We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old style bookstore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Book Cafe - Lotz Terem

Book Cafe - Lotz Terem
Andrassy ut 39, Budapest 1061, Hungary
1 461 5830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 92 Shopping in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
luton
Level Contributor
192 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“old style bookstore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

they sell books and they make books
my daughter bought a handmade journal for around £15
you dont see anything like this in the UK anymore
very friendly staff

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    235
    58
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice book cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The pretty part of the bookstore is actually the cafe. Food is not as cheap as other places in budapest, but still reasonable. I had a goulash soup which was good and a toast with salad. Portions are quite small though (but afterall its only a cafe). Do pay a visit and maybe have a cup of coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Otherwise known as The Bookcafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a really surprising place which I would recommend you visit if you like coffee and cake! As far as the book store goes this is very big and appears to be very well stocked. The international section was not too big and my hungarian is not too good so it was just aswell that I had gone there in search of 'the bookcafe'
Take the escalator upwards and you arrive at a wonderful cafe serving the most delicious coffe and cakes we found in Budapest. The staff, as elsewhere in the city were very friendly and spoke good english. There is a wide range of cakes to choose from and once you have selected the waiters will then recommend a coffee/drink to suit your chosen cake. Just like a wine sommelier. I had the Tofifee (caramel and nuts cream cake which was huge but thankfully very light) and my husband went for Chocolate cake which he enjoyed but was much richer than some of the other varieties, The coffees which we were advised to order complemented the cakes perfectly.
Delicous food and drink served by friendly staff in a unique setting and all for a really bargain price. Another MUST SEE when in Budapest.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If I hadn't seen it I wouldn't believe it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great coffee. Your choice of bean, even! Excellent service; and the decor more suited to the Cistine Chapel!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfull suroundings, food was disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to the Alexandra bookstore today for lunch. The café was absolutely beautiful and it was very relaxing and nice. The staff was friendly. The food was sadly disappointing. We had a sandwich and a cesar salad, ok, but not good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Book Cafe - Lotz Terem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Book Cafe - Lotz Terem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Book Cafe - Lotz Terem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.