We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hipster Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hipster Hostel to your Saves list
Hipster Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Baross utca 3, Budapest 1082, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend in the candy room, such friendly staff who were willing to help you with finding local sights and book tickets (highly recommend to book your bath & trip tickets here to avoid queues).

Really enjoyed my stay, it was really clean and facilities are second to none, I'd happily recommend this to anyone on a budget or even looking for higher end hostel.

We will definitely be staying here again.

*The only issue was due to such unseasonably hot weather our sleep was distributed due to not being a fan available in the room, but we did mention it to the owner and he said he would sort something out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    25
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
20
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I travelled to Budapest in June and thoroughly enjoyed our six days there. The hostel is ideally situated in the centre close to restaurants and the subway. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was brilliant; very spacious, clean and modern. I would DEFINITELY recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Budapest, irrespective of their age. I have travelled all over the world and this is the best hostel I have stayed in. Great value for money as well, which is a bonus!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

A few weeks ago my girlfriend and I were visiting Budapest. She found Hipster Hostel, and honestly, this was the best experience that I've ever had so far. I did travel a lot already, but almost always with the sleeping bag and/or tent. The guys from the reception are very friendly, the place is very clean, quiet (if you wanna go wild you just go downstairs), two toilets, one shower and one tub, wifi, big kitchen, fridge, washing machine, etc...it's your perfect place.
It is extremely cozy, and you really feel like at one of your friend's place from the very first time you go inside. Also it's in the heart of the city center, so it's totally worth it!!\
One final remark: it is a little bit difficult to find, since there is no sign or direction which points at it. But that's is part of the game of traveling freely..

And one last suggestion: for the best food (and perhaps one of the cheapest) food in town, go to 'Greens Pub'. Ask the guys at the desk for directions, I already told them that once I've tried it, I never ate anywhere else.

Keep it up guys!!
Cheers,
Catalin

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Zachodniopomorskie, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Hostel is brand new including furnitures and furnishings (IKEA style)
Very very clean!!!
Staff is friendly and can help you to plan your trip around Budapest.
Location is excellent, 200 m from metro station and bus stop.
Nearest shops are below bulding (alcohol as weel).

I stayed there for 5 nights and without any hesitation I can recommend it to anyone.

Lukas (Poland

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

An excellent place to stay in Budapest!! Great location near the city center, has a lot of restaurants/coffee shops near by, the metro station is 2 minutes away! Above all it is super clean, cosy, with modern furniture and decoration and really nice staff. They were friendly and cool ;) We would certainly go back! Don't miss it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liège, Belgique
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Actually I didn't sleep there, because my flight was very early in the morning so I went out for a drink !
But about the hotel, it's very fresh, modern, and the staff (it was a girl alone) was very kind !
There is 2 bathrooms (1big and 1 small) + 1 big kitchen with everything you need. There is also lockers for ur stuff (very useful to me)

Next time I'll go to Budapest, I'll go there for sure :)

Btw : be carefull about big bedrooms, in mine, there was 2-3 people snorkeling... It should be hard to sleep if you are sensitive to this !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

we stayed at hipster hostel for 3-4 days. it has a great location,
and the house is very cosy and has a modern interior.
it was also very clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hipster Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipster Hostel

Address: Baross utca 3, Budapest 1082, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hipster Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name speaks for itself: fancy, brand new hostel in the heart of Budapest, in a pedestrian street, in a student area, 50m from metro/tram/bus, cafes-bars-restaurants all around, freshly DIY decorated accommodation especially for all travelers' needs. Hipster has 4 different types of accommodation, all done in a hot do-it-yourself spirit: rn1. POLKA DOTS ROOM: a giant mezzanine with double beds on the upper side (2 separated double beds), and a double bed and 4 simple beds for groups on the lower part. rn2. MAGENTA FEVER ROOM: stylish black bunk beds for 6 persons with a pinch of magenta touchrn3. CANDY ROOM: a smaller mezzanine with one double bed on the upper and another one on the lower part,. HONEYMOON SUITE: for couples in love, with private bathroom and private entrance.The hostel speaks English, French, Spanish, Brazil, Portuguese, German... Wants to learn Polish, Russian, Chinese Mandarin, Japanese :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hipster Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hipster Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.