We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Your apartment in Bp's heart!

Budapest
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
exsoccerm...
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ideal Location, accomodations so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Pros: This apartment is located on Vaci Street, which was ideal for walking to all the major sights and near restaurants and a bakery where we picked up pastries for breakfast every morning. The apartment fit our simple needs with a comfortable bed, small sitting area, small kitchen and bathroom, TV, free wi-fi. It's located on a central enclosed space between buildings, so it is very quiet. There was an entry to one other apartment from this area, but there was quite a bit of security to get to the apartment door, so it felt very safe.

Cons: The washing machine was either broken or we weren't operating it correctly (because the instructions were in Polish) and half of the window coverings were not in optimal condition so, though the windows were covered, it made the place appear shabby. The ground floor entry is from a large, clean, concrete area hemmed in by buildings and this is the area the apartment windows look out on - no view.

We are generally satisfied with simple, adequate accommodations, but if you want a little more comfort and some kind of view, I would not recommend this for you.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location in Budapest
Liked least: location on bleak courtyard
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your stay at my apartment and the review after. We are fixing the washing machine and put an English manual beside it. Sorry, but we thought that it has simple programs with different temperatures so everyone will find out which suits the best.
The curtain is also fixed already. :)
Best regards,
Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
marci477
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“NICE PLACE TO STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We rented this apartment for one week based on the location, price, and that the owner spoke English. We are American.

We enjoyed our stay at Barbara’s apartment. 1056 Budapest Váci street 41. Look for the number 41 above the door. It is located in a secure 24 unit apartment building right on Vaci street. It is at the rear of the building so it was quiet. It is a ground floor unit. When we first arrived we were a little apprehensive due to the dimly lit hallway which led to the back of the building and the apartment. But, once we entered the “courtyard” and got a chance to see the apartment inside everything was ok. The apartment is nice and basically as shown and described although that isn’t apparent from the outside. The courtyard consisted of a lot of old furniture stacked about with some construction material and the building walls needed repairs. The picture shown is the actual front of the apartment.

It was very secure and we felt safe the entire visit. We had a couple of minor issues like a loose toilet seat and curtains not wide enough for the 12 foot windows but all in all we were satisfied. The curtain issue is important as it relates to your privacy. As you sit back on the couch people across the courtyard and in higher up apartments can look down into the bedroom. So you have to adjust the curtains depending on where you will be. You have one other apartment next to you and a couple of them above you and we tried to be good, quiet, neighbors.

The apartment was clean. There is a washing machine as well but unless you read Hungarian you won’t figure out how to use it. We were given a phone number to call in case of a problem. WIFI was fast and consistent. There are some written directions in the apartment such as being sure to hold the lever door handle “up” when locking the door. There was an outdated invalid email address as well at the end of the directions. There were basic supplies like toilet paper, dish soap etc. There are even some grocery bags to use when shopping so you don’t have to pay extra for bags. (below the frig) There is tourist information in English. There were even some candles. DVDs are in Hungarian. We rented movies on our laptop from Amazon.com

It is a basic apartment at a good price and is right on the main street and about 5 blocks from the grand market. The apartment is located about half way on the one mile famous Vaci street. It is suitable for a couple but don’t expect a luxury apartment. You have a small restaurant next to your apartment building but we didn’t eat there. There is a coffee shop on the corner, a massage place, and currency exchange.

Now the bad: We made our payment about 6 weeks in advance of our stay through Holiday Lettings and expected a confirmation “form” email from the owner giving us the address of the apartment and contact phone numbers. Perhaps telling us she would be in contact closer to our arrival. We didn’t receive that confirmation. We had to email repeatedly to get that information. At about a week away we finally received an owner email address and apartment address. Which is 1056 Budapest Váci street 41. Now you can Google map it, print it and show it to someone for directions if you get lost. After emailing over four days and a day before we left on vacation we finally got an answer (apparently her email was down) We sent via return email the time we would arrive and never heard back.

We did receive a phone number and called it twice and guessed the Hungarian voice message we received was to leave a message after the beep. We had to call when our flight was delayed in Paris for about 6 hours and hoped she received the message that we would be arriving later than expected. She did. When we arrived there was a NON English speaking women there to meet us and she gave us the keys and then after letting us check the apartment called the owner and let us speak to her. So it all worked out just fine but if you like confirmation, consistency, and clarification you probably won’t get it here. Two weeks after our stay we are still trying to recover our security deposit of 50 Euros with the owner saying Holiday Lettings has it and Holiday Lettings saying it was given to the owner.

Directions to get the apartment: You do not want to follow the owners direction as you end up at a huge complicated train station (Nyugati) and have to change trains.

Here is the best way to get to the apartment. You are safe and secure on pubic transport. At your arrival terminal 2 Budapest airport and retrieval of your luggage you will find two lovely young ladies (see picture) representing Budapest transport (next to the little restaurant). Buy two tickets for each person for travel on the 203 bus, then blue line train. They will give you a map. About $5.00 or a little less, for 4 tickets. That beats the “ABOUT” $35.10 (26 euros) quoted to me by the Fotaxi Kiosk just outside the terminal building. (Fotaxi is the approved airport taxi)

If you are staying longer and arrive before 3:30 pm there is a post office on the third floor of the arrival building that can sell you an unlimited transportation pass for 2,3, or 7 days. We were only checked when entering the metro. (Train stations above and below ground) Never checked on the dozens of trolley and bus rides. I don’t know if the girls on the ground floor terminal sell an unlimited transport pass.

Once you buy your tickets you will then exit the terminal 2 arrival building and turn right. Walk about 50 feet to Bus 203. If it isn’t there it will be in a few minutes. Climb aboard and stick the end of one ticket for each person in the little boxes attached to the bus inside. Sit down and enjoy the ride all the way to the stop called “Kobanya Kispest” as you ride the stops will be called out but don’t worry if you don’t understand Hungarian, your stop is the one they also announce in English as “car park” as there is a park and ride facility there as well as the Metro train. There is also a lighted sign on the bus with the names of the stops listed as you go. If in doubt just ask anyone one the bus. The Hungarian people are wonderful and love to help you. Ok, so once at the Kobanya Kispest stop get off the bus and turn right, walk about 100 feet and climb the stairs, where you will see two or more government employees checking to be sure you stick one end of the second ticket in the box on the wall. (called validating) Turn left after validating your second ticket and walk all the way to the end of the platform and down the stairs to your right. An old blue train (blue line on your map) will be there or arriving in a few minutes. Ride that train to the station FERENCIEK TERE. Get off at that station take the huge escalator up and at the top of the escalator walk a few feet and then turn sharp LEFT and walk up the stairs and out of the station. As you exit the station at the top of the stairs there is a church on your left and a grocery store on your right which advertises a hostel down the street. Turn right at the top of the stairs and walk toward the grocery store and Elizabeth bridge. Almost there. Lots of walkway construction going on while we were there in September 2013. Just stay on the left side of the street and walk about two blocks from the station until you see the COFFEE MORE store. Good place for coffee in the morning. Turn left walk at coffee more and walk about 30 feet and you have arrived! The blue door is the one you want. See pictures. Don’t worry about carrying luggage. Seems like everyone in Budapest has luggage and a backpack. We had one large and one medium size roller and two backpacks and it was not a problem. The biggest hassle was carrying them up and down the 20 or so stairs at the train station and we are in our 60’s. We did this twice during our stay. Takes about 40 minutes the first time from airport to apartment and about 45 minutes to return the second time when we went back to the airport to check on a car rental for our second week in Slovenia. (the taxi will take almost as long in Budapest traffic)

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 2 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and price
Liked least: getting the owner to confirm booking and communicate
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2013
Hello,
Thank your for your detailed review and kind words. :)
I would like to reflect on 3 things:
1. Until 2 weeks ago I didnt get any notification from Holiday Lettings/Trip advisor when receving a message on their platform (despite I wrote many notes for them about this) that could be the reason why we didnt respond immediately, I am sorry about that.
2.The email address in the apartment is correct, my guests always use that to contact me, you might only have misspelt it (I admit it is not an easy word, you have to pay attention to each character :) --->barbara@cedrusegeszseghaz.hu
3.unfortunately there is only 1way from the airport by public transfer which leads through Nyugati train station. It is always our las tasvice because it is not an easy way. It is better if you choose taxi or can get an airport shuttle. But if someone asks for public transport this is the only way. :(

Thank you for chosing my aparment for your trip to Budapest. All the best, Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Tanjita05...
Mostar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Location is perfect..Right on vaci street..Its not noisy..Nice place for value...Free wifi!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Good location
Liked least: It wasnt perfect clean
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$39
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Barbara B
Speaks English
Listed since : Nov 2011
Response Rate: 65 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing