We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special... I wouldn't bother going!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hospital In The Rock

Hospital In The Rock
Lovas ut 4/c, Budapest 1012, Hungary (District I / Buda)
+36 70 701 0101
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$19*
and up
Ranked #22 of 422 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hospital in the Rock Nuclear Bunker Museum is a thrilling, unique and moving place. Visitors can learn about the WWII and the 1956 revolution as well as the Cold War in relation to this former TOP SECRET nuclear bunker. It had an important role during the war and it was classified until 2002 and opened as a museum in 2008. The place ensures a real time warp into the past. Mobiles are not working inside. Do not expect a regular museum. One hour long tour departs every hour in English. Guide books are available in several languages. Unforgettable experience underneath the Castle Hill. The entrance is only about 5 minutes walk from the famous Matthias-Church of Buda Castle.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nothing special... I wouldn't bother going!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Pipes/wires a tunnel and nothing much else.. They only do guided tours - it's a combined English/hungarian group takes ages to translate.. I would spend the afternoon elsewhere!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    439
    92
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent tour - worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I took this tour today and found it to be quite interesting and well worth the money. Having worked in hospitals in the US over the past 20 years it was interesting to see how they were able to function in such confined spaces with limited resources. If you are interested in seeing a piece of history that really was not so long ago, I would highly recommend taking the time to take this tour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“A nice visit, but nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

To start with the conclusion: a visit to the hospital is nice, but don't expect anything special.
The tour guide rushes the group through the cavesystem, quickly switching between Hungarian and English to get the story across. It is definitely an interesting story, but the main problem is that the tour is filled with trivial information which don't add to the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Furlong, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A piece of the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was reading some of the other negative reviews and I don't know what people were expecting but I honestly really enjoyed this place. The tour is in English and you get to see a hospital bunker originally built during the 2nd world war but now full of 1960's cold war era medical and civil defense equipment. The guide was knowledgeable, informative and I was never bored. If you want something slightly unusual in Budapest and or are interested in the cold war, this place should not be missed. Plus how many times in your life will you get to sound a manual air raid siren?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fantastic faces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great and interesting tour that gave you an overview of Budapest recent history. Amazing wax work creations and a tour guide that spoke fantastic English. Worth a visit when you are there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hospital In The Rock also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hospital In The Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospital In The Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.