We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in a pleasant atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chess Restaurant

Chess Restaurant
Dob street 63., Budapest 1074, Hungary
00-36-1-8823080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 1,783 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: French, Hungarian, Italian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Italian –French-Hungarian Bistro cuisineTradition & Evolution Our Executive Chef, Levente Kovacs thinks this way about our cuisine:“The youthful and modern bistro cuisine is my world, it can renew day by day, it combines the gastronomic ‘lifestyle’ of different places in the world, even on one plate, in a way that, I don't use hundreds of spices with each other, but I’m trying to create exciting contrasts. I do a kind of kitchen minimal-design because simple can be great also. It causes difficulties sometimes for me to not to put all my ideas into one dish. I’m trying to use the raw materials as they were given to me by nature itself, changing only as much as I need. And then we get to a point, where simple is not so simple anymore. Ease and great tasting harmony in life, in the kitchen and on the plate.Simple is hard. Enjoy!”What else can we say? The Chess Restaurant is an intimate place in black and white, absolutely a place to get together frequently, where You can try new dishes day by day with it’s always renewing kitchen creativity, served simply and clearly.The Chess Restaurant opened, it’s Your move now!
Tubingen, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We enjoyed a dinner for two at Chess Restaurant and tried both regular menu items and specials. Everything we ate was delicious and creative. We especially liked the fish options (the butterfish was excellent) and the soups. We would have tried dessert, but couldn't eat any more!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    119
    46
    21
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent steak, amazing chocolate soufflé, free champagne! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We both had the tenderloin which was an amazing piece of meat! Tender, tasty and very tasty hollandaise sauce. The house offered us an appetizer and a glass of champagne as well. And The chocolate soufflé was the best chocolate dessert i have ever had!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
INagy, Owner at Chess Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Jessica D,

thank you for taking the time writing your experience about us. I am happy to read that you find excellent our steak and the chocolate souflé!
I am sure that at your next visit in Chess Restaurant you would enjoy our other dishes as well - and hopefully we could deserve a perfect rating next time in your review!

Best regards from Budapest,

Istvan Nagy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“beautiful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Chose chess due to proximity to our hotel (hotel nemzeti). It was literally 20 yards from andrassy avenue. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. Staff spoke excellent English and catered to our every need without being intrusive and over the top. I had the tomato soup to start which was more than I bargained for- a very posh tomato soup, and the duck for main which was fantastic. My fiance chose the goulash soup for start and the hare for main, both of which were beautiful. We were greeted with a glass of crisp champagne and an appetizer which consisted of sweet bread, goose pate and a sweet onion marmalade all for free!! I chose pannacotta with rhubarb for dessert and my fiance finished with a cappuccino. All of this plus a bottle of Hungarian white for 15000ft including service ( approx 40 quid). Amazing value and service, would defintely recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passau, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing venue don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was there with my girlfriend on the 1st of January 2013. It was really quiet, maybe 2-3 tables were occupied from the total of a about 10-12. I had a four course menu: a salad with shrimps, aubergine creme soup, tenderloin steak and chocolate sufle. Each bite was fantastic! Normally I don't like the taste of shrimps, but the way it was prepared here was amazing. Even the toast served with the salad had something special! The staff was also great, they offered a glass of champagne and venison pâté on the house.

We had an amazing dinner, many thanks to the whole staff of the Chess Restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INagy, Owner at Chess Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Ulyanov89,

Thank you for your complimentary words about us, I will let my team know that you liked us that much!

Unfortunately I cannot share here, what is the "secret ingredient" in the salad with shrimp or how we do the toast - but believe there is a secret! (No, not like in the Kung fu Panda...:-)).

I hope to see you soon in Chess and we can discuss the "secrets".

Best Regards,
István Nagy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barlad, Romania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
377 helpful votes 377 helpful votes
“it was my move...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

An elegant restaurant, set in a gorgeous black and white game, with an attentive staff in an atmosphere that brings French bistros.
My menu, all excellent:
- balsamic tomato soup with walnut pesto and pecorino cheese;
- beef tenderloin steak with sun-dried tomato cannelloni and truffle arugula (absolutely TO DIE FOR!);
- dessert: chocolate souffle with passion fruit cream and vanilla ice cream;
- wine: Szekszardi Merlot 2011 (Heimann Pince).
The flawless service and exquisite menu make you want to return here. A memorable evening in a beautiful city!
Tip: book an advance, like me, it is very crowded, for reasons easy to guess...
Strongly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INagy, Owner at Chess Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Mateesescu,

I really appreciate your feedback and thank you for this "move". Reading your review, it seems we did not checkmate your stomach, so we will be happy to welcome you again anytime you are visiting Budapest!

Kind regards,

Istvan NAGY
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chess Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Chess Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chess Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.