We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arena Camping

Arena Camping
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budapest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arena Camping
Save
You added Arena Camping to your Saves list
1106 Budapest, Pilisi u. 7, Budapest, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 557 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“3rd visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

i'm coming here every 4months, it's a nice place with nice people! i read 2 bad post about it but i think that people are "bourgeois"! it's a low cost campign and not a 5stars hotel!! it's clean and sympatic with fresher threes. almost, a new building in beautiful wood was built with cute rooms. perfect for make a great festival, some barbecue or just for stay with family. the boss speak french, the cofee is good, borsodi's too. just thinking to change your euros before. i'll come back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We decided to stay after reading all the fine reviews.
The owner I must say is one of the most helpful managers we have found in our trip,
but the site is one of the most noisy sites we have stayed at, between the planes and trains at night we had to resort to sleeping tablets to sleep.
The showers were ok, but the standard of construction leaves a lot to be desired. It might be ok for Hungary but I am not hungarian and the owner continued the cleaning of ladies showers while ladies were still in there and left them shaken. All in all if you are aware of the noise issues & leaking toilets & showers before arriving, you can make up your own mind, but I think some of the other reviews must have rose coloured glasses on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Recently I have been to Budapest and stayed in Arena camp. I am quite happy as I selected to stay in Arena camping. People were very nice there and very helpful. If I visit budapest again I will stay there :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was aweful ! We stayed in a bungalow and couldn`t get to sleep as it was so stinky and dirty. We didn`t even want to lie down as the mattresses were so disguisting ! Bathroom was hell, too - toilet not properly working; shower- drain full of hair. It was very clear that it hadn`t been cleaned at all, because when we did a wipe the cloth turned black.. Bungalow is not to be recommended. The camping ground itself seemed clean, quiet and the staff was friendly, too

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We arrived in Budapest expecting to stay at Haller Camping for our duration... when we got there it was crowded with few spots available (people had taken what was left up with their laundry), no shade and it was so muddy, we headed for Arena Camping, which ended up as one of our best decisions to date. One of the operators, Michael, gave us a great little orientation pack including discount meals with the University opposite the campsite. The campsite was much more comfortable than what we had encountered at the other site, very clean with lush green grass and plenty of shade. They also have new toilets and showers, with electricity and free use of the washing machine included in the very fair (and cheapest in Budapest) price. Access to the city centre is flawless, with buses to the Metro every few minutes if you don't want to walk the 10 minutes it takes. On top of all of that, the operators are the nicest and most helpful people we have met in 18 months of travelling. Michael even took time out of his day to take us to the local workshop so our camper could have some running repairs, and on multiple occasions acted as our translator with the local mechanic (also fantastic) so we knew what was going on and how much everything was costing etc. We ended up staying 5 nights when we had only planned for 2, just because we were having such a nice time. A great site, and fantastic value... Can highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

A warm welcome we got at this small campsite, some minutes from the city centre.

Lots of dutch people, backpackers. Open and trusting atmosphere on the site and rather clean sanitair which in top season might be limited in quantity.

A warm recommendation.

Only cons: some noice of passing trains and airplanes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed Thursday till Monday in a camper van staff very friendly and helpful brought a 3 day Budapest transport ticket ideal to get to Budapest and stroll around campsite toilets and showers very clean and dog chained to kennel greeted you with barks
outdoor drinks fridge with good beer and the university food excellent very cheap breakfast about £2.00 dinner £3.00
saving up to go again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
CEU Conference Center
#131 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,857 reviews
Matus Hotel
#222 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Camping

Address: 1106 Budapest, Pilisi u. 7, Budapest, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 557 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arena Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.