We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Home

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly Home to your Saves list
Butterfly Home
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 162 Budapest B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very nice location. Close to almost everything. But the best part is the owner, Andras and his mom. They speak very good English and they always made sure that you'll enjoy your stay in Hungary. Nothing beats an owner making your morning coffee and your toast. The rooms are huge and spotless. I will surely come back to this place. Thanks a lot Andras- Amando

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
158
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were extremely happy with our stay in the Butterfly Home! The room was large, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. The location was quiet, on a pedestrian side-street, but only a short distance from the transit, the river, and main restaurant areas. Andras speaks perfect English, and was very helpful with suggestions and tips for Budapest. Breakfast was excellent, complete with Andras's made-to-order coffees. The building only has a few floors, with a wide, easy staircase, but there are no lifts, so be aware of that if mobility is a concern. Andras arranged for a door-to-door taxi service to the airport that was quite reasonably priced. We'd love to go back to Budapest and we'd definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Room 22 is enormous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Butterfly is definetly a great spot for couple of days in beautiful and romantic Budapest, as it is central and its owners András & Timea fill the space with a soul! They advise on sightseeing, lunch, dinners and boat-cruise and are much better than any travel-book. Book the room on top, which has balcony and space.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had four lovely nights at the Butterfly Home, the first part of our stay in Budapest. The B&B is on a quiet street with no cars allowed. Andras Szuhay is a wonderful host. He speaks perfect English and offered us many suggestions for the Pest part of our stay of nearby attractions, museums and restaurants to have great meals.He and his wife Timi provide a large, delicious buffet breakfast and have both a French press and a cappuccino coffee machine--my husband loved their coffee! Lots of tea choices for me as well. They enjoy engaging their guests in conversation at breakfast. We had a lovely, very comfortable room. We couldn't have asked for a more wonderful introduction to this marvelous city than to stay at Butterfly Home. Andras Szuhay and his parents Judit and Lajos (in the Bellevue B&B on the Buda side) are terrific ambassadors for Budapest! Leslie England

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed there for a couple of days and enjoyed the great hospitality. Very interesting tips for exploring Budapest and extremely helpful in arranging a programme - we asked for Opera tickets and got a great deal for a show at the same day! The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean, breakfast is delicious and includes home-made jams as well as freshly-made pancakes.

Room Tip: quiet room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILL CREEK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Butterfly Home is very well located in a clean, well kept neighborhood near the Keleti Station, where most trains from cities to the west arrive. The new owners of the b & b, Andras, his wife Timi and mother Judit, are extremely helpful and accommodating. We were treated as part of the family and had many interesting conversations. They had recently taken over the facility from the previous owners and went to great lengths to make sure that everything was perfect. We will definitely stay here again when in Budapest. Many sites, i.e., the river, Vaci Utca, the Gellert baths and the national museum are very close, as are the metro and several trams to access areas further out. A wonderful and memorable experience.

Room Tip: We were in a front (pedestrian only) street-facing room, but all the rooms should be equally quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson az usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Norma and I had the good fortune to spend one night at the Butterfly B & B this September. Andras and his wife Timi were engaging and accommodating. They treated us as if we were kin not absolute strangers. The Butterfly is wonderfully located with stylishly decorated and charming rooms - one with the remnants of a Medieval rock wall to beguile those happy enough to book it. It's people that make traveling rewarding. Andras and Timi are proof of that. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Home

Address: Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Home 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In downtown Budapest, near metro line 1, just a block off Andrassy Avenue, a few minutes walk from Heroes' Square and Jewish Quarter, we offer 5 freshly renovated rooms, a large common area/breakfast room. Free wifi in entire property, rooms offer LCD TV, comfy beds, seating area + desk, en suite bathrooms with hot tubs/shower. Toiletries, hairdryers, towels are included in room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Butterfly Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.