We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must make time to stop here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kerepesi Cemetery

Kerepesi Cemetery
Fiumei ut 16, Budapest 1086, Hungary
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 341 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“You must make time to stop here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I know the question: What's the big deal about a cemetery? But this place is part park, part open-air museum, and part Budapest history lesson. I visited here several years ago for less than an hour and felt like I missed so much. This time, I literally wandered the grounds for hours marveling at the statues -- some beautiful, many extremely eerie. Entire sections are devoted to students killed during the 1956 revolution. A number of their gravestones include fading photos. There is a museum on the grounds as well that offers a look at Hungarian burial traditions. Displays include horse-drawn hearses and colorfully decorated caskets. This is a unique experience that is off the well-trod tourist path, but it will be one of the highlights of a visit to Budapest. The cemetery is so large that you will be able to appreciate it in peace, with no crowds. The experience will remain with you after others have faded. A map (in Hungarian) is available at the gate.

Visited April 2013
1 Thank MarcInSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delighted I went”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Final day of a one week holiday in Budapest, and decided to do the cemetery not expecting much. It's actually a really great cemetery, huge, with some interesting sculptural works. Not as good as Mirogoj in Zagreb, but perhaps on par with Pere Lachaise, though Kerepesi is much more spread out. A bit out of the way, but free to enter, and I only saw 3 other people in the two hours I walked around. Stumbled across Odon Lechner's grave (Hungary's 'Gaudi') by chance, and I'm sure there are plenty of other interesting and famous residents, though my guide book didn't even mention the cemetery.

You can enter on the West side. The whole area as per Google maps in the cemetery, though the Northern section is presently undergoing some kind of construction. Large sections are unfilled, and several sections are the normal bland gravestones, but there are perhaps 1,000-1,500 interesting grave stones. Drinks machine at entrance, and a flower-seller.

Visited April 2013
Thank pooyousir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I really got overwhelmed....
Visited other big and known cemeteries but this one is different.
Lots of statues full of emotions on the old graves.
The grave of Blaha Lujza is the most beautiful I've ever seen and it really touched me.
Go there, look around and get impressed.

Visited March 2013
Thank raffert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Massive green cemetery/park with impressive tombs, but located in less pretty area of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We visited this cemetery during winter and snowfall, which added a sad but real atmosphere to it.
It's a huge clean, quiet, silent and green walking area, almost a parc, with massive tombs and monuments, surrounded by bigger buildings however but you don't have the impression as the cemetery is really that big (i guess 1000*1000 meters).
It's authentic, as you won't find many tourists here, as the place is located in a less pretty and more "industrial suburb" environment (subway = Keleti), although we did not feel unsafe or so, it just a less pretty area.
But don't let this put you off, if you enjoy a little bit of "adventure" and want to see something nice off the beaten track, then please do visit this place

Visited February 2013
Thank Peter VDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
376 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 791 helpful votes
“Great cemetery but does not compare to Paris and New Orleans.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I was looking very forward to seeing this old cemetery. I finally found it and walked in and although I enjoyed looking at all of the interesting art sculptures that adorned each tomb, I was not "blown away" as much as the cemeteries in Paris and New Orleans.

If you are really into cemeteries, this may be a great visit for you. However, if I were in Budapest and only had less than a week, I would concentrate on other sites.

All in all, it is worth a visit but certainly nothing too spectacular. I am adding photos of some of the more interesting and beautiful artwork and sculptures you may encounter.

Of notes, this attraction is not near most other tourist attractions and will take up a few hours of your day as it is a little bit removed from the city.

Thank traveler4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kerepesi Cemetery also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary

Been to Kerepesi Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerepesi Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.