We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not really a 4*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Green Hotel to your Saves list
Green Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kerepesi ut 34, Budapest 1148, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not bad but not really a 4*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice a modern interiror, friendly staff, location is not far from centre about 20min on metro. Metro is about 5 min walk from the hotel.Nice size rooms very spacious.

Breakfast is not very nice, cereal bread and lots of paprika flavoured stuff. Few things did not work in the room i.e light in bathroom (which was reported and not fixed), the safe (but was ok to use one in reception). Was generally clean but dust on the side (they did not clean it everyday more of tidy up.

Not bad for price paid but not the best I have stayed in. Be careful of city tax which works out about 2000 HUF each person.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    27
    10
    15
See reviews for
11
26
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
burnley
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

No way is this hotel a 4 star hotel. I had high expectation of this hotel, when really it is just like a room in a travel lodge. Probably worse. There is no main area where you can sit and no bar. We there is, but it is only open at dinning times which are limited.
The area round the hotel is very poor and there are homeless people and tramps hanging around. Although it is only 4 tube stops from central Budapest, if you go there during the day time you can't be bothered to go all that way back in the evening.
The hotel is clean, but the cleaners are very nosy and some of the guests are very noisy. Because they are usually only staying there for one night they are not bothered about upsetting anyone.
The receptionist were excellent and helpful.
The breakfast was not worth the money charged.
I would not stay here again. Prefer somewhere nearer to Budapest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I do not think this is 4* hotel, good 3*. We had higher expactations.

Here is couple facts:

We have visited this hotel with our two children. At the begining they said the hotel is non smoking. Personal, older man, at breakfast buffet smoked just in front of customers! In non smoking hotel. We were upset of personal in restaurant, they were eating in front of customers! Very unproffesional.

On the other way - AC was working, yound dark hair lady at front desk was very helpfull and nice, proffesional. Room was clean, one light in bathroom did not work, refrig. did not work too, rooms are dark, aso bathroom is dark. Old towels but comfortable beds, also for our kids.

Breakfast buffet - not tasty, not good. Have seen better in 3*.

Outside neighbourhood of the hotel is very weird, homeless people etc. I was afraid to walk out by my self.

Close is Cosmo grill - nice china fastfoon, walking 5 minutes, acros street of burger king.

There is underground garage - very dark, and full of rabish, more like bin... scary and with bad smell.

Location - 4 stops by tube, 10 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel staff are all very friendly even suggested some trips to take which were great value. the hotel is a little out of the city centre . there is however a metro stop near by which takes about 10min to get to city centre costing about 320huf.

The hotel is very clean and new. there are 2 hotel lifts all in marble. the room i stayed in very nice. the room had two single beds. very nice wallpaper design . the room had tv but no coffee making facilities. the celling fan did keep the room cool . but would of thought air conditioning would of made better sense for guest comfort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

It's a very clean hotel, the suff is friendly and helpfull. The breakfast is rich and varied. The hotel it's not so close by the town center but there is a metro station in nearby.
Our room was situated on the street side so it was a little bit noisy in the morning. You can enjoy the massages services or the fitness room or you take your dinner to the hotel restaurant. Also, the wireless network is working quite good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Green hotel is a little out of town 4 km there abouts . But we found this to be an advantage . The transport links are brilliant as you have 4/5 options .... bus, ,trolly bus, tram, metro, taxi, bike ,walk......the list could go on . No seriously we loved this place . The two cities of Budapest are so amazing and vast that to stay in the city as we would wreck you. We needed a break from the hustle and bustle.The staff especcially Irideka were fantastic. Very helpful with suggestions as where to visit and directions and so on . Budapest will over awe you at first as it does take a day or so to adjust . DO invest in a travellers guide book with maps before you travel . you will find a bit of homework before hand will be more than helpfull. We felt safe and well recieved in tourist friendly Budapest. DO invest in the Buda card when your there . You can buy it in your hotel on your first full day in Budapest . What i mean is if you arrive early and want to explore straight away buy it you ll find a 24 / 48 / or a 72 hour one is available to you . Change only a small amount of euros before you visit as you ll get a much better exchange rate there as they want your euros in their country. Dont purchase food / drinks in euros as they ll charge you more. Theres loads of buero de change around all safe as easy to use. Be adventures and bring your swimming cossy as the spa baths are brill . youll get lots of discounts using the buda card !!!!! use it ..we did nt bother with breaky in the morning . We did nt want to pay for something that we had to rush for . So we bought a coffee and pastry at any one of the thousands of pastry shops dotted everywhere. Youll love it . We found 5 days to a week more than plenty . Take your time to explore as there s sooooo much to see so pace yourselves. Do eat out in all the many restraunts we found the Pest side to have the BEST selection take tram 2 on pest side by Chain bridge its brill . Xxx Enjoy .

Oh and pre order a taxi transfer from the airport to Green hotel . if you email Hotel before hand they will arrange this for you its about ten euros each on way . pay the taxi man when you get to hotel.There will be a person waiting with your name on a board at arrivals.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel has potential but small annoyances here and there left a feeling of disappointment. Here are a couple.

First, the cleaning staff needs a rebuke. There was lipstick in the drinking glass in the room and one of the towels was clearly dirty. Towels were changed every day even if left hanging in the rack despite the standard sign "If you wish to use a towel for a second time...".

Secondly, some of the food in the breakfast table seemed like leftovers. I would not serve to my guests a green salad I made the day before yesterday. In any case, it was not a four star spread.

Thirdly, the hotel advertises and offers massage to visitors. However, it seems that they have not yet figured out how the payment works. The receptionist told we can pay at the reception but the masseuse required payment in cash. Only after a telephone discussion the masseuse let us go and we could pay at the reception at check-out as agreed. Payment in cash would be fine but please try to figure out how you want the process to go.

Finally, the check out took something like 10 minutes. (I should say that the girl at the reception was really nice.) I do not know what were all the steps needed to complete a checkout but luckily we were not in a hurry.

In sum, the hotel seems like a decent three star hotel and if they get their act together, the fourth star is merited.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hotel

Address: Kerepesi ut 34, Budapest 1148, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.