We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing hostel in da world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandio Party Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grandio Party Hostel to your Saves list
Grandio Party Hostel
Nagy Diofa Utca 8, Budapest, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 558 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Galway, IrelaAd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most amazing hostel in da world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Could not have asked for a better hostel, made the trip so much better. Aside from the brilliant location and general atmosphere, has the most lively enthusiastic staff I've ever come across. Organised different places for every night we were there and made sure we always had something to do. So helpful and extraordinarily friendly. Definitely will be heading back to the same place, had serious trouble saying goodbye after just 3 days. Also we were never left short of toilet paper, which is very key! Genuinely couldn't say one negative thing about the place, or the staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    30
    8
    5
    16
See reviews for
1
7
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pokhara, Nepal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Go to Grandio if you enjoy feeling like you never want to leave!
This unique party hostel in central Budapest had perfect location, perfect rooms, perfect vibe, perfect staff and most of all the perfect party atmosphere. Every night there is something worthwhile doing and doing it with a drink in hand! Cruise down the river or get messed up at all you can drink I've never had so much fun in Europe! The staff are great with helping you organise things in the day as well! I've been three time and always feel like I'm welcomed and home. The hostel also party's with three others in the city so you know your in for a good night every night.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms mean more friends, but less sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Grandio is like living in a magical bubble of debauchery, irresponsibility and unaccountability. Every night involves ridiculous alcohol fuelled shenanigans organised by grandio staff – these guys are the raddest, nicest, funnest kids on the block and instantly became our friends. They genuinely give a [--] about you and will do anything to make your stay more enjoyable. We were supposed to stay for 6 nights and ended up staying almost 3.5 weeks and even then we had to force ourselves to leave. Grandio is the greatest hostel (that we've stayed in) in Europe and we're already planning to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I arrived without reservation so I just walked and was immedeatly welcomed by the, what might be, most friendly staff, there is out there! I spent five great days there that I will never forget. Massive Partys, every night and during the days the staff will be there to help you with anything you need!
So, come to Budapest and stay in Grandio, you won't regret!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I loved this place! Staff were awesome, so friendly and helpful and convincing :) They don't mind forts being built in the dorm rooms and there is always an event to attend if your up for it.
I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We walked into the courtyard of Grandio and knew that we were going to have a wild time. The staff is so friendly, the hostel itself is amazing, if not the cleanest, and the guests are there to party. Unfortunately we were there during a heat wave that made it impossible to do much (40 degrees Celsius and mad humid, with heat thunderstorms every night), but I can tell that if the weather had cooperated, it would have been amazing. Definitely have to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Drink drink drink, and then drink some more.

If that is you're mantra too, then you will love the place.

Ended up leaving everything from cables to ladders in my roommates beds and carrying a whole lot of stuff in to "lateroom" together with my gf who i'm happy to say came although there is only bunk beds in mixed dorms to be had. She ended up going back there with her best friend and they both loved it again.

A little more activities before heading out to the pubs and clubs could be wished for, but everyone "lay flat!"

Room Tip: Dont get the one to the left of the stairs coming up, the biggest dorm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Astoria City Hostel
Astoria City Hostel
#41 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Nemes Apartments
Nemes Apartments
#76 of 558 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Instant Groove! Party Hostel
#86 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Friends Hostel Budapest
#36 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#30 of 558 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandio Party Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandio Party Hostel

Address: Nagy Diofa Utca 8, Budapest, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 558 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can sleep when you're dead so DON'T expect to get any here. Grandio, one of the only true party places on this earth that welcomes alcoholics, lost souls and arty people with talent but no direction and audiences, the living breathing creature that is constantly evolving, the place with a crazy cult following. On site bar, or beer sold by our staff, or the beer vending machine, or strawpedoes for breakfast.....these are all ways in which we fuel our thirsty and party hard guests (and staff). When the bar is shut, we move to the late room, the den of noise and naughtiness, with a sex bed and hammock depending on how adventurous you are. Every night our staff take you out on different activities in the city. These range from Backpackers fancy dress parties, to pub crawls, to live music nights, to karaoke nights, which take you to our personal favourite (plus some of the cheapest) bars in the city. If you feel like doing something a little different, never fear, as our staff have their finger on the pulse of the city's nightlife and are able to recommend differently nightly activities depending on your tastes. We have a live music venue in the basement, which has different acts on every night providing for all different tastes in music. Every Sunday they let us use it to showcase the talent we play host to with our own open-mic night in which we use our own instruments which include a plethora of guitars, drum kit, piano, violin, piano accordions, plus more as well as our very own sound technician! The staff have all been hand picked, which might seem a bit wild when they are walking around dressed up in dressing gowns with a beer in one hand, but this is the Grandio uniform, wear whatever makes you feel comfortable, or we got from the euro store that day. If you think you can challenge us, we'll probably rise to it, if not, we'll respect you for trying! The place itself is as wild as our staff and guests, decorated by street artists from around the world it houses a games room with table football and ping pong, the bar, a secret restaurant, which we could tell you about, but we'd have to kill you, a mix of rooms, some en-suite, with varying numbers of beds, and if you're lucky, a loo with a view. If you're not too hung over during the day we can organise daytime activities for you. The staff at Grandio are able to organise tours of the city plus other daytime activities such as paint balling or laser-tag. So the arty amongst you might appreciate the fact that all of our rooms, the outside and insides of everything are decorated by the best street artists of Budapest, and have been added to by global artists who liked what they saw and wanted to add to it. We have a band, called The Grandio Journals, which changes members every week when we practice in the open mic night, and we welcome all talent to perform here. As well as that, we are in a great location, especially if you like drinking as we are in the heart of the bar district, the only rules we have are about respect to our guests and neighbours, and other than that we want you to have a wild time, because we will be first! Please note, like the name says, this IS a party hostel, we go out every night, some people drink in the day time, there is a bar, sometimes sex, and a lot of fun. If you don't like these things, please try a calmer hostel, like Carpe Noctem Vitae. Please note: Regrettably, due to previous experience, we can no longer accept bookings for people over 40. If you have booked and are outside this age, please contact us and we will help find you alternative accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Grandio Party Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandio Party Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.