We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, clean but noisy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Treestyle Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Treestyle Hostel to your Saves list
Treestyle Hostel
Wesselenyi utca 32, Budapest 1077, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 508 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Sao Leopoldo, RS
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New, clean but noisy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed at Treestyle Hostel in November 2012 for 5 nights. The facilities were very new and the shower was amazing. But the staff is not very helpful. I think the main lady at the reception did not speak good English. The kitchen has all necessary appliances to cook. The bad thing about this hostel is the noise from the guests. It’s a party hostel. Guests used to stay in the common kitchen drinking, laughing and talking very loudly until after midnight. They would return from the party around 4am or 5am again laughing and talking very loudly. I complained after two nights, but the men at the reception told me something like: “Yes, they were very noisy but, you know, they were having fun. I cannot say anything to them, because they are also our guests”. In the morning, the kitchen was full of cans and dirty glasses over the tables. So if you are a party person, you will have fun there. But if you want to wake up early, I suggest you choose another place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
1
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The first strange thing about this hostel is that we booked for a place called "A Lonely Girl on the Planet," and when we got there, there was no sign, and we had to ask the people coming out if this was the right place. Turns out they have changed the name to Treestyle, which is strange but not so bad. On to the rooms! So there is no air conditioning in the room, and we were in a 6-bed dorm that was super hot, so you have to leave the window open to the noisy street. One night a car alarm went off all night, between that and the drunk people and the heat in the room, we got no sleep. And then they have this stupid design where everytime someone walks into the hallway the light comes on, and for some reason someone thought it was a great idea to have transparent windows, so the light was brightly shining through all night as well, to go with the heat and noise. So three nights of no sleep, this is also a party hostel, which is fine if its what you are looking for, but I was with my brother and in no other hostel did I feel like I was walking into a den of wolves like I did around the guys staying at this one. Also some of the ladies on the staff were really rude, there were a couple nice ones but its poor customer service to smart off someone who is paying your salary. We were travelling around Europe, stayed at ten hostels, and this was the absolute worst, avoid like the plague, unless you want rude staff, loud noise, and stifling hot rooms!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Fantastic hostel! If you want to socialise, this is the hostel for you. Located really close lots of great ruin bars and clubs and within walking distance to other daytime sights. Staff are very helpful and accommodating. Each night one member of staff takes everyone out to different bars and clubs - we met so many people in this hostel. Rooms are standard with reading light and small shelf. Toilets and showers are good. Maybe not a great hostel for those who don't want to party.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Loved our stay here- straightforward instructions to the hostel began our stay nicely, and the receptionist insisted we settle in and recooperate before having to pay etc- a lovely friendly welcome! The rooms were great- free lockers, big windows, individual reading lights, plugs and shelves for each bed. Brill facilities, large fully stocked kitchen, and more than enough showers and toilets which were obviously newly installed and pristine. The staff made this hostel- despite the no noise after 10 rule due to noise complaints from neighbours (although we were never told to be quiet by staff) to make up for this, every night a different staff member would gather everyone in the smoking room and take us to amazing local bars and clubs- a great way to meet the other people staying in the hostel and find hidden 'ruin bars'- we always had a great night! The desk is 24 hours, and the staff were so helpful in every situation- a friend had to be taken to hospital and they helped out in any way they could- translating and giving advice. Wonderful place and I havent even mentioned the unbelievable price and location! Minutes from the centre and all the best bars and clubs including the famous Szimpla bar and Instant club.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here this summer with a group of friends for my bachelor party. We of course did not spend much of the weekend in the hostel as we were there to party and socialise but the time we did spend there was peaceful, friendly and calm. There was also a mix-up with the booking (which was totally my fault!) but the staff were very kind and found a way to solve the problem with minimal fuss! As a budget accomodation in central Budapest i would definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Valentino, Marta, and Szuszana happily helped me out in so many ways during my fantastic stay at this lovely hostel. They really care about their guests and ensuring they are happy and comfortable. Fast and free internet, hot showers with good water pressure, rooms with windows, and a smoking room so non-smokers are not affected.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Treestyle Hostel in Budapest, Hungary is located in a fantastic spot in the Jewish district...a lively area with bar, restaraunts, and shops. It's walking distance to just about anything you'd want to do, but if you're not up for walking, there are also trams, three metro lines, and buses that run throughout the city so you're just a short distance from those.

The hostel itself is in an older building in the city, but work has been done/is currently being done to update. The lobby area is small, but they do have a computer you are free to use and if you bring your own, they have free wifi. The staff is extremely polite and helpful in suggesting things to do, places to eat, etc.

The rooms are divided into bunks for girls, guys, and some mixed rooms. They may also have private accommodations, but you'd have to check with them on this to be sure. The bunk I stayed in was a 6 person female bunk. The beds were occupied the whole time I visited but the space was fine. There was a personal shelf at each bunk with an electric outlet and the bathrooms were just outside the room. There were three toilets on my hall and two or three showers. If I had any complaint at all it would be that the bathrooms and showers were a bit dirty. I understand there were 80+ people staying at the hostel when I visited, but if booked to capacity, more staff should have been called in to clean. The showers had lots of hair in the drain and the bathrooms (toilets) had trash bins overflowing.

The kitchen was fine and had all necessary appliances one might need. I only bought some fruit and yogurt for breakfast so I didn't use the majority of the kitchen, but it's nice that it's there. The lighting was really dim in the kitchen and throughout the hostel but it wasn't bad enough to cause any issues.

Overall, the location and the hospitable staff made it worth visiting the hostel and if I were at a loss for places to stay again in Budapest, I'd go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treestyle Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treestyle Hostel

Address: Wesselenyi utca 32, Budapest 1077, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 508 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are visiting Budapest and looking for a friendly place to stay in, in the heart of the city, there is no need to look any further. The Treestyle Hostel is an eco-friendly, clean, recently renovated hostel awaiting guests for more than 2 years now. Clean rooms, never-ending supply of hot water, comfortable beds, free WIFI, a well equipped dining and common rooms make our hostel an ideal place to stay while visiting Budapest.Most of the inner-city sights and tourist-locations are close by and reaching these public transportation stops couldn't be easier. We are just 3 minutes away from the main metro lines, night buses and trams, so we provide an ideal base for exploring not only Budapest's rich past but it's vibrant, colorful present as well, like the beautiful building of the Parliament or the Basilica and many more which are well worth the visit.Our friendly staff is always at your disposal to help you with directions or just ask us about the current events which are around the city are ones that you don't want to miss out on.We care about the environment; we live in a “Treestyle” way using environmental friendly methods in housekeeping and cleaning.We are just 5 minutes away from the world famous ruin pubs in a city that barely ever sleeps. We are the perfect place for people looking to have some fun and explore the capital city of Hungary.Please note : Minimum night stay : 2 nightsCancellation policy : 24hCheck in : 15.00Check out : 11.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Treestyle Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treestyle Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.