We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant experience- but not perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace to your Saves list
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience- but not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Another fantastic secret escapes deal and much anticipated as I love the Buddha Bar concept.
A great start limo from Airport and seamless booking in with a member of staff showing enthusiastically around our room especially the multi functional toilet! The room colours hidden cupboards and extras were spot on. The ambience enhanced by a well equipped entertainment and business hub which piped soothing Buddha lounge music around the room and bathroom.

Now for the down points the bathroom beautifully equipped and laid out until you have a shower. There is a design fault the shower screen is about 1 foot too narrow so having the rain shower on full floods the bathroom and I mean really floods the bathroom! This effectively reduces you to only having one shower a day because if you had one in the evening 1. You may kill yourself slipping in the almost total darkness slipping on the floor 2. You would have used all your towels to mop up the water. This brings me onto the next thing no heated towel rail. A multi function toilet with heated seat etc. Is fine but I would expect a heated rail.

This out of the way the rooms are well appointed comfortable and most of all peaceful with the curtains closed you can get total peace. The hotel and its young and enthusiastic staff are a credit to the name it holds this was overall an experience I will not forget but as for the slogan in the life not a hotel more a life style..........nearly but could do better.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Jan,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review and to share your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to hear that our refined travellers are fond of our services especially if they are already a fun of the Buddha-Bar concept.
It is a part of the concept that the entire music compilation of the Buddha-Bar is available complimentary on the multi-functional Television set during the whole stay.
Thank you for bringing into our attention your experience with the shower: indeed we are working on finding the perfect solution for this problem and we are sorry that this cast a shadow on your stay.
Glad that you were fond of our attentive staff and certainly hope that we will have another chance to spoil you with a perfect Buddha-Bar holiday in Budapest, in the future.

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    251
    62
    19
    15
See reviews for
84
555
29
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

When we arrived there were some trouble with our room so we got immediatly an upgrade. The staff was incredible and service extraordinary. Our room was AMAZING with oriental deco. The most luxurius room that I have ever lived in. At night we went to the Buddha Bar and restaurang was nice with wonderful food and great service. The hotel is really in centre of budapest so that was great. I have only the best reccomendations to give you and I was 100% happy with my stay. I wil definetly come again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Tanja,

Truly happy to hear about your nice Budapest experience and that you so much enjoyed your stay at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest! Glad that you also visited the Buddha-Bar Restaurant and you were fond of its services and you liked the special Asian-colonial concept of both the hotel and the restaurant.

Looking forward to welcoming you again any time at the Buddha-Bar Budapest to spoil you with another lovely holiday!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel had everything we needed for 3 nights in Budapest. It was centrally located right next to the shopping area and near the White Bridge.

Our room was quite small and as other reviewers have mentioned the ambient lighting took a bit of getting used to! The beds were very comfy - firm and squashy at the same time with thick cotton sheets. The bathroom was great with a funky, electric toilet that provided hours of fun. Toiletries were luxurious. Our room was on the first floor and faced the street. Budapest was quiet.

Breakfast was buffet style with waiter service for hot food. We ate in the Siddharta restaurant one night and it was a bit of a slow experience but they gave us a free dessert to compensate. The staff were great, friendly and helpful from front desk to chambermaids.

The spa was good with sauna and plunge pool. I had an aromatherapy massage that cost about the same as in London but much cheaper than in some hotels I have stayed in.

We had no complaints and would recommend the Buddhabar. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Sue,

Thank you very much for your time, telling us about your nice Budapest stay. We are glad that you were fond of the services of Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest, as well as its unique concept. Thank you for your nice compliments for the breakfast, yes, it is based on a wide buffet selection, combined with an a'la carte menu with a choice of hot dishes. Siddharta Café is the hotel's all-day-dining outlet, with a lovely international food selection, supported by Osama Kutaini executive chef, providing the same proffessional level of dishes as for the Buddha-Bar Restaurant's Asian-Pacific cuisine.
Happy to hear that you also had a chance to try out the Buddhattitude Spa, that provides a wide-selection of treatments and massages, including the special, Buddha-Bar signature treatments.

We will be always glad to welcome you again at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest, hope to have our chance soon.

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Myself and my partner have just recently come back from a short weekend stay at the Buddha Bar Hotel. Firstly its only about a 25min taxi ride away from the airport and in the heart of the city (though not overly busy / crowded).
As soon as the taxi pulled up at the hotel our bags were taken from us, we were shown reception and checked in speedily and with good helpful and professional service from the team at reception. We stayed in room 406 and given this is a "concept hotel" yes we loved the darkness of the place with that modern twist of Asia influences. Concierge who was a very nice young guy showed us our room, how the lights went on, the mini bar, the wardrobe and finally the bathroom. Lovely decent size all in dark red and black, one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. The shower was a big pan size shower head and the electronic toilet seat was highly amusing.
We had breakfast included in the rate and again brilliant services from the guys in the breakfast room, attentive and professional and nothing was ever a problem. The breakfast itself was very nice again with nice little twists.
We eat twice at the hotel first was in the cafe part of the hotel, again fabulous service and delicious food (and we are quite foody types). Then on our last night you are advise to book for the Asian restaurant which we did and wow the food was fantastic and again the waiter / waitress were spot on with there outstanding service.
We also went to the upstairs bar (you must try the Asian Flower Cocktail), a dj plays some good chill out music while the main hostess are very friendly and again so efficient. Again not over busy but maybe because we were out of season?
We also treat ourselves for a full body massage and again the girls down at the spa were very nice and had one of the best full body massages ever.
Once you get your bearings the hotel is around some lovely restaurants and shops, we visited a typical Hungarian restaurant called " Szazeves " just a few mins away (with live gypsy music & great food and service), also we tried the Rudas Spa again worth a visit and also a open top bus ride of the city (though watch out there are loads of bus touts about), but again you can actually buy the tickets at reception.

A big credit to this hotel (some London hotels need to take note of the service here), as its second to none and would certainly recommend for a totally different experience AMAZING!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for taking your time and leaving such a detailed review, we do appreciate it! We are really glad that we had the opportunity to contribute to such a lovely Budapest holiday. It is pleasing to hear that being such a proficient traveller had a chance to explore Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest from toe to top and that you so much enjoyed every part of it and appreciated our sophisticated services. Interesting to know that Budapest is the first Buddha-Bar, that features the Hotel, the Restaurant and Lounge, the Siddharta Café and the Buddhattitude Spa under one roof.

Truly hope that you will return soon to Budapest and we will have a chance to spoil you with another lovely holiday at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest.

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great location right in the centre of Pest in Budapest. The staff were really friendly and helpful at all times. Great value as we paid for 2 nights and staight 3. My friend noticed that there wasn't a hair dryer available since I'm as bold as Bruce Willis it didn't bother me but yes for a 5* hotel there should be one. We also had a lovely walk-in shower in the bathroom. Unfortunately, when showering the whole bathroom got wet. Can't rate the spa as I didn't have time to go. All in all very pleased!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Frankie,

Thank you very much for your time for sharing your nice experience with us and with the community. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest.
Our Stay3, Pay2 promotion is indeed a great value and is still available for a week or so. Very sorry to hear that you missed the hair-dryer, we would like to assure you that it is a basic facility in all rooms below the sink in each bathroom. We will check the rooms to make sure that they are there.

Hope that you will return to Budapest and stay with us again, when you will have opportunity to enjoy a relaxing treatment at the Buddhattitude Spa for perfect relaxation, and of course you shouldn’t miss the Buddha-Bar Restaurant as well.
Looking forward to welcome you again at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest.

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I love this hotel! It is small, cozy, and absolutely beautiful. Perfect for romantic getaways. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is perfect. An easy walk to all the tourist sights and shopping.

Noteworthy is the bathroom with the personalized toilet! You can program the bidet's water temperature and pressure. The seat is always warm too! I miss this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Polar,

Thank you very much for sharing your nice memories with us. We are glad that our services met your refined expectations and that we contributed to your perfect romantic Budapest holiday. Indeed, the location of Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest is just perfect to explore the beauties of Budapest or the hottest nightlife venues.

Truly hope that we will have a chance soon to spoil you again at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest and take you on another journey around the world of Buddha-Bar.

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

we spent 4 nights in the buddha bar hotel and it was beyond our expectations. the hotel is most beautiful and has a perfect location. the staff are so very nice always smiling and willing to help.
the room was very comfertable and plesent, big and with great facillities.. the remoute control in the bathroom was awosome!!
cant wait till we come again.
thank you budhha bar klotiled palace budapest for a great vacation.
Mr & Mrs Farkash.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Farkash,

We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely time at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest and that you so much enjoyed your stay!
We will be more than happy to welcome you again any time!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Address: Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just another hotel, it's a lifestyle..." Is the motto of the brand new, fantastically located, truly unique 5-star Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. Dashing luxury and pampering comfort awaits at the 2nd hotel of the world-wide famous, trendy Buddha-Bar concept hotel. It boasts an excellent setting at the foot of the Elisabeth Bridge, in a charming historic building from the 19th century, at the corner of the capital's number-one pedestrian shopping street, Vaci utca. Faithful to the brand, a number of exciting dining venues comprehend to the entire Buddha-Bar experience that is a feast for the senses.The owners of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace are Sameer Hamdan and Zuhair Awad, owners and CEOs of Mellow Mood Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.