We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mester Restaurant and Palinka House

Mester Restaurant and Palinka House
Mester utca 13., Budapest 1095, Hungary
+36 (1) 215 0139
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #991 of 1,584 restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Hungarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Visited here on 22nd August 2012. The waitress was more than helpful, recommended specials and gave us a complimentary drink of palinka. The food was beautifully presented and tasted as good and the coffee was also really good.

I don't know if they have this every night but they also had a little band on which added to the atmosphere. Very good quality and would definitely recommend :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    17
    10
    4
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunaharaszti
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, homey atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The dinner we had was just divine! Yummy pork medallions, duck breast, good wine... and all these crowned by gipsy music. :-) Love the place.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I just went there to celebrate my birthday with my friends. The place has a lovely atmosphere.
The food was great, really tasty. I had pork tenderloins with smoked cheese and garlic sour cream. The meat melted in my mouth. My husbands steak was perfect.
The waiter was very kind with us.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the best...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

This is one of the best restaurants in Budapest.
Authentic Hungarian kitchen, and kind staff. Downstairs is non smoking and upstairs there is the smoking area. The food is really good. I have been there now for the 4th time and will be back soon!
If you want traditional Hungarian food, and want to try some good palinka, go to Zsindelyes.
You will not regret it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good Food but Ripped Off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel. It has a nice atmostphere but we were ripped off. The food was very good but our bill was tripled from what it should have been. Two of us shared a platter of typical Hungarian food and the bill came to the equivalent of $96.00. Two other folks in our tour were also ripped off.

Instead, try fabios Pizza across the street for good pizza and fair prices.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mester Restaurant and Palinka House also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Mester Restaurant and Palinka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mester Restaurant and Palinka House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.