We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pam and Marilyn stayed here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Home

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly Home to your Saves list
Butterfly Home
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 160 Budapest B&B and Inns
Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pam and Marilyn stayed here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We couldn't have asked for better hosts or a more comfortable stay. Nice big room. Clean as a whistle. Super breakfast complete with fresh squeezed orange juice, cappuccino, and a good choice of breakfast food.
We were able to walk just about everywhere we wanted to and Agi and Tonci took care of getting a cab for us when we left.
A great stop.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
149
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here for the second time. Butterfly Home is just perfect. Spacious rooms at a central location in town, very close to vaci street and the main sites within walking distance. The owners are great too. They will help you, and do anything to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Ca
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The owners were amazingly accommodating for our late check-out and storing luggage. The room was huge and very clean. They have water bottles in the refrigerator for you. Breakfast is plentiful and they play fun music in the morning. They know customer service and always greet you with a friendly smile and are extremely helpful with recommendations and directions. Thank you for a wonderful stay and for all your help!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had a wonderful experience during my recent stay at the Butterfly Home B&B in Budapest. Agi and Tonci were the perfect hosts. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast, excellent!!! We enjoyed a variety of breads, muffins, meats, cheeses and freshly squeezed orange juice as well as cappuccino!!! A nice touch was two bottles of water in our refrigerator upon our arrival. The location was perfect; in a safe area and close to all the sights we wanted to see. Budapest was our last stop on our trip and because we had an early flight home, Agi and Tonci offered to provide us breakfast in our room. When we got to our room that night, we found muffins, bread, fruit and coffee makings along with yogurt and orange juice in the refrigerator. They had gone above and beyond. Thank you Agi and Tonci for a wonderful stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Butterfly Home is a great place to land for a while to explore this beautiful city. Well-located, it's close to the metro, an easy walk to many of the main sights and there are restaurants nearby - but tucked-away in a side street, it feels part of a neighbourhood. My room had the style, lovely toiletries, fresh, tasty breakfast and wi-fi facilities you'd find in a boutique hotel - with the friendliness and local knowledge that made me feel like a traveller, not a tourist. The delightful young owners, both former Olympic athletes, were considerate and approachable. As I arrived, I thought "Butterfly Home - what a great name for a B&B" - and it is indeed a flower of a place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I loved my four night stay at the Butterfly Home in Budapest. The location is perfect; it is an easy walk to the metro, the Hungarian National Museum, The Great Market Hall, and The Gellert Baths, not to mention several great restaurants. Agi and Tonci were wonderful hosts; they gave us great advice and they were always looking for ways to make our stay even more pleasant. For example, they noticed that we had a bottle of wine in our room, so without us asking, they made sure we had wine glasses and an wine opener in the room. The breakfast was generous, and to my delight included cappuccino and espresso. The free WiFi worked great, and there was a computer that guests can use if you didn't bring your smart phone along. The rooms were large and comfortable. I would return in a heartbeat; it is a great place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Owners fabulous - very friendly and accommodating. Location is excellent - rooms decorated beautifully - breakfast was excellent - superb B & B. One of the best we stayed in during our 21 day European vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Home

Address: Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Home 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated, Butterfly Home is located in a pedestrian zone, only 200 metres from the popular Vaci Street, whose bars, restaurants and diverse cultural events provide a traditional gathering point where Budapest locals can interact with the city’s visitors. Butterfly Home offers the opportunity for a pleasant and relaxing stay in the very heart of the city and is certainly the best choice for all those who have decided to visit Budapest, either for business or pleasure, but also for those who only wish to take a rest and relax in the charming downtown environment. Thanks to ideal location, Butterfly Home provides you with a variety of opportunities depending on your interests. Thus, after a short and pleasant stroll, you can visit the Hungarian National Museum, the popular Gellert Baths or the city centre, enjoy a romantic walk along the Danube’s banks, or enjoy yourself in the numerous bars and typical restaurants in the neighbourhood, where you can enjoy traditional Hungarian cuisine and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Butterfly Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.