We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupendo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Book Cafe - Lotz Terem

Book Cafe - Lotz Terem
Andrassy ut 39, Budapest 1061, Hungary
1 461 5830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 92 Shopping in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
rome
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stupendo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Wonderful venue for a coffee and cake as the locals do! Amazing place ! Hungarians are very attent to cultural events and appreciate a place like this more than others
Amazing painted ceilings and mirrors courteous staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    237
    58
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely Café”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

It isn't a secret anymore: visit this place, order coffee, tea or one of the many hot chocolate varieties and eat some cake (!!!) - you won't regret it. There a lots of differents newspapers (most of them in Hungary but some in English too) you can read and have a nice coffee break by enjoying the beautiful surroundings.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Got Chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My partner and I made a spontaneous decision to come to Budapest. We've loved everything the city has to offer. Trip advisor recommended this library so we thought we'd give it a try. We asked the waiter what to sample and he recommended the traditional hot chocolate. We were not disappointed in the slightest. So rich and leaving us wanting more. A must in Budapest. Good value for money as well!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful restoration, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Wether you visit for lunch or just for a coffee, this is a beautiful location in one of the biggest bookshops in Budapest. Apparently the building is over 100 years old and the cafe was restored to this level of opulence about 10 years ago. Great choice of coffees, hot chocolates and cakes and comfy seats and sofas

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A beautiful cafe in a beautiful city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I heard a lot about this cafe so when i was in budapest i decided to pay it a visit.
The atmosphere was great. There wer fabulous drawings on the ceiling and on the walls. The food was great and was not expensive. i ordered traditional hungarian food and it was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Book Cafe - Lotz Terem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Book Cafe - Lotz Terem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Book Cafe - Lotz Terem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.