We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our honeymoon.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace to your Saves list
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 328 Hotels in Budapest
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Made our honeymoon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had a fab 3 night stay at this hotel, on a budget city break honeymoon. Had booked to upgrade for one night but after a horrible journey and missing our flights we got to the hotel in the middle of the night, shattered and needing bed. Greated by an excellent member have staff I wish I had taken his name, he was very friendly, helpful and understanding and told us we had been upgraded for the whole of our stay! Which we were over the moon with but we probably didn't seem too enthusiastic as we were so tired. Got to our room to find chilled bubbly, fruit and chocolate which was so lovely!!! Room was beautiful, amazing big bath with fab showers! Bed massive and very very comfy. Good pillows etc unlike some hotels! We didn't feel up to drinking our bubbly so we ordered room service which was great and huge portions! The next day we went exploring and when we got back noticed they took the wine away as we hadn't drank it and in the evening we popped out to the handy little shop right outside and when we got back found that the wine was back in fresh ice, room had been dimly lit and I thought that was a really nice touch! Can't say anything bad about this hotel! Only a shame that the rooftop bar I had read about wasn't open as that we would have liked to visit that! Sounded liked it had amazing views! Hotels location in great, couldn't have asked for better! Staff were really polite and helpful at all times! Conditions of the hotel was lovely. Rooms all very lux with no signs of wear and tear. Cleaning standard was very high! We also got a free drink voucher which we used for a cocktail in the bar after we had eaten in the Thai restaurant which was lovely, great food and staff lovely ! No complaints at all. If anyone from the hotel reads this - thank you for making our stay so memorable. And to anyone thinking of booking, I would definitely recommend and upgrade if you can afford it, the suites are awesome! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Rach,

Many thanks for telling us about your wonderful time with us and we are delighted that we had a chance to make up your honeymoon: Congratulations once again! We are glad to hear that you so much enjoyed your stay with us and that you were both satisfied with our services and your room, as well as with our personnel. Buddha-Bar is different for its personalized service and friendly, attentive staff and it is a pleasure that this was a little addition to your trip!

Many thanks for your recommendations and we only hope that you will choose Budapest again for a future trip and we will be always glad to welcome you to the Buddha-Bar Budapest to repeat the nice memories!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    180
    41
    15
    9
See reviews for
61
373
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The "Buddha-Bar" name was quite appealing when we booked a room. The hotel is an old building conveniently placed by the Danube river. However, its interior has been fully refurbished to adjust to the brand style, which is trendy, but can also transmit a feeling of heaviness with strong colors and mild lighting. In general, I felt the décor was pleasant, our bedroom was roomy and had a high quality sound system. I particularly liked the bathroom style, its little electronic gadgets and stylish shower. The service was friendly and communication in English was facilitated. The downside of our stay was the parking lot, which was distant and required a valet service provided by the hotel. Unfortunately, this service was not available all night, and our car was left parked on the sidewalk, in front of the hotel, in spite of the payment of a charge for indoor parking. Also the cost/benefit ratio could be better if breakfast and parking were included in the rate. We had a good time at the hotel and in Budapest, and we left with a feeling that we should have stayed a few more days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Bacuri,

Thank you very much for your time, telling us about your recent Budapest stay. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable holiday and that we had a chance to contribute. It is always a pleasure to learn about people liking the Buddha-Bar style, especially when it is new to them. Glad that you were satisfied with your room and the amenities that is offered and thank you for your compliments regarding our services and staff. We do our best to cover parking, therefore we have a few parking lots in front of the hotel to ensure parking during the night as well.

We do hope that you will have a chance soon again to return to Budapest and we will be glad to welcome you any time!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The coctails were fantastic and I never met a lot different drink like that. We tried to taste all of the coctails but the night was too short for it. Next time we will continue this project.The bar tenders was so so kind. The music and the mood was unforgetable.We didn't try the rooms but if they are as perfect as the bar is we will use this service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear,

Many thanks for telling us about your nice experience at the Buddha-Bar Lounge! We are happy to hear that you had such a nice evening with us and that you were fond of our cocktail selection. Some of the cocktail creations of our bartenders are a part of the menu of other Buddha-Bar outlets around the world, so you don't have to travel as far as Dubai or London to enjoy the same high-quality service.

Very much looking forward to your next visiit and do hope that this time you will have a chance to stay at the Buddha-Bar Hotel as well.

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

upon arrival, my room was not ready yet, despite it was after the checkin required time, however, and before i think that it was a disappointment, the receptionist who was checking me in, apologized for that incident, and upgraded my booking to the executive floor. i didn't need to feel any inconvenience, it was just smooth, quick, convenient and superb. apart from that, the stay was great, room was spacious and neat, staff very friendly around every corner. a must consider experience. Definitely my next stay in Budapest will be in Buddha-bar hotel. oh, and the music is great as well :-) thanks

Room Tip: the executive floor, the third floor, room was great, spacious, neat with a small balcony overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Sherif,

Many thanks for taking your time to review your stay at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest! We are delilghted to hear that you so much enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our services as well as with our staff. Indeed, executive rooms are really spacious with a homey feeling and therefore are especially convenient for longer stays or for family trips.

We do hope that you will visit Budapest soon again and would love to welcome you again at the Buddha-Bar Hotel!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent a few nights here in June for an internal business meeting. The location of the hotel is very good and the rooms are nice. There is one thing to notice the whole hotel is somewhat "dusk" and all in the color red :-) this give it a very cool atmosphere but also makes it a little bit hard to see small signs (like in the elevator) and find your way around.

The room I had was excellent in all aspects except for lightning :-). Bed was extremely comfortable and bathroom big. Everything in the hotel was spotless and clean (I believe I got an upgrade to a superior or deluxe type of room)

We tried out the restaurant which also turned out to be good and modern (on the Vatci Utca side).

I would recommend this hotel especially to couples who like boutique style hotels. This is absolutely a place I would consider staying at with a girlfriend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Henric,
Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review about your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest experience! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our services. The interior design of the hotel and the restaurant is based on the Buddha-Bar concept where lighting and sound play the main role. Thus you will be able to experience such an atmosphere that you would not find anywhere else but when visiting any Buddha-Bar restaurants around the world or one of the hotels.
Very much looking forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Budapest!
Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was first there as a guest after Le Meridien (SPG) had overbooked their hotel and basically sent me over last minute. I was supposed to stay there for over a month on a project. When I saw Klotild Palace I decided to move there immediately. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and understood exactly what I needed. Besides everything else around is fantastic: design, facilitites, sound system, breakfast, the lounge bar and restaurant...everything;....I travel for a living and this is one of the best hotels I've seen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Mada,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest stay! We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our services! We do our best to provide the "home away from home" feeling and are certainly happy that it works!
Buddha-Bar is always there for you, whenever you are in Budapest!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Klotild Palace Hotel itself was very beautiful and absolutely deserves the 5-star rating it is given. I cannot imagine what the reviewers before me could possibly describe this as anything else but a 5 start establishment.

We had the honor of occupying one of the corner suites. This was very roomy and had many large windows. The insulation is quite good so we did not hear the busy Vaci Utca below us nor were we bothered by the loud construction across the street in front of the hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and entertainment system was very nice. We did not get a fancy toilet as others have noted in previous reviews so if this is an important point for you make sure you discuss with the reservation agent. The rain showers are very nice and we did take a bath once which was a lot of fun in the giant over-sized bathtub.

My only complaint is that the pictures on the website for the hotel indicate that perhaps all corner suites come with a partial view of the Danube. Unfortunately this is not the case. The only partial view we got was of Vaci utca. I must admit this is probably the only reason I cannot justify giving my experience 5 stars. For the money we spent on the 4 nights we stayed here I feel like these type of things should be more clearly described. Alternatively the website could specify those rooms that have the advertised view and perhaps even charge a little extra for it if necessary. Either way more clarity and honesty would be appreciated (perhaps the next time we stay this will be corrected?). Perhaps my issue could have been easily prevented by calling ahead. The staff all speak excellent English! They are also extremely friendly and absolutely wonderful! They helped us find restaurants and helped us with directions numerous times. In fact they recommended one restaurant that was absolutely delicious and we would never have come upon without the recommendation (Aszu Etterem - see my review of that there). The staff really provided everything you would expect from a 5-star hotel treatment.

The bar also was a lot of fun and the entire hotel was just well appointed and beautifully designed. The entire ambiance was spectacular and wonderful! I highly recommend staying here... just call ahead and reserve the room you want! :)

Room Tip: We unfortunately did not have the time to try the spa but it sounded very nice. Although, perhaps a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Zsolt,

Many thanks for your detailed review, telling us about your Budapest experience! We are delighted to hear that you were so much in favour of your stay at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace! Thank you for your nice compliments and we are glad to hear that you had a chance to explore the world of Buddha-Bar from toe to top.
At the same time we would like to thank you for bringing our attention to the misleading photo, we already started to remove them. Corner suites however are very spacious as you described before, with a beautiful airy bathroom, attached to the large room, dominated by a large dragon motif on the wardrobe, covering the entire wall on one side. All modern amenities are there that each room features in the hotel, although toilet and bidet are separate in the bathroom.

Very much looking forward to your forthcoming visit!
Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Address: Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 328 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just another hotel, it's a lifestyle..." Is the motto of the brand new, fantastically located, truly unique 5-star Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. Dashing luxury and pampering comfort awaits at the 2nd hotel of the world-wide famous, trendy Buddha-Bar concept hotel. It boasts an excellent setting at the foot of the Elisabeth Bridge, in a charming historic building from the 19th century, at the corner of the capital's number-one pedestrian shopping street, Vaci utca. Faithful to the brand, a number of exciting dining venues comprehend to the entire Buddha-Bar experience that is a feast for the senses.The owners of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace are Sameer Hamdan and Zuhair Awad, owners and CEOs of Mellow Mood Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Otel, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.