We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oktober 6 utca, 26, at Szabadsag ter, Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 330 hotels in Budapest
Goole
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at this lovely hotel. The location of the hotel was perfect for us in a quiet area but with easy access to restaurants etc. Parliament, the river and Chain Bridge all within a short walking distance and we used the hop-on-hop-off buses for greater distances, the commentary on which was very informative.
We had a deluxe room on the third floor with a beautiful view of the square, the room amenties were excellent and we slept very well as the beds were wonderful and room very quiet. We found the staff to be polite, friendly and helpful at all times
and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    106
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
58
302
25
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
485 helpful votes 485 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed in Iberostar for one night two weeks ago, for a working trip with my colleagues.
The Hotel is in a central location in the center of Budapest, just 200 m away from the Chain Bridge. It is in the same ares where you can find also Le Meridien or Four Season Hotel.

The location is wonderful, just within walking distance to the main places of the city. The welcome at the hotel is warm: the reception is just behind the main door, on the left, with all the staff offices just near it. A tripadvisor plate is well placed just above the reception!
In a few minutes I did my check in, but room was not ready yet (12.00) even if I asked for a early check-in. I had to wait in the bar for a couple of hours, where I enjoyed some nice pastry and a good coffee at a reasonable price.

The room was nice, spacious, as you can see from my photos.. a very big and comfortable bed, with a very big bathroom divided into three parts: the shower, the main bath and the toilet. High quality accessories available. Tv is a big plasma integrated into the wall (like a pictures), but it was lacking the Pay-Tv: no possibility to see international football matches during a Champions League evening. Quick wi-fi connection all over the Hotel.

Breakfast was top-level: a small buffet, but you can order a-la-carte warm dishes.. I had one of the best bacon of my travelling life.

The hotel represent well what a 5 star structure is: clean, space, location.. but I found the service a little below expectations. Here are some samples:
- the evening room services was just about the bed. They did not changed my towels even if left on the bath floor.
- I found expired butter at breakfast. I kindly showed it and it was promptly replaced.
- I had to call twice the waitress during my meal. Nobody was taking care about me and my requests.

I know, these problems are very small, compared to the thousands of "pro" I found staying at the hotel. But since this is a 5 star hotel, and I paid a 5 star rate, I'm expecting a 5 star service all the time. Or maybe my expectation are getting higher and higher.

Anyway, I strongly suggest to stay at this hotel.. if you are looking for a quality place, nice location, warm atmosphere, lovely breakfast, this is definitely the place for you. These points well go above the small problem I had.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great location for enjoying the tourist sites as well as getting off the beaten track. We could easily walk to St Stephen's (where we enjoyed a wonderful organ recital).The hotel is also an easy walk to Parliament, Chain Bridge, the Synagogue and even to the Gellert Baths if you are feeling energetic. The hop-on-hop-off bus stop is a few minutes away at Erszebet ter and very worthwhile. The river cruise included in the bus ticket is well worth doing - especially at sunset to see the Parliament lights come on. Our room on the 4th floor overlooked Szabadsag ter, which was very pleasant. The room, though not large, was very comfortable, clean and well-serviced with a lovely big bathroom and a large, free-standing bathtub. Breakfast was a nice buffet as well as a-la-carte and the service excellent. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 404 has a nice view over Szabadsag ter towards Parliament.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest and for your praising comments. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and the staff nice. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass your compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of reconfirming mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future. It is also a pleasure to read that the clean room, the stunning views and the location, were satisfactory to you.

Last but not least, we want to thank you once more for sharing your opinion and letting us know that you fully enjoyed your holiday with us and we would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Budapest.

Our best wishes,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. Staff are so helpful.Beautiful rooms. Breakfast is superb! Sadly few people seem to eat in the hotel for dinner which leaves it lacking atmosphere at night. Central location for sightseeing around Buda & Pest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Audrey,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are extremely happy to have been able to do so on this occasion.

We strive to ensure that the culture of warm hospitality is imbued in every person who works at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest and to capture perfectly the exact balance between courtesy and friendliness which is different for each guest. We are delighted that you underlined your satisfaction with this aspect of your stay with us.

Moreover, we want to thank you for letting us know that the location, the breakfast and the comfort of the room were pleasant parts of your stay. We surely like to read this as your enjoying is our target.

We greatly appreciate your positive review of our Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest and the fact that you speak so highly and flattering about us.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The location was absolutely fantastic, it is within walking distance to a great selection of restaurants, bars, shops and cafés and historic beautiful buildings. It is also close to metro stations in case you decide not to walk, which is really cheap.

The room was much larger than we expected, with really high ceilings and a massive bed, almost too big! The bathroom was very modern, with a large selection of towels, robes and slippers. The toiletries provided were even better than the ones I brought with me and the room was in a very clean condition.

The spa was great, especially after a long, cold and wet day wandering around the city.

I would really recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Budapest and would not want to stay anywhere else.

Staff were really great and the hotel is not busy, so you feel as if you get a personal service.

Really fantastic hotel

Please note we did not have breakfast in the hotel

Room Tip: We chose a double executive room, really great value, large space, plenty of storage room. No bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

As it is our deepest desire to offer comfortable accommodation, we enjoyed reading your description of the rooms which are designed to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

We are also delighted to read that you find our staff very polite and helpful. This is another of our prime pillars. It is our goal to provide an excellent treatment and to make all our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel.

Finally, we thank you for taking the time and effort to write your opinion on your recent stay in Tripadvisor. Your review is a real source of motivation for our teams and we hope to may serve you again in the not too distant future.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel has a very central location. Parliament and Chain Bridge are mere 5 minute walks. We crossed Chain Bridge on 2 evenings that we were there just to enjoy the view. There was no need for any public transport, although there was a metro stop nearby at Parliament.

The decor is very modern and flamboyant. There were oversized sofas in the lobby which made me feel like I was in a set for Alice in Wonderland. The elevators need a swipe of a hotel key which gave me a feeling of security. The room, though not big, was very comfortable. The beddings were of good quality. Room blinds could be raised and lowered with a switch. The bathroom was big, with both a bath tub and a shower. The wall between bed and bath is a glass wall. However, the toilet and shower each have smoky glass doors for privacy.

The breakfast buffet was sumptuous. You get your choice of eggs, freshly cooked. I had the eggs Benedict . There was also sparkling wine. This is common among the better hotels in Spain. Indeed, Iberostar is a Spanish chain.

It was a good experience at a reasonable price. We paid 370 Euro for 3 nights. The buffet breakfast is about 25 Euro per person. This is a hotel that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank very much for sharing this nice comment about your stay in Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest. The heads of departments have been informed about your wonderful feedback so they can share your comments with our teams. Your positive and encouraging words motivate us to continue working with joy and enthusiasms.

As it is our deepest desire to offer comfortable accommodation, we enjoyed reading your description of the rooms and common areas which are designed to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Further, it fills us with joy that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs. In Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests so that each and every dining experience as well as every breakfast proves sensational, offering the most delicious international and local dishes as well as tasty drinks.

Last but not least, we are really proud to read that you highly recommend the Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest. This is a beautiful award for our daily labors and a source of strength to continue striving to fulfill each and every demanding quality standard prescribed by our company. Once more, we thank you for posting this nice review and we look forward to may serve you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a fantastic hotel. The staff are attentive, friendly and always ready to help and advise. Our Hungarian is non-existent, and the staff were always more than obliging to speak English and help us with any requests (spa, booking restaurants, booking our airport transfer).

Our room was amazing, on the 4th floor and with a fabulous view of Liberty Square. Very central location, but you wouldn't know it when in your room, no noise from outside at all! The room itself was immaculate, with a stunning walk in wet-room/shower/bathroom, it was amazing! I could spend hours in there. We did not try the breakfast or the food in the hotel restaurant, but the menu looked tasty and the decor was simple and modern. The room was fitted with a hairdryer, TV, minibar/fridge, coffee maker etc. The lighting in the room was quite funky, lots of switches to use the usual lighting, or make the room dimmed and red!

The hotel spa was a little gem, there's a small gym, a hot tub/jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, and facilities for treatments/massages. We were there this weekend, and as the hotel seemed to be fairly quiet at this time of the year, we were the only people in the spa on Friday afternoon! Lovely.

Location is brilliant, close by to lots of the sights such as Parliament, St Stephen's and Chain Bridge, very easy to get around on foot and lots of cafes, restaurants and bars in the area. Even at this time of year, there were lots of options available.

The only small downside was that we had two single beds pushed together, and not a double but to be honest, it's not a problem and means that no-one is left without any cover! We also had some issues in working out how to use the air con/heating facility properly in our room, and as a result the room seemed to be fairly hot even though the temperature was turned right down.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family, and I will definitely pick this hotel as first choice when we return to Budapest in the future.

Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Koshka,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

That you have fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that we could fulfill your expectations is very pleasant. We always try to pamper our guests with the best service to make their stay as comfortable as possible and we are proud that we could make our goal with you. We strive to ensure that the culture of warm hospitality is imbued in every person who works at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest and to capture perfectly the exact balance between courtesy and friendliness which is different for each guest. We are delighted that you underlined your satisfaction with this aspect of your stay with us.

It is very nice to read that you felt well whilst being among us. At Iberostar we try or our very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations, your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars, fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts . We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest

Address: Oktober 6 utca, 26, at Szabadsag ter, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 330 hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the new concept of boutique hotel with a cozy spa, the IBEROSTAR Grand Budapest hotel is intended for get-aways and luxury travel, since it not only boasts style and good taste but also a prime location across from Liberty Square (Szabadsag ter) on the Pest side of the city, near the Danube that separates the area from the popular Buda side. In an environment of excellence and good taste, with personal attention and the most modern of facilities, the Grand Budapest, which opened in 2011, joins the ranks of the IBEROSTAR Grand Collection, a hotel concept designed for top executives, VIP's and deluxe travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.