We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Budapest Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Budapest Center to your Saves list
Hostel Budapest Center
Semmelweis 2 | Mezzanine, Budapest 1052, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I would definately recommend this hostel, the staff are friendly also very helpful as this was our first time in Budapest! The room was very clean, and beds were comfortable! The hostel was very central in the city so it was easy to get around!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    22
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
2
12
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hostel Budapest Center was a fantastic Hostel to stay in. The hostel itself is very central and walking distance from almost all the sites in Budapest. The staff were very friendly and helpful. You can tell they really cared about customer satisfaction! I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking to stay in Budapest. 10 outta 10!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hostel was fantastic! The staff were amazingly friendly and really helpful, the room was spacious and the en-suite was far better than expected. The location means the main attractions are easy to get to and within walking distance. For £10 a night each, it was fantastic value for money and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It is a very nice place to stay, comfortable with very nice prices, very good ubication very near downtown and near a metro station, so kind and nice staff. Near good restaurants and main avenues. 30 o 40 minutes to the airport. Definitely a place to stay in Budapest :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights with 8 friends. Staff was nice and very helpful. Rooms were nice, basic but functional and clean. Location is very convenient to explore all parts of the city. Warmly recommended !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Leopoldo, RS
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had booked Hostel Budapest Center through their website for 5 nights in November 2012. I had paid the booking. So thought everything would be right. But when I got there, the hostel was full and there was not a bed for me. The owner justified saying the staff from the reception was new and did not checked the reservations. He offered me to sleep for free at the couch at the reception! Or he would put an extra mattress on the floor of one of the rooms, and I would sleep in the middle of the room. I did not want any of those options. I just wanted a bed to sleep, because I had traveled for 7 hours to get there. So he booked another hostel for me (Treestyle hostel) and returned me the money. Even with this solution, I was not happy to arrive tired in a city I had never been to, and have to move to another place, which was not as close to the city center as this hostel was. My suggestion: if you book this hostel, call and email them to confirm before your arrival.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidenheim an der Brenz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Me and my friends traveled to Budapest for New Year's Eve 2012/13 and stumbled on this place online. Since we were on a small budget, we booked the place for 2 nights and haven't regret a thing! Budapest is an awesome place for anything from taking picturesque photos (especially at night) of the city's unique architecture to dancing (and drinking) the night away in dozens of bars, clubs or pubs with a vibrant culture you'll hardly find anywhere else on this planet (and I've been to a lot of them, believe me)! And of course, I won't forget to mention the food - yummy!

This hostel serves as a great starting point for any kind of trips in and around Budapest. It's located downtown, just to stops (metro) away from the main station and in walking distance to almost all major sight-seeing spots. And there are many cafés, restaurants, bars, etc. just 'round the corner. Our room was equipped with a separate bathroom and kitchen (including several utensils), plus lockers for your values and personal stuff. They provide linen and bedding so no need to pack your sleeping bag. And staying in a hostel always provides an opportunity to easily get to know like-minded people to hang-out with and party!

The best thing though was the staff - great guys and really helpful with whatever you need. They will store your baggage in case you won't be able to check-in on time or just want to discover the city a bit longer after checking-out without worrying about carrying your stuff around all day. They even celebrated New Years with us (and prepared a crazy strong punch that almost knocked us out way before midnight). Also if you have any questions - the respond within hours per mail. They even helped us retrieve a lost phone after we got back home!

I can recommend this place to anyone who's looking for an easy, great time in Budapest and couldn't care less about (overpriced) luxury of an hotel room. Pick this place - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Budapest Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Budapest Center

Address: Semmelweis 2 | Mezzanine, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located in the heart of the city center of Budapest with a few steps walk to the main touriststreet of Budapest. Three metrolines are within 30m walk. The hostel was totally refurbished in 2011 June and the new wing in 2012. The design is youngish,colorful and modern. All the main tourist destinations,clubs and restaurants are within 100m-300m walk. The hostel itself is a medium-sized hostel with a holding capacity of 45 persons with 10 different rooms. The rooms are quite,cosy and well equipped with all the necessary things you might need for a journey. Wifi is free and fast in the rooms as well. The hostel is located in an interesting buildingcomplex with all the necessary facilities and services that can offer you great stay. Like. Bier terrace, non-stop bar, cafe and eiscafe, supermarket and breakfastrestaurant. The rooms are all with private bathroom as following: 1 en-suite bedroom with a double bed for 2 persons, 1 en-suite bedroom with 2 double beds for 4 persons, 1 en-suite bedroom with 2 twin beds for 2 persons, 1 en-suite dormitory room for 6 person, 1 en-suite dormitory room for 6 person, lobby, 3 guest kitchens. Each room has: Own shower in the room, lockers, dining tables, computers, wifi, safe, big cosmetic mirrors, cosmetic desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Budapest Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Budapest Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.