We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Home

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly Home to your Saves list
Butterfly Home
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 176 Budapest B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Lovely B&B, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent three nights at Butterfly home. It was very clean, stylish, and quiet, while being in close walking distance to wonderful neighborhoods and sights. Tonci, the owner, was very welcoming, accommodating and went above and beyond to ensure that our visit to Budapest was as wonderful as possible. Breakfast was also delicious. I highly recommend staying here while visiting Budapest.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    37
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
197
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Was taken here as a surprise birthday treat. Fabulous Bed and Breakfast. Can't fault it. Huge rooms, friendly, helpful owner, lovely fresh breakfasts and a prime location.
If you are ever in Budapest I insist you stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved our stay in Tonci's lovely B&B. He was a wonderful host and provided a warm welcome and help; the room and bath were comfortable, roomy and well'equiped. And the location was perfect. Tonci's suggestions of the restaurant on the corner (Brossu Bistro) was the gem of our eating experience while in Budapest.
Thanks, Tonci.
Regards from Don and Jackie Feinstein

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a wonderful visit here! Tonci was extremely helpful and accommodating. He provided us with helpful informayion from the first day of our stay through arranging transport for our departure. We loved the location and the accommodations could not have been more splendid. The breakfast was the perfect way to begin our exploration of beautiful Budapest! We felt like we had the best of both worlds. We could easily access all the sites, yet we returned to a quieter area(neighborhood) to relax. There were plenty of fabulous restaurants in the immediate area. One of our favorites was literally steps from the Butterfly Home, Borsso Bistro, a Hungarian culinary treat that shouldn't be missed. We will definitely return to Tonci 's Butterfly Home when in Budapest. Thanks Tonsi! Best to your wife and daughter.
Theodora, Rob, and Lukas Kret
Santa Fe, NM USA

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biviers, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Everything about this hotel was good. Our room was very large with a lounge area. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is good for all the attractions. There is a very very good restaurant next door the Borsso Bistro. We really enjoyed our stay here and would book again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at the Butterfly Home. We were warmly cared for by owners Tonci and Agnes and delightful staff, Bori. The small Bed and Breakfast is located on the upper floors of a building situated on the Pest side, in an ideal location within walking distance of cafe's, the Danube, a large indoor market, the Green Bridge and many wonderful sights. Tonci couldn't have been a nicer host! He remembered that I had mentioned we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and left a celebratory gift for us in our room. He spent time showing us a map of the city and pointing out sights and local places we should visit (one place was a cafe in Alexander's Book Store - a beautifully adorned, indoor, relaxing spot). Also, conveniently, we were able to purchase Hop on/off bus tickets at the Butterfly Home, which was a great way to see Budapest! Each morning we had a delicious breakfast of meats, cheeses, breads, freshly squeezed OJ and coffee made personally for us by Bori. What a treat!
The owners, the staff, the location, and the friendliness and personal attention provided makes the Butterfly Home a very nice place to stay while visiting Budapest. Thank you Tonci, Agnes and Bori!

Room Tip: Rooms located on the same floor as the breakfast room are a convenient location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Tonic and his staff Bori. They went out of their way immediately to help us with an request. Butterfly House is in a great location - close to the metro and trams. It is also in walking distance to the Danube River and many restaurants , cafes and shops. Our favourite cafe was Cafe Alibi .The room was very spacious and comfortable and facilities were excellent. The breakfast had a wide selection and freshly squeezed orange juice was a bonus. Thanks Tonic and Bori for making are stay in Budapest so memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,853 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Home

Address: Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Home 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a recently renovated Art Nouveau building in the heart of the city, in a pedestrian zone, only 200 meters from popular Vaci Street. Within walking distance, you can visit Hungarian National Museum, the popular Gellert Bath, the Great Synagogue and Budapest's new SoHo - the Jewish District, Raday Street, Liberty Bridge, Grand Market Hall, or take a romantic stroll along the Danube. Experience Hungarian hospitality in the numerous bars and restaurants of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Butterfly Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.