We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Hungarian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arnyas Restaurant & Garden

Arnyas Restaurant & Garden
16 dios arok, Budapest, Hungary
36 1 212 5681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #922 of 1,990 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: European, Hungarian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traditional Hungarian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This over 100 year old restaurant still prepares typical Hungarian dishes as it should be. You will not find a better place in Budapest.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy, homelike, a bit gourmet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Liked beeing here. Dishes were delicious, well-prepared and looked nice. Atmosphere is as homelike and retro as at your granny's friends'
STRONGLY recommend reservation, especially when it is cold and weekend day. They are usually full inside on these moments and do not serve outside because it's cold.
Dishes looked a bit gourmet, no so " big hungarian" portions, but 1/2 appetiser 1 main course and 1/2 dessert was more than enough for one girl or one guy in their 20s.
Prices are neither small nor big: average per person is indicated above so for two it was 30-35 euro.
Sometimes I will return to the restaurant with new people. It was a good try.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Restaurant " ARNYAS" located on the Buda side of Budapest. It has a nice garden ( covered in case of rain). Size like a family restaurant. They have an excellent cuisine. Few Hungarian traditional and lot of salad, vegetarian food. Very nice variety of different meat as well. They have 2 very valuable menu from Monday to Friday every day.
Check the homepage on the internet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Please change the name and put a photo beside the title”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The real name of the restaurant in English is: Árnyas Restaurant & Garden which means:
Shady Restaurant & Garden
Please correct the name of the restaurant. There are photos loaded from me but there is no photo beside the title, please őut it there.
A real Hungarian Cuisine with awesome food and excellent service.
Outside: huge old chestnut trees
Inside : ovenfire and old pictures and different old things on the wall
It was really fantastic to be there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
222 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a wonderful evening at the Arnyas Restaurant in Budapest, on the Buda side of the river. We spent the evening with two special Hungarian friends. What a beautiful spot to spend the evening. Great friends and great food. Having something cooked on the grill when we are so far from home was a great feeling. Everything we had was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful in making our selection. When we left everyone came out to say goodbye to us. We will return.

My wife and I both had grilled pork steak with special seasonings and fried potatoes with onions. Wow.

We took bus 128 from Szell Kalman Ter and got off on the 5th stop. Right in front of the restaurant. How easy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnyas Restaurant & Garden also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Arnyas Restaurant & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnyas Restaurant & Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.