We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Retox Party Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Retox Party Hostel to your Saves list
Retox Party Hostel
O Utca 41, Budapest, Hungary (Terézváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 558 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great fun, clean rooms and the staff are very welcoming and accommodating, it's a must when in budapest! Party hard! Every nights a party! Any tours you want organised the staff can do it all for you. One piece of advice.. Thy don't take credit card, so before arriving make sure to find an ATM

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    31
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
5
80
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

It's great there, they know exactly what you need to have a good time. Every night at the hostel they'll sort out some kind of party and if you have the energy to get up the next day they'll be able to sort you out with other cool stuff to do in Budapest as well. The staff there are awesome; My first day in I was travelling alone and so Kelsey and Luna introduced me to a bunch of people on the pub crawl and the next day Krusty gave me a full historical rundown of the city including what are the must sees and what not to bother with. It's a super chilled out place with relaxed people but don't expect to get to sleep early any night you're there. It's pretty clean for a party hostel too.

Cheers guys

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Without a doubt one of the most best hostel experiences in my life. Not only did I meet the most amazing people but the atmosphere here is always positive. There wasn't a day that went past where I didn't enjoy myself. No matter what your doing there's always people to hang out with and activities to do ! There's plenty of drinking without a doubt ! So if your looking for a quite night in, it's never going to happen !!!!! You'd be crazy no to go here ! Thankyou to all the beautiful staff (Kelsey, Candy, Krusty, Luna, Mansaw and many more)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Highly recommend taking the plunge into the retox party hostel world. Firstly meet the most incredibly crazy family that happen to be staff, then fall in love with the lot of them (kelsi, krusty, candy, luna, man saw, swayno, OSCAR) And then experience their amazing way of life in Budapest. They know the city so well and will expose all it's beauty for you. The hostel itself is nothing short of the best. Amazing graf everywhere and the best toilet paper going round! Oh yeah and should mention this kids know how to throw a party. Get ready for the best place to be and the hardest one to leave.
Gus

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is the place to stay when you are in Budapest. on the Pest side, close to everything, nice lil street. the rooms are fine and the hostel is cool and has a great atmosphere. it has a nice bar. but the best is the staff. I loved them all. you really felt safe and home and had such a good laughs with all of them. Retox is by far the coolest hostel I stayed in. cheeers!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Had an absolutely amazing time at Retox. Facilities are spot on and clean. Everyone is so friendly and up for a good time. Krusty helped us sort out where to go for the weekend to give our mate a brilliant send off.
Thanks for an amazing time!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Retox is the best place. If you are down to party hard, you really should come here. I can't recommend it enough. I had the wildest weekend. A lot of that is because the staff there is so nice and cool. They're so down to drink and meet everyone. I'm keeping my Retox bracelet so I can tell people to go. The sights in Budapest were absolutely amazing too. Really great people. I hope that I can come back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,859 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel
Pal's Hostel
#14 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
The Groove
#9 of 558 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Terézváros
Penthouse Privates
Penthouse Privates
#8 of 558 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retox Party Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retox Party Hostel

Address: O Utca 41, Budapest, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 558 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
People who travel to Budapest don’t come for the clean streets, the peaceful nights, the immaculate and modern buildings...they go to Vienna for that. People who want to experience the grit, the underground, the alternative, the unseen, undiscovered, the hidden, they come to Budapest and somewhere behind an abandoned building with graffiti on the doors…… you’ll find Retox guests and staff. If you can’t work the name out - you probably shouldn’t come. If you can’t stand a morning view of a concrete jungle, stay at Grandio where there is a leafy jungle. If you want clinical clean-cut and pristine, this is not the place for you. But if you want to be part of a ‘new’ hostel scene where you walk into an overwhelming sense that stories from here are going to be passed onto your grand kids, (if you make it that long)… then join us at Retox. The name says it all, we like life, we don’t think too much about the future, but we live for the moment. We hit it hard and fast at night, and we wait a moment or two before considering the day. We do make it out sightseeing, but not to take photos and send postcards, but to admire views. We go to museums not to please our parents, but to be absorbed in culture. We party hard, not because it’s new and exciting, but because having fun is a much a better idea than not. We meet people not so we are not alone, but so that we are part of a community we never want to leave. Also, it’s an awesome place with heart stopping artwork, in the heart of the bar district (with three bars on our street alone) and a few minutes walk from some of the major sights and with public transport everywhere we look!). Please Note: Retox is a party hostel so there may be loud and drunk people as residents. If this is not ok, please contact us and we will find more suitable accommodation. Carpe Noctem Vitae is a calmer hostel. We also cannot accept booking from people over 40, but groups are welcomed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Retox Party Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Retox Party Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.