We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Baron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Baron to your Saves list
Residence Baron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   So utca 4 | 05 Belvaros - Lipotvaros, Budapest 1056, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Glasgow
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Boutique type hotel that ticked all the boxes, location was spot on as it was based at the bottom of the main thoroughfare (Vaci utca), we arrived around midnight and were warmly greeted by the staff, once checked in the receptionist pointed us in the direction of a great pub around the corner (the for sale pub), ample breakfast, never used the restaurant or jacuzzi etc......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    105
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
149
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in the Residence Baron for three nights. We had a cozy room on the upper floor but it was plenty for us. The bathroom had all the usual things to make us comfortable. Our breakfast was included each morning and was a very nice variety of food that our group enjoyed. Our friends' luggage was lost by the airlines and the front desk staff was wonderful in making calls for our friends and tracking it down. Their assistance was invaluable! The location was great as it was near the indoor market, the main shopping street and the river.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathathowells@yahoo.com
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our "Superior Room" was very small with free aircon, safe and hairdryer. Kettle with tea, coffee and dried milk, which were not replenished. I suggest you take some from home and get some milk for the fridge from the bar or breakfast. No bath, but did use our bathrobes and visit the little swimming pool and jacuzzi both with waves (free of charge) which were great after walking around the city. Nice breakfast.
The hotel is just off the pedestrian street, opposite the Central Market with its famous eateries upstairs and colourful paprika stalls. The walk up and down the waterfront was beautiful, especially at night.
Paid £16 for a hop-on hop-off bus which was excellent value. Used it for 2 days and on the second day travelled using their boat up to St Margaret's Island to the gorgeous gardens and the amazing dancing fountain (music on the hour). We also had a free boat ride on the same day at 10 pm to see the lights.
Deak Forence Square had live music with cheap beer and food from "German style market stalls". Visited the famous Astoria Cafe and Cafe Central for sacher cake. Matthias Church was absolutely beautiful and the fishermans' bastion with its amazing views and fairytale turrets.
To use the trams and/or metro you can buy single tickets from the post office beside the hotel. Just buy one per unbroken journey you plan to make that day.

Room Tip: It is on a little side street so seemed quiet location for any room. We had no view from our superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in July and the hotel far exceeded our expectations. The location is fantastic and the staff are very helpful. The decor is old world but very clean and stylish. Very clean rooms and the bathroom is spotless and well stocked and the air con was great. Room was a good size and very clean, large, very comfortable bed, TV/Internet access, plenty of storage, fridge/minibar and safe.
The breakfast buffet is pretty standard but if you don't fancy anything from it you can order off a set menu for no additional cost.
The location is terrific - at the end of Vaci Utca, near the market hall, one minute from the trams and about three minutes from the Metro, which makes getting around incredibly easy. It's two minutes from Liberty Bridge, from where you can walk across up to the citadel, or follow the Danube. Plenty of restaurants etc nearby, and you can get pretty much anywhere near the centre in 20 minutes using public transport.
Very good value for money and the staff were incredibly helpfull.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Liberty Bridge - fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in July and found the hotel to be more than adequate. The location is fantastic and the staff are particularly helpful. We were amazed at how well they (and everyone else) spoke English. The decor is old world and done quite well. Very clean rooms and the bathroom is spotless but there is no shower curtain which makes having a shower difficult without flooding the bathroom. The breakfast is the only thing that is below par as some of the food is served day after day and looks very tired. Overall, very good value for money and we would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were so fortunate to be staying at the Residence Baron during our trip to Budapest. The accommodations were very nice, with a beautiful European décor that included updated showers, air conditioning, breakfast, and excellent service. Due to a terrible flight over, we arrived with no luggage. We were catching a river cruise in three days, and we were greatly concerned that our luggage would not be found before departure. The staff at Residence Baron, specifically Barna and Rene, immediately took charge and over the next two days made several calls for us, finally tracking down our luggage, which had never been put on the plane in Chicago. Thanks to Barna and Rene the luggage arrived the night before our cruise. We were so grateful for the way they tracked down the luggage and made sure that the delivery service got it to us. They graciously went above and beyond their responsibilities. If we ever get back to Budapest, we will definitely stay at the Residence Baron.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fourth floor, and it was very quiet. We didn't use the fitness center, so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Well this hotel was a find!

After booking the room, we arranged an airport transfer withthe hotel for 7800HUF - a little more than a taxi maybe, but we were met at arrivals, escorted to a nice car and driven straight to the hotel. Check-in was prompt, friendly and helpful.

We went up to our room on the third floor, which was lovely - a good size, very clean, large, very comfortable bed, TV/Internet access, plenty of storage, fridge/minibar, safe and a nice clean bathroom with a lovely shower and a jacuzzi bath.

The location is terrific - at the end of Vaci Utca, near the market hall, one minute from the trams and about three minutes from the Metro, which makes getting around incredibly easy. It's two minutes from Liberty Bridge, from where you can walk across up to the citadel, or follow the Danube. Plenty of restaurants, nice coffeeshops and things to see nearby, and you can get pretty much anywhere near the centre in 20 minutes using public transport.

We stayed six nights, and had breakfast on five of those mornings. Each time there was a good selection at the buffet, and a few times we ordered off the menu too. The coffee from the machine was superb.

The spa facilities were lovely after a hard day walking round the sights of Budapest. The 'swimming pool' is more like a swimming treadmill - it has jets that you swim against, but it's still a great facility for a smaller hotel. We didn't use this though - why would you when there's a beautiful whirlpool next to it? This was a real treat for tired legs - I'd recommend taking the time for a visit. There's also an infra-sauna if that's your thing. You can use the hotel bathrobe when you visit, which is a nice touch.

The reception desk offers a concierge service, selling tickets, making reservations at restaurants, booking taxis etc., all at no extra cost. We used this to purchase tickets for the Scechenyi Baths, which saved queuing at the other end. A nice touch. We also arranged a taxi to the airport from here, for 5800HUF, and we got a brilliant, friendly taxi driver (Zoltan Bekk - what a guy!).

I don't know if we got a bargain price or what, but rack rate advertised in the hotel is 279 euros a night! We paid about 60 euros, plus the City Tax on checkout which was about 11 euros more for the six nights combined. An absolute steal for the quality of hotel I think.

My only quibbles are thus:
- No tea/coffee in the room, despite there being a kettle. You can buy teabags from the desk for i think 40 euro-cents each, but this is a bit strange - just pop a few in the room!
- No water in the room, so we had to remember to buy water on our way home each night. A couple of bottles a day left in the fridge would be a good touch at minimal price.
- No shower curtain in the shower. Not really a big issue, but again is a bit strange.

However, these are pretty much the only faults I can make. Great hotel, great room, great staff, great service, great price. Would stay here again in a heartbeat if/when I return to Budapest (which is a fantastic city, by the way!).

Room Tip: We had room 305, which from the fire plan, looked to be the biggest on our floor. No view, but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Baron

Address: So utca 4 | 05 Belvaros - Lipotvaros, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Baron is the newest guesthouse in the downtown of Budapest with 27-rooms, offering four-star hotel services, houses in a beautifully restored and transformed building which was constructed in one of the most prosperous period in the history of Budapest, in the 1870s.The exterior and interior decoration preserves the splendour of the original romantic and secession style, combining it with the modern infrastructure, services and the conveniences of today.The hotel awaits guests with 27 elegantly furnished and well equipped rooms, 1suite, a number of culinary, comfort and medical services, and a conference room for 20 persons.In "Princessin" restaurant, we provide buffet breakfast and a la carte menu for our Guests with international and Hungarian cuisine, wines, and today's contemporary delicacies * Lobby Cafe * Wellness facilites: indoor heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna, massage service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Baron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.