We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar!

Sugar!
1061, Paulay Ede Utca 48, Budapest, Hungary
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 64 Dessert in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
brasov,romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“absolutely love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

this place somewhat near the centre. it isn't that easy to find, but google maps will take you there.
now...if you've found it, you'll see that it looks amazing!!! the place just screams kids' heaven. it's all colorful and every element in design features some link to candy, sweets or cakes. (the bathroom sink is m&ms casted)

now for the cakes...they are divine i tell you. all shapes and tastes. very attractive and very yummy!

they also have a shop that features candy, sweets and funny gifts.

i go there every time when i'm in budapest. the longer the stay the more visits i make per stay:)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    37
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome birthday cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Before coming to Budapest, I e-mailed the Sugar! shop to order two cakes. My e-mail communications with the company representative was excellent and prompt. The staff at Sugar! are very capable of written and verbal English communications.

I ended up getting a "fancy" design for the cakes that represented two flower pots. I requested some custom writing on the side of the pots. The cake was sized to feed 7, but we had enough left over to feed 4 more. When I picked it up, it looked exactly like what I saw on their website. It looked awesome! When we finally tasted it, the taste was delicious!

Price-wise, I got an excellent value for the cakes. For the same price in the US, I would only likely get a plain, rectangular cake the size of a laptop with a standard writing.

Also, they accept credit cards, so it was definitely a plus, since I misjudged how much cash I had with me.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Satisfy your sweet tooth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ice cream, cakes, candy - all delicious and so beautifully presented. Definitely one of the best dessert places in Budapest.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great macarons!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beautiful little store with lovely desserts. Lots of candy to choose from but watch out for some unusual flavors! Instead, try the macarons - intensely-flavored crispy cookie sandwiches with delicious fillings. Our fav: passion fruit chocolate. Also loved the milk rice bar (like rice pudding) - passion fruit also recommended.

Don't miss the bathrooms upstairs!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
“Wanna stay here for try all dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Great food and atmosphere. Local traditional desserts and some very special. I think I'll return here for several times. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar! also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Sugar!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.