We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Monuments to the Past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kerepesi Cemetery

Kerepesi Cemetery
Fiumei ut 16, Budapest 1086, Hungary
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 230 Attractions in Budapest
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
Attraction details
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Monuments to the Past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Kerepesi is more than a cemetery. It's laid out more like a park than a cemetery. It's also very peaceful, despite being close to a busy road.
For a long time it was closed to public burials and only high ranking and policial official were allowed to be buried there. Nearly all have a statue/monument as a gravestone.
As you go in, on the left the first graves are a memorial to some of those killed in 1956 uprising - the people were all so young.
The two great mausaleums are very ornate and there are some strange statues throughout the cemetery.
Look out for the woman holding a skull, and the large bird headstone (goto the mausaleums, turn left and walk to the end of the avenue of trees)
Easily spent 2-3 hours wandering around, listening to the birds singing, taking photos and enjoying the works of art.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“You must make time to stop here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I know the question: What's the big deal about a cemetery? But this place is part park, part open-air museum, and part Budapest history lesson. I visited here several years ago for less than an hour and felt like I missed so much. This time, I literally wandered the grounds for hours marveling at the statues -- some beautiful, many extremely eerie. Entire sections are devoted to students killed during the 1956 revolution. A number of their gravestones include fading photos. There is a museum on the grounds as well that offers a look at Hungarian burial traditions. Displays include horse-drawn hearses and colorfully decorated caskets. This is a unique experience that is off the well-trod tourist path, but it will be one of the highlights of a visit to Budapest. The cemetery is so large that you will be able to appreciate it in peace, with no crowds. The experience will remain with you after others have faded. A map (in Hungarian) is available at the gate.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Delighted I went”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Final day of a one week holiday in Budapest, and decided to do the cemetery not expecting much. It's actually a really great cemetery, huge, with some interesting sculptural works. Not as good as Mirogoj in Zagreb, but perhaps on par with Pere Lachaise, though Kerepesi is much more spread out. A bit out of the way, but free to enter, and I only saw 3 other people in the two hours I walked around. Stumbled across Odon Lechner's grave (Hungary's 'Gaudi') by chance, and I'm sure there are plenty of other interesting and famous residents, though my guide book didn't even mention the cemetery.

You can enter on the West side. The whole area as per Google maps in the cemetery, though the Northern section is presently undergoing some kind of construction. Large sections are unfilled, and several sections are the normal bland gravestones, but there are perhaps 1,000-1,500 interesting grave stones. Drinks machine at entrance, and a flower-seller.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overwhelming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I really got overwhelmed....
Visited other big and known cemeteries but this one is different.
Lots of statues full of emotions on the old graves.
The grave of Blaha Lujza is the most beautiful I've ever seen and it really touched me.
Go there, look around and get impressed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Massive green cemetery/park with impressive tombs, but located in less pretty area of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We visited this cemetery during winter and snowfall, which added a sad but real atmosphere to it.
It's a huge clean, quiet, silent and green walking area, almost a parc, with massive tombs and monuments, surrounded by bigger buildings however but you don't have the impression as the cemetery is really that big (i guess 1000*1000 meters).
It's authentic, as you won't find many tourists here, as the place is located in a less pretty and more "industrial suburb" environment (subway = Keleti), although we did not feel unsafe or so, it just a less pretty area.
But don't let this put you off, if you enjoy a little bit of "adventure" and want to see something nice off the beaten track, then please do visit this place

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kerepesi Cemetery also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Kerepesi Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerepesi Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.