Room No. 1 has a meter (for gas I think) so whenever someone used hot water the wheel would spin rou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    35
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It is hard to reach the location because there are many one way streets. We parked far from it and walked. It is clean, big rooms, there is a lady in charge that speaks good english and it is very kind. So, good price, good breakfast, clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my boyfriend whilst interrailing around Europe. When we arrived the man who greeted us was very helpful and gave us a map of the city and marked off all the main areas to visit and told us all about the bus and underground routes. The apartment itself was a bit dated and dark but it was huge and comfy and more than enough for a short stay on budapest. We had a view looking onto the courtyard that the apartments were situated in which was great. The breakfast was included in the price and was definitely good enough for what you pay. Its about a 10 to 15 min walk to the main tourist area by the river and you would have to get on the underground to heroes square as its to long a walk but the underground was extremely easy to understand and about 1 pound for a ticket so not an issue at all. Overall I'd recommend jimi Hendrix for a cheap getaway in budapest.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The owners were very welcoming. We had a room with a view of the square which just happened to be the weekend of a beer festival. Great views and atmosphere only drawback was from 1am Monday morning they started tearing down the beer stalls and road works. All I can say is there must be no noise in Budapest as the jackhammer was going all night. We had an attic style room with double bed plus sofa lounge downstairs, plenty of room, fast internet, nice but basic breakfast and close to everything. For the price a bargain, will definitely stay here again but bring ear plugs

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We've stayed in the apartment downstairs for 5 nights. It was very cheap and comfortable. Own apartment, no stairs, big and spacious rooms for even 6 people. Own small patio. Fully independent. Good location, in the centre of Pest. 2 minutes on foot to tram (Harminckettesek tere) or bus station, 2 minutes to blue metro line (Kalvin ter) and 5-7 minutes to red metro line (Astoria). The Mikszath ter and neighborhood contains of pubs and restaurants. There is supermarket (Szupermarket) nearby (2 minutes on foot). The guesthouse hasn't got any parking, but in 200m (next to the National Museum) you can find a big parking called Pollack Garazas (www.pollackgarazs.hu). We will defenitely go back and visit Jimi Hendrix again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novi sad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Last november my boyfriend and i visited Budapest and we stayed in Jimi Hendrix guesthouse. It was easy to find it, room was spacious and clean, nice bathroom, good beds. Breakfast was basic but enough. Manager Peter was verz helpful and kind. I would recommend this place to couples or a group of friends, it really can make your holiday perfect.
Ana&Nikola

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Loved staying here, had our own studio apartment that was separate to the guesthouse. Located on a cool street with heaps of restaurants and cafes. Easy to walk to most attractions, otherwise it's handy to bus stops and the underground. Gyuri the Manager was so welcoming and friendly and gave us great recommendations. TV wasn't working which wasn't a big deal but he got it fixed for us. Washing machine you can use just outside the front door which was a massive luxury! Only downside was no dishwashing liquid or tea towels were provided.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jimi Hendrix Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jimi Hendrix Guesthouse

Address: Mikszath ter 4., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jimi Hendrix is a friendly little guesthouse in the heart of Budapest. We are located in a pedestrian area, walking distance to most of Budapest's great attractions. All our rooms are equipped with a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jimi Hendrix Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimi Hendrix Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.