We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace to your Saves list
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

What a cool hotel!
We went on a trip staying for 4 nights at Buddha bar hotel with our toddler son. What a great stay we had!
The interior of the hotel was absolutely gorgeous and felt really fresh. Some people may think that the colors can make it feel dark but we thought this was part of the whole feeling.
The cleaning was flawless and service mind of the employees was really great.
We booked spa treatments both me and my husband and it felt really good and professional.
Roomservice was really great also that we took the first evening when we arrived late to the hotel.

Here's some tips though that we thought of:
* The breakfast is pricey and we didn't think it was worth it. Just a couple of meters from the hotel much better breakfast cafes where found with tastier breakfast a lot cheaper. (But if you want to eat earlier then most places haven't opened yet so that can be a reason to eat at the hotel.)
* If possible bring something more for the toddler to sleep on. They had babybeds, but it didn't have any madras. just the bottom "disc". Some toddlers maybe like the hard surface but our didn't. Luckily we had a blanket that he could use and made him sleep on the duvet that was in the bed to make it a bit softer.

Other than that we will definitely recommend this hotel to our family and friends. We loved the hotel and will definitely have this one on our list to choose from the next time we go to Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    188
    44
    16
    11
See reviews for
63
395
22
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We booked this hotel because it looked very nice from the pictures and the reviews were good. We stayed for 3 nights in October 2013. We would defintely not reccomend it. The hotel prices are far too high compared to other hotels of the same category and given what is offered. The rooms are small. We even got upgraded to a superior room and it still was very small. I cannot imagine how small the standard room must be.
At check-in, although the hotel had all the credit card details, we were asked for a deposit of 50 Euros per night which we accepted. The problem is that the deposit was returned to us only one week after we checked out. The hotel was not able to cancel the deposit right away but had some complicated procedure with its bank to do that.
The SPA is small and its prices really high compared to what you can find around the hotel.
In the room there is a nespresso machine for coffee with only two coffee pods and a small bottle of water. This is all you get for 150 Euros a night? Breakfast excluded?
This hotel takes advantage of its name and brand, but the services offered are far below 5 stars standards. It the end we found pretentious and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasFazekas, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for your time, reviewing your recent stay at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest and I am very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your experience.
Feedback is really important to us to understand where we have to make improvements in order to provide the best of service for our guests, therefore I appreciate your comments.
Due to the Klotild Palace’s unique shape that houses the Buddha-Bar Hotel, all rooms and suites are quite different in size and layout, even in the standard category.
As a standard procedure, our colleagues at the reception do take a deposit upon check-in, that is pre-authorized on the credit card. After check-out the amount is being released, however the banks’ communication might take a few days until the amount is freed. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience this procedure might have caused you, however this procedure from the bank side is out of our control.
The Buddhattitude Spa is a little island of well-being and relaxation that is specialized in personal treatments and massages and our aim is to provide harmony and revitalization to our guests.
I do hope that despite your first experience we will have the chance again to welcome you back to the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest and would be glad to assist you in person in case you are planning to return to Budapest. Please do not hesitate to contact me for arrangements directly at tamas.fazekas@buddhabarhotel.hu

Yours sincerely,
Tamas Fazekas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had such a great time at this wonderful hotel. Staff was incredible and so polite and helpful at our check-in. We were met in the taxi and having our luggage carried up to our room. Good information at check-in, and the piccolo giving instructions on everything needed in our room. We had a deluxe suite, and it was fantastic. Great size, good bed, bathroom was really nice, and we had our own Nespresso coffee machine. Location of the hotel is perfect, we had everything we needed just outside and didn't use any public transportation.

We tried the restaurant the first night. It was without a doubt the best sushi I ever had!! Service was great, and they recommended a really good wine for us. We had dinner there the night after too.
The hotel bar was also a positive experience. Nice bartender and the drinks were really good. The 2nd night we went to the bar, he gave us some free chips while waiting for our drinks. Good service!

The spa was not so big, but very quiet and cosy. Nice staff, and very on-time with our pre-booked treatments. Mail-communication with the spa before our stay was also very positive. Treatments were as good as expected, even though my 25-minute massage finished after 20 minutes.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and I'm looking forward to going back in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It happened so that my family and I came earlier than check in time 15.00. We came at 12.00. No matter how we asked to hurry up room readiness, the staff refused to let us in the room before 15. We are travelling with a 10 mths old child, and I suppose this is an argument strong enough not to behave like this for the people at the reception and for the room service staff. Never stayng at the hotels of this group again and do recommend to avoid them to everyone. P.S. The lies about welcome drinks are lies, unless you beg for it :)

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasFazekas, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Denis,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your recent stay with us.
I would like to express my regret about your unpleasant experience and would like to assure you that it must have been a miscommunication about taking your room.
Official check-out time is noon, therefore it does happen unfortunately that we are unable to provide early check-in when we are fully booked. Of course we do our best to favour guests and let them take their room even before 15:00, the official check-in time, when we have rooms available. I do understand that waiting with a baby is difficult and would like to apologize that we were not able to provide you with a room soon after your arrival.
I am very sorry if you should have not felt the attention that we are certainly addressing all our guests with and this is something that should never happen. In order to provide the highest standards and to ensure the guest-focused approach of our staff members, all our colleagues are frequently trained and of course all feedback is very important for us to understand where we have to make improvements.
I do hope that despite your first experience with us, we will have a chance once again to welcome you at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace and it would be my pleasure to assist you with your arrangements, so please feel free to contact me in person at tamas.fazekas@buddhabarhotel.hu

Kind Regards,
Tamas Fazekas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London , United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

very nice building, very central, professional staff. All the finishing is at high standard, the WC designed by Philippe Starck has a glowing blue light in it that may keep you awake if you forget to close properly the bathroom door.
The Modern Zen look is great but , due to the dim light all the time and the quietness during our stay, evokes a bit of a feeling of being in a graveyard
Our room was not very big ( I was expecting more to be honest) but still comfy, the cocktail bar and the restaurants are nice but a bit pricey compared to the price of staying.
Overall is a very good place to stay, very good value for money for the quality of the building, however it has to be mentioned that it does not have a SPA in a proper sense.
So if you are thinking to go to Budapest for a pampering holiday maybe other places are better equipped.
Other little thing, the room has a nice espresso machine , however, if you are a tea person, obtaining a kettle may be a challenging task, better ask for it during the booking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I loved it. Very friendly, personal service. Fantastic bathroom with a big bath and rainforest shower in the corner suite. Great, integrated sound system to plug into. Comfortable bed. Really good cocktails in the bar. Good, central location. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The duplex suite and the corner suites are great. Good value compared to any 5 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous, perfectly situated to see the sights of Budapest. The service is brilliant from the moment you step out of your taxi, doormen, security, bar staff and restaurant staff helpful and polite with excellent English.
The room (ours 427) was an executive suite, biggest bed I have ever seen and oh so comfy. Black out curtains (you could still hear a little traffic from the very busy road), fab decoration, all reds and blacks. Great mini (BIG) bar but not free. Huge wardrobe space and the biggest TV on the wall. The only thing we didn't like was the over head shower but that is a preference thing.
Breakfast was lovely, my choice was the eggs Benedict and pancakes- beautiful.
I suppose a downside to the hotel is the major investment in the roads outside which is noisy but is a necessary evil so we just got on with it, will look brill when re-done.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Address: Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just another hotel, it's a lifestyle..." Is the motto of the brand new, fantastically located, truly unique 5-star Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. Dashing luxury and pampering comfort awaits at the 2nd hotel of the world-wide famous, trendy Buddha-Bar concept hotel. It boasts an excellent setting at the foot of the Elisabeth Bridge, in a charming historic building from the 19th century, at the corner of the capital's number-one pedestrian shopping street, Vaci utca. Faithful to the brand, a number of exciting dining venues comprehend to the entire Buddha-Bar experience that is a feast for the senses.The owners of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace are Sameer Hamdan and Zuhair Awad, owners and CEOs of Mellow Mood Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.