We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Steaks, Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prime Steak and Wine

Prime Steak and Wine
1051 Sas u.18, Budapest, Hungary
+36 70 331 8666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #207 of 2,011 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Hungarian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The word prime - which we define as perfection - serves to demonstrate the philosophy guiding our restaurant; that is, to offer perfection in all areas of catering. Our mission is to provide an outstanding dining experience for our guests with exceptional foods, fantastic wines, and attentive service all in an elegant environment.Our motto: “Guests may only be dazzled by creative dishes which are simple in nature and prepared to technological perfection, paired with exemplary service.Prime Steak and Wine is one of Budapest’s best and most enjoyable restaurants with its high standards, up-to-date kitchen technology, unmatched wine selection and attentive service. Prime Steak & Wine accommodates its guests with business lunches, a wide selection of a-la-carte dinner entries, approximately 200 different wines, expansive selection of cocktails, along with matching service.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant Steaks, Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We found this place in the Mammut Shopping Centre and thought we'd give it a try. The decor is pleasing and modern. The waiter we had was really pleasant and efficient and all of the staff seemed to speak fluent English and be of good humour. We had an issue with the amount of time the steaks took to arrive but we were given complimentary aperitif's and a tomato mousse to keep us occupied whilst we waited. The steaks were excellent quality and cooked as we ordered and to be fair worth waiting for. I thought the prices were very reasonable and certainly cheaper than back home.

the night we went was quiet and so the place did not have a great atmosphere but I could see that it would have a good buzz had there been a few more punters.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    50
    19
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best steak in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We visited this place as a friend of mine has business relationship with the owner. I honestly did not expect such a nice, elegant restaurant in the shopping mall.

The food and service is simply excellent. Definitely the best steak in town. However by the time we got to steak I was full. We ordered a few tiny appetizer bites. Well, I thought tiny because of the tiny price but indeed they were plenty.
Wine selection is nice

Tired of waiting while your spouse browsing stores? Pop into Prime Steak and Wine for tranquility, great food or a cocktail

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We googled this place in search of a steakhouse in Budapest. The location in a shopping center was somewhat unusual but it didn't feel like that since we were seated in the back of the restaurant. The service was excellent and so were the steaks we ate. The angus rib eye I ate was probably the best steak I've ever had. The waiter spoke good English and even the manager of the restaurant came to make small talk with us. However, the definitive highlight of the evening was after the main course when two waiters surprised us by carrying a huge tray in which they had all the desserts of the restaurant. Then we could choose the ones that pleased us the most and they made us fresh ones. All in all, a superb restaurant.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Excellent food unusual location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Budpest nd on the recommendation of TA ate at this restaurant. It is located in a shopping mall on the Buda side. Kind of a strange setting. Also we were in there on a Saturday night and were one of only two tables occupied, and it is a pretty big place.

However, the food was excellent. Going to. Steak place, have a steak. We did. Outstanding taste. Very similar cooking style to Ruth's Chris in the states. Excellent side dish of Au Gratin potatoes--actually more like laonaisse potatoes, but very good. Nice Hungarian wines.

They add 15% tip to the bill. Cost for two with salad entree side (extra) and glass of wine--90 dollars.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torokbalint, Hungary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant - even if in a shopping mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We are steak fans, so we regularly go to eat in Prime. We re-visited and retried several times, and the steak is always excellent. My favourite is the small (180 g :) ) angus rib eye, rare! Delicious! i also tried other meals but steak, they were also good - prawns, pasta. But the speciality is really the variety of steaks.
Professional waiters and sommelier, delicious appetizers - home made bread, good wine choice. From this year, Friday and Saturday evening there is live music duo -, a singer and a pianist -playing nice jazz standards and songs! What a good choice!
I really do not prefer restaurants in a shopping mall, but i really like this one!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime Steak and Wine also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Prime Steak and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prime Steak and Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.