We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BlackSheep Hostel Budapest

BlackSheep Hostel Budapest
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BlackSheep Hostel Budapest to your Saves list
BlackSheep Hostel Budapest
Akacfa utca 7., Budapest 1072, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 557 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place for traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was in sept 2012 in Black sheep hostel. The place is comfortable and clean; the staff is really nice. I spend 3 days in budapest and when I arrived at the hostel I felt at home even if I was there alone. Also the price was not so expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was my first time staying in a hostel and I wasn't really sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised by this friendly and quirky little hostel in the heart of Budapest.The staff are nice and friendly and are more than happy to help. This hostel is excellent value for money, for an the outrageously good price, we were given a nice bed, internet access, a clean shower and a buffet breakfast! And as if that wasn't good enough, one night the staff were kind enough to cook us a traditional Hungarian meal, free of charge! It was an absolute pleasure to stay at Black sheep, and I would goback in an instant. One negative would be thar just after coming back my friend who I was travelling with got a few bites which may well have been from the hostel. Although for such a great price, I guess these are the things that happen, although i'm sure they are not frequent. Bites aside I loved this hostel and it was a great place to stay for a few nights in Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domazlice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Another great hostel. We stayed just one night in dorm, very friendly staff, everything very clean, very nice athmosphere. It is small hostel, but i think it is very positive. Location is good, some pubs around hostel, also Keleti station is in walking distance. Hostel is in upper floors. As many other hostels in Europe, this one is perfect backpackers meeting point, too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I never write reviews really, but with this lovely little hostel I promised the staff I would.. I'm just sorry it took me so long! Small, easy to find, clean little kitchen and rooms, free wifi and great price.. there's not much more I can say.. apart from the staff were super friendly and helpful. Would definitely visit again.. has set the bar for hostels as far as I'm concerned :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Nice little hostel to chill for a couple of days. Decent wifi, bathrooms and small kitchen. The best thing for me was that they were very accommodating when they didn't have room for me and my four friends were staying there, so they offered to put in another bed in the room for me. Nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed one night, after two nights at Black Sheep's sister hostel, Njoy. The staff at Black sheep was very nice and helpful, but the hostel itself is a bit run down. I think they could use to close for a few days and repaint, update the bathrooms.

The neighborhood is far from the river and very loud, through the night, there is a casino on the corner. Not as charming as many of the other neighborhoods. But, lots of transport options, metro and tram, 30 seconds away.

We stayed in a double with a very comfy bed and a fan (yes!). Again, just as at Njoy, the bathroom is not ensuite, and I feel like 40 euro is alot for a double without private bath.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hostel is fantastic. I went to Budapest on my own and stayed in a hostel with the hope of meeting new people. The great thing about this hostel is that it is small, so you gain a real sense of community and get to know everyone staying there. The location is also fantastic, couldn't be better, and it's cheap!
It's quite hard to find, just a small door on the street and when you take the lift up, you question what on earth have I let myself in for! But then you enter and it's well kitted out, clean and very friendly. All you could ask for!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#81 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Groove
#9 of 557 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Astoria City Hostel
Astoria City Hostel
#42 of 557 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlackSheep Hostel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlackSheep Hostel Budapest

Address: Akacfa utca 7., Budapest 1072, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 557 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your BlackSheep Hostel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlackSheep Hostel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.