We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good price/quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Guesthouse Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added City Center Guesthouse Budapest to your Saves list
City Center Guesthouse Budapest
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Csengery utca 53, Budapest 1067, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 177 Budapest B&B and Inns
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    39
    13
    9
    10
See reviews for
6
30
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The place was booked because it seemed nice, and was cheap. Now I dont mind spending a few bucks to ensure comfort, but if something looks like a good deal I take it.

this was a mediocre call on my side. The place was difficult to find, the room was clean but really hot. The staff initially refused to give me a room with a fan or airconditioning, even though it says on their website that all rooms are airconditioned. Then, after I almost was about to walk out, they gave me the tiny table fan from their reception. While I appreciated the gesture, I was still a bit annoyed by the fact they gave me the only room (apparently) without airconditioning. I mean, its needed when temperature outside is a balmy 32degrees. Anyway, didnt have brekkie there (was not included), cleaniness was good, service staff cheerful and approachable.

Overall, cheap, good but not enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

First and for all: the staff was very, very friendly! Rooms were converted offices, but nicely decorated and with a comfortable bed. The TV was very modern, with a lot of international channels. Clean room and shared bathroom, although at night we heard some mice, but they might have also been in the building next to us.
Location is great, metro close and the Terror House museum even closer (which is a great museum!)

Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Surprisingly cheap with very helpful and nice staff. It is a former office converted into a guest house - so the bathrooms are on the corridor and the doors/rooms are not really sound-proofed.
Apart from these the room was spacious with basic equipments and comfortable bed. Centrally located with easy access to tram / metro lines.
No complaints, so go for it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This place was surprising! Our room was huge, comfortable, quiet and clean for a really great price. It even smelled new.
The location was great, maybe 20 minutes maximum walk to the most exciting sights.
I recommend this place to anyone looking for comfort on a budget.
We were travelling as a couple and found that it was very private and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#98 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#47 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Europa Centerpoint Budapest
#30 of 177 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silver Hotel Budapest
#47 of 177 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Fanni Budapest Guesthouse
#27 of 177 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Locust Tree Apartments
Locust Tree Apartments
#29 of 177 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Guesthouse Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Guesthouse Budapest

Address: Csengery utca 53, Budapest 1067, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Guesthouse Budapest 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Superior City Center Guest House located in the downtown of the most fabulous place: Budapest. The House is situated on the quiet Csengery Street, very near to Oktogon square. Take a pleasant walk from the City Center Guest House on the most famous boulevard of Budapest Andrassy Avenue Which is only one minute from us. Nearby there are Many Other attractions available, for example: Heroes square, Many of the museums, the City Park, the Budapest Zoo, the Amusement Park, the Szechenyi Thermal Bath and Liszt Ferenc square Which is known as "the kitchen of Budapest" Because Many of its good restaurants and Cafes. The area called the "Broadway of Budapest" with its theaters, restaurants, unique bars, clubs and pubs - where life never stops - is Also located in 3 min walking distance. Be Fascinated from the beauty of the historical Budapest and discover it, relax in our comfortable four star deluxe Cardo beds and the high standards of our rooms, take advantage of the modern environment and enjoy our Extensive services. City Center Guest House is Offering You the Possibility - Whether it is a business trip or Leisure - to enjoy the busy life of a capital city, with its Many events and attractions, and at the same time as our guests: feel the comfort of a four star deluxe hotel room, and get the best value at a good price with the friendly, personal care and family hospitality of our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Budget Places, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your City Center Guesthouse Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Center Guesthouse Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.