We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vitae is the only way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carpe Noctem Vitae

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carpe Noctem Vitae to your Saves list
Carpe Noctem Vitae
Erzsebet korut 50, Budapest, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Vitae is the only way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I never used to understand why people used to wear gay T-shirts with logos of places they have been on them, like Hard Rock Cafe Las Vegas. I do know after staying at Vitae. Four of us came for what was supposed to be 4 nights, we extended our stay, twice, and I only left with one other after 2 of the best weeks of my life. The staff are very knowledge on all the things you would want to do in Budapest, they gave us some great recommendations on the best things to do in Budapest. And when i think they couldnt get any better, they took us out each night we were willing to a different place and got to see many sides of Budapest. Couldnt speak any higher of the hostel or the staff that work there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    15
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
101
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I came to Vitae with 3 other mates, i left with 1. We extended our stay twice. The staff are very knowledgable,helpfull & friendly, they knew all the places to go in and around the city and will take time to show you anything you need, (wether its a sick little bar/club, caving, hot baths, lazertag, shooting range, tea house, sight seeing etc etc) THEY ALSO LOVE TO PARTY 24/7! I have stayed in some great hostels all around europe and this so far is hands down the best. Always has clean Showers/Toilet/Kitchen... Vitae is more like a home, the common room is filled with friendly easy going travellers from all over, couches, the xxx bed, bean bags, TV, stereo and is the best place to exchange storys from the night before! 1 of my favourite things was everybody sharing there music and the insanely cheap dinner the staff cook for you, every night!! (between 600-800huf - 2-3 euro). There are still areas just to chill out aswell which is good. But the most fun is the night time, You'll generally meet up with the 3 other party hostels and just run an absolute muck every night! Aquaworld(dont miss), Jager Train night, pub crawls, open mic nights, cool local bars & clubs, local gigs/DJs, dress up/special event nights. Take full advantage of happy hours, 100Huf beers - 600huf lethal cocktails, it would be rude not 2!!

DONT come to Carpe Noctem Vitae if your attending: AA meetings, Hate having fun, Like sleeping, boring & anti-social, have a baby, Hate swearing, Cant embarrass yourself, Want to keep your dignity.

DO COME if you like a beer or a 1000, Like Drinking games, Late Nights/Early mournings, Cheap Drinks/Food, Talking rubbish, dancing very badly and loving it, Awesome organised nights out/Day trips, have the best intention of loosing your dignity.

Loved all the staff & every minute i was there and will be heading back in the near future!
10/10!

<3Jum.

Room Tip: All rooms are very cheap and nice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. They are professional and clean, extremely informative about the sights of Budapest but more than anything you are being welcomed into a home when you stay here. They organise options galore for both day and night and you will not want to leave. It is a party hostel and lives up to it's name and so much more. You will be sorry if you book anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Excellent hostel. The place in incredible if you're looking for a good time. The staff are friendly, work hard and more importantly are heaps of fun. This is one of those places that makes you want to come back time and time again. I could not recommend this more highly. Bulk love.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I have travelled from Barcelona, to Paris, to Dublin, to London and many more. I have stayed in some excellent hostels with fantastic people and plenty of fun.

None compare to Carpe Vitae - offering the perfect balance between 'party central' and 'peaceful relaxation'. The days are filled with hanging with some of the radest chilled out people I've met. The nights involve a number of pub crawls and A+ outings.

The staff are the most easy going friendly individuals on earth. Provided you use your common sense to keep within the basic boundaries and considerations of humanity, the guys are cool with whatever you want to do - whether it is taking the day to chill out in the media zone (where you can find couches, beanbags and an abundance of movies and music) playing on the house guitar, or drinking games that evolves into a mad night out.

The facilities are pristine and clean and the price you pay is stupidly cheap for what you get. There are plenty of maps and guides to take you around Budapest, and the staff knows exactly where you should be going and what you should be doing.

This place is especially recommended for aussies like myself. Hanging around with other rad aussie people (including some of the staff) made me feel safe and at home.

HIGHLY recommended. I wish I never left.

Jas

Room Tip: No tips needed. The staff will set you up just fine. We booked from a lousy website that screwed up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012 via mobile

This has to be one of the best hostels we've stayed at our whole trip. The staff made our stay one of the most enjoyable and between showing us some of the best venues to party at they also are incredibly knowledgable about the city and where to explore.


It was one of the best experiences and because of the staff we ended up missing our flight to stay longer. If your going to stay anywhere make sure you drop into vitae it won't disappoint!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I absolutely fell in love with this city, the people I've met there and this hostel in particular. Not only is the location great (in the seventh district), but the accomodiation is nice itself: Everything is clean and safe, it has lovely matrasses, enough toilets and showers, a huge common room where's always playing music or movies and people hanging out, and a perfect kitchen. (I've been in many hostels in Europe but I haven't seen any kitchen as truly 'fully equipped' as this one.) And you don't even need the kitchen, cause the staff cooks a cheap, tasty and healthy meal daily.

I do love to dance until sunrise but I'm kind of quiet and introverted, but even though I wouldn't reckon myself being a party animal , I did go out every single night and I enjoyed my stay, extended my stay, changed my itinerary so I could come back and enjoyed it even more. I guess that's what I loved the most about Vitae: all the people (both the guests and the staff, who works its as.s off but is happy and cheerful all the time) are so loving and easy-to-love. I felt seen and that proves to me that they take care of everybody, welcome anybody open-minded and therefore create the perfect atmosphere for the ultimate nightlife and comfortable and cozy days. Go there and find it out yourself.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carpe Noctem Vitae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Vitae

Address: Erzsebet korut 50, Budapest, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 508 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are just looking for a bed and nothing else...easy, there are thousands elsewhere in the city.If you want something more from a hostel, from the people who work and live there, if you want a community, an experience, and an atmosphere bursting with creativity, excitement and fun... welcome to Vitae, welcome to real hostel life.At the bottom of this page you can get a taste of some upcoming events in the city. We deal in all realms of nightlife here in Budapest so get ready to get involved because there's always a lot happening.As part of the Budapest Party Hostels Brand we are the least wild of the three, we still go out every night drinking, but also offer you a range of different options, and have a great environment with chill areas if you want to stay in too. We offer clean,. bright spacious rooms, with hard to beat security and the real difference, attentive and caring staff who actually take an interest in all parts of your stay in Budapest.60% of our total floor space is sociable space so that there is a ton of room for you to chill, or play games, meet people or watch dvds. We have a large modern kitchen, for you to cook for yourself or for us to cook for you, as we have in house cook-ups almost every night for just the cost of the ingredients.We know that Budapest is not just about tours, castles and churches which is why we organise something every night with a group program, but we also can suggest other cultural or party ideas for you as we like to keep ourselves with the finger on the pulse of what is going on in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Carpe Noctem Vitae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carpe Noctem Vitae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.