We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace to your Saves list
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights just before Christmas and had a magnificent time here. The room, food, staff, drinks and just everything in general was great. We had no complaints whatsoever. This was a relaxing and chilled place to have a romantic getaway and it is right in the centre of Budapest. The ambience was mesmerising and the whole hotel was perfect. The star were very accommodating and extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a feast in itself with lots to choose from and very attentive wait staff. The restaurant and bar in the hotel served up great cocktails and had an excellent selection of Hungarian and international wines. I would highly reccomed this hotel for anyone who loves a good boutique hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Arvin,

Many thanks for sharing your recent experience about your excellent stay with us! Really glad to hear when guests have the chance to completely turn off the outside world and devote their minibreak to all the pleasures we offer. I'm happy to hear that you discovered all outlets of the Buddha-Bar and that you were fond of our services and of our attentive staff.

Do hope that you will soon have a chance to repeat this romantic getaway and very much looking forward to it!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    224
    57
    18
    14
See reviews for
79
516
25
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My boyfriend booked this hotel for my birthday and our stay had both pros and cons. We loved the room - we stayed in a corner suit with the biggest bath I have ever seen (and probably ever will!) and heated toilet suit - amazing! However, the breakfast was really bad - the buffet was dreadful, when you have stood in-front of it for c.5 minutes and still walk away with hardly anything you know its not great. We ordered hot food (eggs Benedict) which came cold, we make the staff aware of this, it was 're-cooked' and again came cold and the next day the same - cold! The hotel did put a bottle of wine in the room and a cake for my birthday by way of apology which was a nice touch. While the bathroom was amazing - there was no way of controlling the lightly - just seemed a shame not to be able to dim the lights for a more relaxing soak when in such an incredible bath!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us about your recent stay. Glad to hear that you were fond of the Buddha-Bar atmosphere and indeed, the Corner Suite is a lovely spacious suite with a large bathroom. I appreciate your comments regarding the lighting, this is something that we will consider to improve for a more relaxing experience.
Please accept my apologies for the breakfast and rest assured that this is out of our standards and we have already taken required actions to prevent meals from getting cold when ordered from the breakfast room accross the Passage. We will investigate your feedback about the breakfast selection since we offer a cold buffet and pastries in addition to the hot a'la carte menu.

Truly hope that this was not the last time we had the pleasure of welcoming you and do hope that you will rejoin us for some special occaisons. Should you return soon again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at eniko.bak@buddhabarhotel.hu for some arrangements of your stay.

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harefield England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Spent a week in the beautiful Buddha Bar Hotel to welcome in the New Year 2014 and it was a great experience for my first trip to Budapest. The hotel is very stylish, luxurious, romantic and the staff were friendly, helpful, courteous and spoke faultless English which was a bonus. The hotel decor is boldly modern and unique and compliments the age and grandeur of the building. The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Budapest and all the sights and places of interest are within easy walking distance. I was upgraded to an executive room which was spacious with a luxuriously comfortable bed, and a very large bathroom that contained a secret surprise! If I could make one improvement, then it would be to include a light in the wardrobe because the ambient lighting in the room sometimes made it awkward to see my clothes (but that is a "woman" thing, because I brought too many clothes anyway) I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to come back again soon. Thank you Buddha Bar, you gave me a great start to the year.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Mary,

Thank you very much for your time, reviewing your holiday with us! It is a pleasure to hear that you had a memorable stay and that we had a chance to contribute to a special holiday season. Glad that you were fond of the Buddha-Bar atmosphere and the services we offer.

I do hope that you will have a joyful year 2014 after a nice start and also much looking forward to welcoming you back soon again at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Wow!
We went on our honeymoon to this hotel over new year and were blown away by the quality of the room we had, granted we stayed in a junior suite but the room was exceptional, with an incredible sound system connected to the 42" plasma tv in the bedroom which could be rotated round to the very tasteful lounge in the room. The room was double vaulted and was luxurious in every way including the double sized bath tub! Decadence in every way.
The hotel is very stylishly done, and the bar is very funky with the usual buddah bar touches.
We received a complimentary bottle of champagne n our arrival which was a wonderful touch and all the staff were exceptionally helpful and spoke very good English.
It is The best room we have ever stayed in. Exceptional.
Brilliant location, and as we were travelling out of season was outstanding value for money. There are no other hotels we would go out of our way to stay in again but this one.
Lovely bit of history about the hotel too, research it!
We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but we had their breakfast every day which was ok. We weren't blown away by it, but there was plenty of food available and the staff were as always very pleasant.
Although it is classed as a spa hotel, The spa facilities are very basic and although tastefully decorated are limited to a small jacuzzi (our bath was bigger in the room!) a plunge pool, sauna and steam room. They do offer treatments but we prefer a more stronger massage so went to a local Thai massage parlour that was fantastic.

Room Tip: Junior suite is worth every penny, it has thorough double glazing, very thick drapes and although we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Laura,

Many thanks for choosing the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest for such an important trip of your lives and for your time, sharing your experience with us! Delighted to hear that you had such a memorable stay and that our staff and the services we offer put the icing on the cake for your Budapest Honeymoon to remember. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding the Junior Suite, indeed, it is one of the most popular room types and it is just perfect for a romantic getaway.

Do hope that this was not the last time we had the pleasure of welcoming you and very much looking forward to the next occaisson!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute of our staying. The service was excellent, staff was very kind and allways ready to help whatever the question was, and allways with a friendly attitude. The design in the hotel was nice and spending an hour at the hotel spa in the afternoon was so relaxing.
Twice we had dinner at the restaurant, also here we experienced great service as well as really good food.
At last the hotel is placed very central which makes it a perfect place to stay if you like to explore the city of Budapest.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Magnus,

Firt of all let me wish you a joyful and prosperous year 2014! I appreciate your time spent on posting your experience on Tripadvisor about your stay with us! It is always a pleasure to hear about the nice memories our guests share with us and glad that the services of Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest and its team were also a highlight of your trip!

Very much hope that we will soon again have the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel during the festive holidays and have absolutely no complaints!! The staff were lovely, couldn't have been more helpful and we received an upgrade on arrival. A wonderful and relaxing base for exploring Budapest as it's so central. If you want to take advantage of the wonderful free walking tours from Vorosmarty Square and a dinner cruise on the Danube it is only a short walk to both. The concierge made bookings for us for both the dinner cruise and for Szechenyi baths which in the latter case saved so much waiting as it was full when we arrived and we didn't need to wait outside in the cold! All in all a wonderful experience at the Buddha-Bar Hotel but sadly not enough time to use the Spa facilities. Next time...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Sharon,

Many thanks for your time, reviewing your recent stay and delighted to hear that you spent such a memorable holiday season at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest! Glad that you had a chance to explore the delights of Budapest as well and that we had a chance to contribute to your warm memories.

Do hope that we will soon have a chance to welcome you back to the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest!
Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel have many things vas bad, I stay in the hotel 4 days and have much details are bad, our room have technical problems. The restaurant have a terrible staff with a really bad aptitude, was really bad the mood of the staff. The value for the money is not the best you can fiend in Budapest. I never come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasFazekas, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Camila,

Thank you very much for your time, sharing your experience about the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest.
I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay and regret that we did not have a chance to discuss your problems in person when you were staying with us, so that we could have found a suitable solution.
Please rest assured that we believe in a guest-focused friendly approach and we are very sorry if you should have experienced other than this.

I would be grateful if you would be so kind as to send us your feedback about your stay in more details, especially regarding your room, so that we would have a chance to investigate them and to make sure to solve them. You may send any comments to me directly at tamas.fazekas@buddhabarhotel.hu.

I do hope that we will have an other chance to welcome you back despite your first experience.

Kind Regards,
Tamas Fazekas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Address: Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just another hotel, it's a lifestyle..." Is the motto of the brand new, fantastically located, truly unique 5-star Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. Dashing luxury and pampering comfort awaits at the 2nd hotel of the world-wide famous, trendy Buddha-Bar concept hotel. It boasts an excellent setting at the foot of the Elisabeth Bridge, in a charming historic building from the 19th century, at the corner of the capital's number-one pedestrian shopping street, Vaci utca. Faithful to the brand, a number of exciting dining venues comprehend to the entire Buddha-Bar experience that is a feast for the senses.The owners of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace are Sameer Hamdan and Zuhair Awad, owners and CEOs of Mellow Mood Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.