We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exploring budapest by bike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bikebase Budapest

Bikebase Budapest
Podmaniczky utca 19., Budapest 1065, Hungary
+36-1-269-59-83
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 287 Activities in Budapest
Type: Gear rentals
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bikebase rents a wide variety of bicycles: city, cross, touring & mtb. Sells new & second hand bikes and all kinds of equipments & accessories for cyclists.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
“exploring budapest by bike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Easy to find bike-shop with good, reliable bikes and very helpfull staff! They will help you to see the best of Budapest on a bike of your choice. I highly recommend Bikebase Budapest for a nice bike trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

When I came to Budapest for one semester to study, I knew I would want a bike to get around! I was prepared to visit a few shops and compare prices, and Bikebase was my first stop. The service was great and the prices were fair - so I just ended up buying a great used road bike from them. They gave me a deal on a good lock and told me it is possible to sell it back to them at the end of my semester. Bikebase has a large selection of used bikes and a student-friendly price and I would recommend purchasing from them because they also provide a few free services which have come in handy, such as air for tires and fixing loose parts. The bike has been a life saver here in Budapest and let me see more of the city without the hassle of trams and metros. Recommended service at Bikebase!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“simply excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My first contact was by email asking for the availability of around 15 bikes for a date. The answer was fast and clear, with all information required, even more. They reserved bikes and there was no need of deposit. The bikes were wonderful and they selected them taking in account your height and asking you if you preferred another one. The staff is very friendly and they gave us a map and explained us how to get the place we wanted to arrive. In addition, they lend you some stuff so if you have any problem you can fix it.
In conclusion: good quatity of bikes and wide range of them, perfect attention and good prize.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, Overijssel, Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bike rental Budapest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Completely new bikes, easy to find, good price and helpful employees. What more can you ask for a splendid trip in Budapest?

Compliments!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Donauradweg Great 2nd hand bikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We cycled the Danube in 2012 and bought 2nd hand bikes here as it looked tricky to hire bikes east of Hungary. They were the best bikes we've ever had (we're not biking jocks though) and got us to the Black Sea fine, where we gave them away (still cheaper than hiring bikes all the way, even if we had been able to). Really helpful English speaking staff. We found it easy to find hotels to look after our bikes when we had to come back to England a couple of times for work.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bikebase Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Bikebase Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bikebase Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.