We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere in the heart of Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szazeves Etterem

Szazeves Etterem
Piarista u. 2, Budapest 1052, Hungary
+36 1 230 0329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #335 of 1,780 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $12 - $49
Cuisines: Hungarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The 100 Years Old Restaurant which is hosted the oldest restaurant in Budapest in 1831, opened in the heart of the ground floor of a baroque palace. 80 Guests can enjoy the finest Hungarian and international cuisine and the most excellent wines from Hungary in the contemporary atmosphere, rustic furnishing and an elegant environment. In the evening candlelight and pleasant gypsy music completes the gastronomic experience.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere in the heart of Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have really enjoyed my stay in Budapest, especially the dinner that we had in Szazeves Etterem restaurant. As I have mentioned it in the title, the atmosphere was amazing, and the service was perfect. It was my first time in Hungary and I haven't tried any Hungarian meals before, but now I can tell you it's extremely delicious, and the wine was great. I really recommend this restaurant for everyone. Skål! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    117
    42
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice dinner in Budapest!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We we're here last weekend from Romania and we had a great time. We sow that was very much people but the waiters was very kind with us and they told us it will be a little longer time to wait for the food. The meal was so nice and tasty. We will go there next time again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a nice dinner in this restaurant. The food was delicious, the stuff was hospitable.
The live Hungarian music made unforgettable memory. I recommend to everyone!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything was as I've expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Last week we have spent a hole week in Budapest with my family and a hungarian freind of mine told me to go there

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zadar, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“what a disappointment!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We (a group of 6 people) went there based on the recommandation read on your pages. Service was terrible, slow and indifferent, like they hated us there. They let us to bring together 2 tables so we can all sit together by ourseleves, we had to ask for the missing forks more than few times!!! The food was average, not bad but nothing special, the only thing that saved the evening was nice live music played by group of musicians. I would say: go there only if you are very hungry and every other restaurant in Budapest center is closed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szazeves Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szazeves Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szazeves Etterem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.