We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible not to be impressed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Home

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly Home to your Saves list
Butterfly Home
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 169 Budapest B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Impossible not to be impressed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Butterfly Hoyel is a rare find in today's world. Rather than carry on about all the positives, I can say all the other reviews giving it 100% top marks are correct. Rooms, facilities, comfort, location, everything 10 out of 10. The owners can not do enouigh for you, they even booked a fantastic dinner cruise on the Danube for us. Breakfast each mornig in the Breakfast room was a perfect mix of everything you could ask for and then more. The only thing to be aware of is that the rooms are up a few flights of stairs without a lift. This is not a negative as long as the stairs do not worry you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    34
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
181
24
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Butterfly Home is an incredible B&B.

It is situated near a metrostation but in a very quiet street. Nearby are a lot of nice bars and restaurants. The big markethall is nearby as is a bridge to cross over to Buda. (And for the ladies; shops!!!)

Our room was very big en very clean. Breakfast was really tasty; fresh orange juice, good coffee, fruit, croissants, ... Everything you would want to start the day.

And most important of all; the owners, a young couple who only resently started the b&b, were very friendly and helpfull.

If you are looking for a nice place to stay, don't hesitate. (and it's cheap too)

Enjoy!

P.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Enough good things cannot be said about the Butterfly Home. The hosts are charming, warm, and informative. The rooms are clean, spacious, and nicely decorated as well as quiet and with air con. The breakfast was always fresh and our host made great cappuccino!! It was a short walk down to the Danube and the Liberty Bridge and over to Buda for a day or just hop on the metro which is just 2 blocks down the street. It was one of our favorite lodgings in our 3 weeks of travel! Agi and Tonci made us feel at home and went the extra mile to take good care of us.
We highly recommend Butterfly home!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The reviews of Butterfly Home are true! Accommodation, service and location are all top notch. Breakfast, excellent. The proprietors speak good English and are very friendly and informative. It was my birthday when I visited and, to my surprise, I was provided with a greetings card and bottle of wine ...... where else might that happen?

There are plenty of restaurants and bars closeby. For a good bar, step out of Butterly turn left and then right (about 100yds away in all). We arrived late and had very little sterling left - the manager provided credit and I paid him the following day ...... where else might that happen?

This was an excellent stay and you can be certain that Butterfly Home is really good value and that, if you go, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Butterfly Home in Budapest. It is a fabulous place and we would definitely recommend it to others and plan to go back there. It is spacious and very comfortable; it is also quiet which is a plus. The owners are helpful with recommendations and very friendly. The breakfast was wonderful, too. The locations is great....it was easy to walk to many of the places that we wanted to see. There is a great restaurant right next door....what more can you ask for! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at the Butterfly Home and would recommend it as a great place to stay in Budapest.As other reviewers have said the rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious with everything you need. The breakfast was excellent, everything fresh.
The situation is ideal, in a quiet street away from the noise of the city yet close to cafes, bars, shops and metro and within easy walking distance of the river and sights of Budapest.
The owners a lovely young couple are very friendly and helpful and will advise on travel and places to visit. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Butterfly Home is a special B and B. We had read the reviews on Trip Advisor but it surpassed our already high expectations further. The room we had was immaculately decorated. Beautiful high ceilings, comfortable furniture and bed, modern bathroom. The breakfast was excellent with something to cater for all tastes. The owners are a very helpful young couple who are passionate about their guests having a special time. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, even more so for the excellent value for money and location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Home

Address: Kepiro utca 3, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Home 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a recently renovated Art Nouveau building in the heart of the city, in a pedestrian zone, only 200 meters from popular Vaci Street. Within walking distance, you can visit Hungarian National Museum, the popular Gellert Bath, the Great Synagogue and Budapest's new SoHo - the Jewish District, Raday Street, Liberty Bridge, Grand Market Hall, or take a romantic stroll along the Danube. Experience Hungarian hospitality in the numerous bars and restaurants of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Butterfly Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.