We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in Every Way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Home

Save Saved
You added Butterfly Home to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Butterfly Home
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 156 Budapest B&B and Inns
colorado
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Outstanding in Every Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were extremely happy with our stay in the Butterfly Home! The room was large, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. The location was quiet, on a pedestrian side-street, but only a short distance from the transit, the river, and main restaurant areas. Andras speaks perfect English, and was very helpful with suggestions and tips for Budapest. Breakfast was excellent, complete with Andras's made-to-order coffees. The building only has a few floors, with a wide, easy staircase, but there are no lifts, so be aware of that if mobility is a concern. Andras arranged for a door-to-door taxi service to the airport that was quite reasonably priced. We'd love to go back to Budapest and we'd definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Room 22 is enormous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
129
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Butterfly is definetly a great spot for couple of days in beautiful and romantic Budapest, as it is central and its owners András & Timea fill the space with a soul! They advise on sightseeing, lunch, dinners and boat-cruise and are much better than any travel-book. Book the room on top, which has balcony and space.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had four lovely nights at the Butterfly Home, the first part of our stay in Budapest. The B&B is on a quiet street with no cars allowed. Andras Szuhay is a wonderful host. He speaks perfect English and offered us many suggestions for the Pest part of our stay of nearby attractions, museums and restaurants to have great meals.He and his wife Timi provide a large, delicious buffet breakfast and have both a French press and a cappuccino coffee machine--my husband loved their coffee! Lots of tea choices for me as well. They enjoy engaging their guests in conversation at breakfast. We had a lovely, very comfortable room. We couldn't have asked for a more wonderful introduction to this marvelous city than to stay at Butterfly Home. Andras Szuhay and his parents Judit and Lajos (in the Bellevue B&B on the Buda side) are terrific ambassadors for Budapest! Leslie England

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed there for a couple of days and enjoyed the great hospitality. Very interesting tips for exploring Budapest and extremely helpful in arranging a programme - we asked for Opera tickets and got a great deal for a show at the same day! The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean, breakfast is delicious and includes home-made jams as well as freshly-made pancakes.

Room Tip: quiet room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILL CREEK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Butterfly Home is very well located in a clean, well kept neighborhood near the Keleti Station, where most trains from cities to the west arrive. The new owners of the b & b, Andras, his wife Timi and mother Judit, are extremely helpful and accommodating. We were treated as part of the family and had many interesting conversations. They had recently taken over the facility from the previous owners and went to great lengths to make sure that everything was perfect. We will definitely stay here again when in Budapest. Many sites, i.e., the river, Vaci Utca, the Gellert baths and the national museum are very close, as are the metro and several trams to access areas further out. A wonderful and memorable experience.

Room Tip: We were in a front (pedestrian only) street-facing room, but all the rooms should be equally quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson az usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Norma and I had the good fortune to spend one night at the Butterfly B & B this September. Andras and his wife Timi were engaging and accommodating. They treated us as if we were kin not absolute strangers. The Butterfly is wonderfully located with stylishly decorated and charming rooms - one with the remnants of a Medieval rock wall to beguile those happy enough to book it. It's people that make traveling rewarding. Andras and Timi are proof of that. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of being Andreas' first customers after he took ownership of Butterfly Home in early September, and we were overwhelmed by the overall experience. Andreas is well tutored in B&B accommodation (by his parents), and he went out of his way to ensure our 3 night stay was enjoyable and memorable. As mentioned in previous reviews, nothing was too much trouble. Andreas was the perfect host, ensuring we knew some of his recommended eateries in the area, and ensured we knew our way around quite quickly. Our room on the 2nd floor was spacious and well presented. The bathroom was modern and spotless, and the breakfasts were varied and more than adequate to start the day. Thanks Andreas for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Butterfly Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Home

Address: Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Home 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated, Butterfly Home is located in a pedestrian zone, only 200 metres from the popular Vaci Street, whose bars, restaurants and diverse cultural events provide a traditional gathering point where Budapest locals can interact with the city’s visitors. Butterfly Home offers the opportunity for a pleasant and relaxing stay in the very heart of the city and is certainly the best choice for all those who have decided to visit Budapest, either for business or pleasure, but also for those who only wish to take a rest and relax in the charming downtown environment. Thanks to ideal location, Butterfly Home provides you with a variety of opportunities depending on your interests. Thus, after a short and pleasant stroll, you can visit the Hungarian National Museum, the popular Gellert Baths or the city centre, enjoy a romantic walk along the Danube’s banks, or enjoy yourself in the numerous bars and typical restaurants in the neighbourhood, where you can enjoy traditional Hungarian cuisine and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Butterfly Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.