We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel & Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Save Saved
You added Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Online Deal
Ranked #33 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Vancouver
1 review
“Wonderful Hotel & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My sister and I stayed there for 5 days. Such a wonderful experience. The hotel is super clean, modern high-end elegance and staff that just could not do enough for you. And they do it with a smile.

The room was spacious , very elegant & high-tech details that made it fun. The only thing we could not find is an electric outlet in the bathroom to connect our hair curler.

Location is brilliant and very safe. We had no concerns walking around the area at midnight.

The bartender Richard is brilliant in making the best cocktails tailored to your personal taste. We also tried the food in the Buddha Bar. It was done to perfection.

We will come back here on our trip next year. Thanks to the staff for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are small. Have to pay 30 Euros more for the bigger rooms on floors above but is wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Maria,

Many thanks for taking your time to write about your recent stay at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest! Delighted to hear that you so much enjoyed your time with us and that you were fond of our services. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff and we will certainly pass your comments on to Richard!

We will be more than glad to see you again next year, so please do not hesitate to contact us for any arrangements regarding your trip in advance.

Hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    144
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
50
300
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

What can I say? For my vacation in Budapest I personally choose this hotel among different options (as Corinthia), this because for me Buddha Bar used to be a guarantee of quality, style, attention to customers. At this time I'm totally disappointed about the lack of service (bad cleaned room, not prepared for the night, asked for missing amenities 3 times, bad manner of the receptionist) and most of all about the unpleasant and no costumer-oriented attitude of the staff (most of all a woman in the reception who should be a supervisor) after we kindly pointed out all these things. I can also go ahead with details but they are very embarassing for her and I retain a right to write to the manager directly. Budapest has lot of luxury accomodations (also for less money) and for sure I won't never ever come back here or recommend this hotel to someone who expects a warm welcome in Budapest. What a shame for Buddha Bar name!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasFazekas, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear,

Many thanks for your time, telling us about your experience about your recent stay with us and we are very sorry to hear that our services did not meet your refined expectations. We would like to assure you that the satisfaction of our customers is the core point of our phylosophy that is a standard for the entire staff as well. We would like to apologize should you have felt that the front desk staff did not keep to this attitude and thank you at the same time for this feedback. We are constantly training the personnel in order to keep the highest of standars, therefore all comments are very important to us. I would be grateful for any further remarks you might have, so please do not hesitate to write me directly at tamas.fazekas@buddhabarhotel.hu.

I do hope that in spite of this unfortunate experience this was not the last time we had the chance to welcome you at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest and I would be glad to assist you should you like to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Tamas Fazekas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was our first time to Budapest and we chose to stay at Buddha Bar Hotel Klotild Palace. It was absolutely fantastic – they truly live up to their slogan “Not just another hotel, it’s a lifestyle.

From arrival to departure, it exceeded our expectation on all levels.

The Hotel location is fantastic, right in the middle of the city with the main shopping street 20 meters from the hotel.

The hotel premises are out of this world, its like entering another realm. The dimly lit corridors and red colours make for a very relaxing atmosphere. The room we had was on the 5th floor with spectacular views of liberty hill. Room amenities were superb, with wifi included in the price.
The Buddha bar restaurant and bar were really good, the cuisine was a blend between traditional Asian and Thai food. Their sushi is highly recommendable.

We were treated to a selection of cocktails fit for a king and queen in the famed Buddha Bar. Our bartender Atiila – is a man who is exceptionally good at what he does and tailors each cocktail to our wishes and preferred spirits.

If it’s a weekend away or a longer stay, I can absolutely recommend Buddha bar hotel Klotild Palace. Truly a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Jonas,

Thank you very much for your time, sharing your opinion about your recent stay at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest! We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and your've been enhanced by the special Buddha-Bar atmosphere! The Buddha-Bar Restaurant offers unique fusion cuisine and glad that you were fond of it as well as of our cocktail selection. Thank you very much for your kind words regarding Attila, our bartender, we will certainly address your comments to him.

Do hope that we will soon have a chance again to take you on another journey around the world of Buddha-Bar!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Comfortable, well equipped, welcoming once you got in. Rather confusing layout (all dark red and black with dim lighting, no signs) and large men in black suits at doors to stop you entering the "wrong" way. Made me wonder if Budapest is a very unsafe city?? Didn't appear to be.

Excellent breakfast. Very large, comfortable bed and bedding. Everything you could need in the room, lots of sockets for charging devices. Again, very gloomy due to dark red and black decor, even to dark red net curtains.

Too many gimmicks! Example, bathroom very large and looks lovely. But I didn't want the heated loo seat on (during a heatwave) or piped sound coming in from the tv in the bedroom; I kept on turning them off but every time we left the room and turned the central lighting off, they reset themselves. In the night, sleepy and with low lighting, I twice walked into the totally unnecessary glass shower screen round the toilet. And I would have preferred more surface space to a second washbasin.

Striking open-air feel layout on our bedroom floor giving appearance of a seaside beach. Impressive. But not everyone likes the smell of seaweed, rather over the top! Liked it first sniff, not by the end of three days!

Music from (I assume) the hotel bar kept me awake until about 1 a.m. each night.

Was here for three nights on a "deal" so worth the money I paid but not somewhere I would come again, even with the deal.

Room Tip: Not in second floor! Noise from first floor bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Katharine,
Thank you very much for your time, telling us about your experience. Glad that you were fond of our breakfast selection and that you found our supreme bedding comfortable. At the same time we are sorry to hear that some of our services did not meet your refined expectations and that you were not fond of the special Buddha-Bar atmosphere, that is based on a unique lighting and sound sensations and its interior design is dominated by the red and black surfaces, creating a special atmosphere. Thank you very much for your opinion regarding the in-room amenities, we are constantly improving on our services, therefore we do appreciate any feedback from our customers. Please accept our apologies for the music, we do try to relocate our guests providing we are noted.
Should you decide to return to the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest, you will always be welcome!
Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I took my girlfiend here as a surprise for her 30th Birthday and to propose to her across the river at the Halaszbastya Restaurant (Fisherman's Bastion).

Upon arrival there were building works directly outside the hotel, where the area looks like it ifs in the process of being pedestrianised. However, this was the only downside of the whole stay. The service upon arrival was friendly and helpful, and the room had red roses delivered as I had requested in advance.

We stayed in the executive room which had 2 flat screen TV's which play music throughout the bathroom, lounge and upstairs bedroom. The toilet in the bathroom was amazing, it was remote controlled with a heated seat, it then washed your bum and then dried it for you. The bath was large and deep with a rainfall effect shower. The bed was huge and very comfortable.

The service was very good, our room was cleaned well and we rang room service on several occasions to ask for an iron and scissors and they were quickly brought to the room.

The spa facilities were good, with a hot tub, plunge pool, saunana and steam room but there was no swimming pool which was a shame.

Breakfast was brilliant, the hot food was excellently made and the selection of cereals, breads, cheeses and cold meats and fruits was very good.

The location of the hotel is ideal, it is centrally located and we walked all around the Buda and Pest sides of the city, as the hotel is near to one of the large bridges so you can easily find it in the way back after a drink or two.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and revisit :D

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear David,
Many thanks for sharing your opinion with us. Congratulations on this special occasion, it is a pleasure for us that you chose the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest to host you for such an important step of your lives and that we had a chance to make it even memorable!
Delighted to hear that you were so much happy with our services and staff and that you were fond of the hotel.
We are truly looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to repeat the nice memories!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrköping, Östergötlands Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for two days and we where happy to chosen this hotel.
The location was really good near to sightseeing, near to the boat docks and just right outside you have vaci-street for some shopping.

When we first came to the hotel we had a car and the valet came right a way welcome us to the hotel and took care of your bags and car. The doorman was very helpful and friendly each time we passed he was very careful to greet you and offered his help. We were surprised how friendly and service minded the staff was on this hotel even the cleaning staff.

The reception was very helpful and you get different brochures for things to do and transport in budapest. You can buy tickets for diffrent activities directly in the reception, but you have to buy the all the tickets in cash unfortunately they dont accept credit card for this.

You can see that the hotel is brand new its really clean and modern oriental design, some of its design features was quite cool. But to bad they did not keep some its originally structure and design.

The room was very modern with multimedia gadgets, you can plug in your phone with bluetooth and get the sound in the speakers in the room and toilett. Too bad that the connection breaks after 20 minutes (even if you try to use the VGA-input) and its quite hard to establish a bluetooth connection.

You can get information the rooms/hotel features through the TV but the information is as short and bad as the website. And the pictures is very low definition, especially if you want to see how to use the hi-tech toilet we had.

Otherwise the room was very clean and quite big (we had a Executive room) a lot of room to put your clothes, fresh towels every day and you have a nespresso machine (but you only get one capsule with coffine the rest is decaffeinated).

You dont hear so much from your room neighbours, we heard only them once when they play high music in their room. And the high music from the bar downstairs we only heard it if you stand just next to the door and if get outside the room in the hall then it was quite loud. Even though we where on the 4th floor.

We had breakfast included which was quite good. A waiter takes your coffee or te order and warm breakfast order, we order a omelett. But they were quite busy so they forgot our order and after reminder them we got the omelett after 40min and it wasn't worth the time becuase it was quite tasteless and a lot of oil. The breakfast buffe was very fresh and good so with that its more then enough.

The spa and gym was very small and empty. They could definitely do it much better here but it was clean. The treatments was to expensive.

To summon up we had a pleasant stay, we would recommended it to our friends and we would stay here again. Especially for the friendly staff, location and modern fresh clean room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Gonzalo,

Thanks very much for posting a such a detailed review about your recent stay at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest! We are delighted that you had a memorable time with us and that you were happy with our location, services and staff. Buddha-Bar is well known for being unique and it also includes the special personal care we treat our guests with.
We do appreciate your several comments regarding our services and in-room amenities. We are constantly improving our services to assure the highest standards to our customers, therefor all feedback is important to us, thank you very much for sharing.

It will always be a pleasure to welcoming you again at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest, looking forward to the next occasion!
Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for the Grand Prix having visited the hotel bar the previous year for a drink. The room was comfortable with a difficult to get out of bed. The staff were very friendly too. The bar and the restaurant add an extra circle, the former has a comfortable, friendly atmosphere to relax in while the latter provides excellent Asian fusion food in generous portions with some great wines. Perfect location as well, near the Danube and the metro and Vaci Utca.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear "Sir",

We are always glad to hear about the satisfaction of our customers, but it is a pleasure to receive compliments from a Senior Contributor who travelled all over the world. We do appreciate your time to post a review about your stay during the F1 Race in Budapest! Delighted to hear that after visiting last year for a drink, we had the chance this year to welcome you as a hotel guest as well and that you were happy with your stay!
Thank you very much for your compliments regarding the restaurant and bar as well, glad that you enjoyed your time there.

Do hope that next year you will revisit the Race and it will be a pleasure to host you again at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Address: Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just another hotel, it's a lifestyle..." is the motto of the brand new, fantastically located, truly unique 5-star Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. Dashing luxury and pampering comfort awaits at the 2nd hotel of the world-wide famous, trendy Buddha-Bar concept hotel. It boasts an excellent setting at the foot of the Elisabeth Bridge, in a charming historic building from the 19th century, at the corner of the capital's number-one pedestrian shopping street, Váci utca. Faithful to the brand, a number of exciting dining venues comprehend to the entire Buddha-Bar experience that is a feast for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.