We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carpe Noctem Vitae

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carpe Noctem Vitae to your Saves list
Carpe Noctem Vitae
Erzsebet korut 50, Budapest, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“simply great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

as a traveller and a person who's working in the truism business i know thing of two about hotel. this one is great. it's a party hostel , super close to the center . but that doesn't mean it's crazy all night long , people can most definitely have their peace and to sleep well. the rooms are like any other hostel with dorms as rooms , but the atmosphere is just great. i was checked in by DAVE , I've arrived at 01:30 am , and he had every reason to give just a basic service, but this person took the time , answered all my questions , gave my shampoo,towel,beer,vodka, and I didn't need to pay for any. and they I met STEVE , what a guy , they both stupidly amazing people , many hotels saying their "home away from home" but here you could feel like you have family strait away , and I've arrived in the middle of the night. air con. in the rooms. playstation , two kitchens, just great. recommend the hostel to you all , have fun in Budapest

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    28
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
6
149
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heaven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Alright, as soon as your train pulls into the metaphorical station, and the ponies are rounded up to write dissertations on nonlinear equations, theres a small alcove of exuberance and reciprocity neatly tucked into the shadows of a residential building. Riding high amongst the clouds, the trusty and tired steed of an elevator will dock within footsteps of the non-Las Vegas, non-high-roller penthouse. You will be launched into the deepest recesses humanly imaginable, gathered, lassoed, and rounded up to chase insatiate desires, a classic example of quixotic sojourning into the very depths of hedonism. Alas, daytime must eventually fall and drag with it the usual bout of sightseeing. Including, but not limited to: spelunking, sleeping, McDonald's, or - god-forbid - Arriba's. This is the heart of Budapest - not to be mistaken with the kidneys, the liver, or the right metacarpal. Your kindred staff will guide you on your foray into the colossus by way of map-readings that would make Christopher Columbus himself proud. When the time comes, and the time always comes, your key to the chocolate factory must be returned, your bed cleared, as you unceremoniously vacate the premises, with no lavish praises of bon voyage or roses thrown at your feet like a retiring circus performer. You turn, carefully descend the staircase, and await a cab in the rain - anticipating your next trip back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The staff is not only amazing but they are very helpful! The location is perfect and there is plenty of activities and events. Every night the staff lead bar crawls to the best bars and clubs around to bathhouse ragers to champagne popping boat parties! Shout out to Aussie Dave who suffered awful hickies yet still managed to help us find a bed to sleep in when my friend and I were homeless!! I'd recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to have a great time, meet awesome people and explore Budapest to its fullest!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

You will feel the love here too... the love for partying, the love for the city, the love for each other... You need not stop at a tourist info centre as all the staff know from personal experience what to do and where to go, whether it be art, opera, museums, the famous bathhouses, parks, architecture, caving or just plain good fun. Staff are all really chilled, and really make the place what it is... a home. !Book in advance if staying in summer, it gets full very fast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hostel is easily the best that I've stayed in! Great for people that like to party or just chill out...there are always plenty of activities and events going on and they take you to all of the best bars and clubs around Budapest if your into that! It's a really nice sized hostel too so you can really get to know all the guests and staff at the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

To lay the facts out - I've hosteled at roughly 20 hostels around Europe and this was my favorite. I found a lot of hostels were way too quiet without much to do at the hostel either, while others were too intense and generally dirty/unhygienic. There is heaps to do at the multilevel hostel like beer pong/foosball/PS3 (dont think i saw anyone use it though) and a room to chill full of bean bags and books.

The staff are sick and take on a family like environment.

I'd recommend this hostel to anyone....especially if you like to do push ups

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I've stayed at Carpe Noctem Vitae twice now, which i believe says a lot by itself.

In my opinion, the hostel is mainly driven by its staff. Yes - the facilities are awesome, but the fact that the staff puts their heart and soul into the hostel is what gives it its charm. In most hostels the staff are friendly and always helpful, but at Vitae they seem to exceed that customer/service worker barrier, and you are actually able to make friends with the guys who work there. They go out with you every night, and i mean ALWAYS, and during the daytime they are always up for hanging out or doing whatever, and this is exactly what i look for in a hostel - a place where you not just get a great service, but where people are actually open to you. I believe the great atmosphere comes from Vitae only employing travelers, who have stayed at the hostel and fallen in love with it, which gives the employees an awesome traveler-mindset.

That said, it is important to keep in mind that Vitae is a party hostel, with a big P. If you want to go out, have fun and paint the city, and still have an air-conditioned (thank god for that) safe haven, this place is perfect. The fact that the staff is not afraid to point out that if you don't get over you hangover and go out to see the city, you're wasting your stay, and even has several (some borderline ridiculous) activities you can do in Budapest, is just awesome. But if you are not up for socializing over a beer, i guess it can be tough to stay here.

I must end my review with a big shout-out to the wonderful staff, once again. Without them, Vitae would be a good hostel, but the staff is, without a doubt, what makes it extraordinary. I'd stay there again any time!

Cheers, Rasmus

Room Tip: Vitae just expanded to the floor below their main area. I think the rooms there are even more awesom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,866 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,333 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
4YOU CityCenter Apartments
4YOU CityCenter Apartments
#3 of 559 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Terézváros
Penthouse Privates
Penthouse Privates
#8 of 559 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Vitae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Vitae

Address: Erzsebet korut 50, Budapest, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 559 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are just looking for a bed and nothing else...easy, there are thousands elsewhere in the city.If you want something more from a hostel, from the people who work and live there, if you want a community, an experience, and an atmosphere bursting with creativity, excitement and fun... welcome to Vitae, welcome to real hostel life.At the bottom of this page you can get a taste of some upcoming events in the city. We deal in all realms of nightlife here in Budapest so get ready to get involved because there's always a lot happening.As part of the Budapest Party Hostels Brand we are the least wild of the three, we still go out every night drinking, but also offer you a range of different options, and have a great environment with chill areas if you want to stay in too. We offer clean,. bright spacious rooms, with hard to beat security and the real difference, attentive and caring staff who actually take an interest in all parts of your stay in Budapest.60% of our total floor space is sociable space so that there is a ton of room for you to chill, or play games, meet people or watch dvds. We have a large modern kitchen, for you to cook for yourself or for us to cook for you, as we have in house cook-ups almost every night for just the cost of the ingredients.We know that Budapest is not just about tours, castles and churches which is why we organise something every night with a group program, but we also can suggest other cultural or party ideas for you as we like to keep ourselves with the finger on the pulse of what is going on in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Carpe Noctem Vitae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carpe Noctem Vitae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.