We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at best! - keep clear” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fekete Hollo Etterem

Fekete Hollo Etterem
1014 Budapest, Orszaghaz utca 10, Budapest, Hungary
+36 1 356 2367
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,021 of 1,865 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Hungarian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best! - keep clear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The only positive was the pleasant ambience of sitting outside. That was very nice. Server DID NOT make clear that any 'garnishes' with entrees were extra, eg. potatoes with my Budapest Steak and extra 700 Florint! Same amount extra for the terrible bits of dumpling with her Hungarian Goulash. Was very expensive and not particularly good - a big disapointment for our first evening meal in Budapest. Also the check was 'blackened' to obscure an auto 10% tip - if I would have realised I would have asked them to remove tip. Don't go and waste your money - there are too many others to choose from. Also the Sprite was just fizzy -no syrup, my beer, however, was good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    9
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Strange....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Not such a good experience. The interior is strange and not realy clean. We ordered, but die not get what we ordered... Miscommunication :-(. After a while mucussians came in, something we are not that into. The food was not what we expected, not so qualitative.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place and decided to give it a go. The food was amazing and really big portions. We sat out on the terrace to eat, lovely location next to the church. The string trio were good except for their need to go round asking for drinks and tips...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pori, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Nothing negative to say about this restaurant; they know what they're doing and they're good at it. The service was friendly, the food was delicious and it came quite quickly, the portions were big and the atmosphere was very nice. There were some musicians playing on the terrace, but they didn't come too close to the tables, so it was a pleasure listening to them. A restaurant worth eating at, while you're in Budapest!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and personalised music!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

To sit on the terrace of this liitle gem of a restaurant on a hot night with a bottle of local white wine in an ice bucket, whilst the jazz trio played beside our table was quite an experience. Although we could have done without the fiddler's suggestion that we buy the band a drink, after we had already bought their CD, this was a memorable evening (and my main course of Sole was superb)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fekete Hollo Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Fekete Hollo Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fekete Hollo Etterem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.